We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Hospitality on a Hiking Vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Perry House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Perry House was a perfect home base for a five-day hiking vacation. Robin and Mike were warm and gracious hosts, without hovering over us. Our room (the Betsy Room) was comfortable, and we enjoyed having a view of the town from our front window. Since there was no refrigerator in our room, they let us keep the snacks we'd brought in their fridge - but as it turned out there were many snacks, as well as coffee and cold drinks, available all the time in the inn.

Robin cooked delectable breakfasts three of the mornings we were there, served family-style, which I appreciate, as I'm watching my weight and would rather not feel pressured to "clean my plate." The other two mornings we walked down the hill to Dunn's Deli, where Mike cooked our breakfasts to order. I recommend his French toast! On those mornings we were free to eat whenever we chose.

The location is excellent - central to lots of wonderful hikes. Grandfather Mountain, Beech Mountain, Sugar Mountain, and the Blue Ridge Parkway are all short drives away. If you want to go just slightly farther, just past Boone, try the Elk Knob Trail for a beautifully constructed trail with fabulous views at the top. There are plenty of restaurants a short walk away - we enjoyed Blue Ridge Bistro, Zuzda, and Frog and Monkey. But don't forget Dunn's Deli for lunch - Mike's homemade soups are outstanding.

All in all this was a wonderful vacation, in great part because of the Perry House. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdionelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for The Perry House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 104 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hosts did a great job of welcoming my friend and I while not "hounding" us. The house was nice and the wine and breakfast were excellent. The TV in our room was sub-par, but we weren't looking for that in our stay anyway! It was a short, rainy stay, so unfortunately we didn't get to see much of Banner Elk or Grandfather Mountain, but went to Linville Falls. I would definitely recommend the Perry House to friends and family.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Cherreal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I just returned from another wonderful weekend at the Perry House. Although we have family in Banner Elk, we always stay at the Perry House, where Robin and Mike Dunn are very gracious innkeepers and continue to make us feel at home. The rooms (and we've stayed in all of them over our numerous visits) are charming and very comfortable. And I can't say enough about the delicious breakfasts. All in all, it's just a treat to visit this B&B and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed only one night (at the last minute) but it was very comfortable and cozy and clean. The house is beaufiful and in the best location in downtown Banner Elk. There are a few shops and plenty of restaurants all within walking distance. Dunn's Deli is yummy as well. Perry House is across the street from Lees McRae College yet a very tranquil setting. Robin and Mike are very gracious and friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. They even invited our son (whom we were visiting at college) to join us for breakfast. Would definitely recommend to others and go back for another stay!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great visit with Robin and Mike. Very gracious hosts! Their home is your home for the weekend. Very relaxing, great breakfast, excellent coffee and superb location in Banner Elk! We already have booked another weekend with them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60898Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We alway stay at the Perry House over the last 3 years and always happy. The breakfast is always good and the snacks are a nice touch. All of the rooms are comfortable, some larger then the others but always clean and Robin and Mike are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbowers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

A prime hilltop home overlooking the small town of Banner Elk. The owners are gracious enough to share their kitchen with their guests. Coffee, water, soda, tea, and snacks are all included. Mike and Robin, owners, are very friendly just as everyone on Tripadvisor has mentioned. The home is warm in the winter with a fireplace in the living room, and cozy, as if you are staying with some old friends (with a nice house). Nice home, great owners, neat area. Will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.3 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
10.4 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#12 of 18 in Boone
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 8 in Banner Elk
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Taylor House Inn
Taylor House Inn
#3 of 6 in Valle Crucis
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Perry House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Perry House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 153 Klonteska Dr, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7028
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing