We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and gracious B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1902 Turnpike House B&B
Ranked #5 of 9 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and gracious B&B”
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We have stayed at the Old Turnpike Road B&B twice and found it to be warm, cozy, historic, clean, and very charming.  Paul and Cindy are great hosts.  The breakfast was delicious each and every morning.  They have had visitors from all over the world.We will stay at this B&B again when we come up for our skiiing in late 2009/2010.Cindy and David Harding

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uandmenorthcarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
53
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
decatur, ga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Paul, Cindy and the House are all equally great. The breakfasts are imaginative and delicious. The hot tub is terrific and avaiable any time. The rooms are lovely and super clean. I always look forward to getting back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skier51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

It was my Christmas holiday and it was so bad I left after 2 nights of a planned 5 night stay and get this the owner kept the money I had paid for the 3 nights I did not stay! This place should be shut down, its a dump.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bchs2mnts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1902TurnpikeHouse, Owner/Innkeeper at 1902 Turnpike House B&B, responded to this review, June 18, 2009
Evidently what made this the "worst stay of his life" was the fact that he had to honor his contract.

This guest booked this room for 5 nights during our busiest week of the year, and was even given a special rate.

After two nights, during which he constantly complemented us on the accomodations, the food, the amenities and our abilities as hosts, he told us he was going to check out early because the ski resort was too crowded. He even told us then and in a subsequent email that he had recomended us to friends and would return when it wasn't so busy.

Three months later, when he contacted us to say he had not received a refund we referred him to our cancellation policy, which is no different from most other lodging companies from small, struggling operations to the big chains, and that it wasn't even mentioned when he departed.

As far as being a "dump", we are constantly being inspected and reviewed by AAA, NCBBI, the state health department and others, and we have pictures online that contradict that assesment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

First timers at a B&B, not knowing the etiquette involved, made our stay unpleasant.

The hot tub is self service; we took the cover off ourselves, and had to wait for the water to heat. Meanwhile we sat in the hammock hanging in the yard and got covered with black dirt and dust that had collected on the hammock. There was broken glass littering the yard.

Our room was off the mudroom, not attached to the house itself; I believe a later addition, and was cold. It was tiny. The bed was bumpy and the wall unit heater made loud noises all night.

The next morning we unknowingly insulted our hosts by sleeping in (exhausted from lack of sleep) and missing breakfast. They were extremely insulted and admonished us for our 'rudeness,' raised their voices at us in front of the other guests, and asked us to leave, which we gladly did.

I was shocked that they valued two plates of wasted food more than cultivating a customer relationship.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Customer relations
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharpTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1902TurnpikeHouse, Owner/Innkeeper at 1902 Turnpike House B&B, responded to this review, June 18, 2009
We were surprised to read this review as we felt that it was our other guests, (as well as ourselves) who were treated rudely.

It is our policy not to be intrusive, so everything in the house can be considered "self-service" including the hot-tub. However during check-in this guest was told which door to knock on if they needed any assistance. The hot tub is kept hot all the time, so there was no need to wait, but, as we had just had a rain storm earlier in the day, I would have advised against the hammock. We police the grounds on a regular basis and I could not find any glass after their departure.

The room they stayed in is in a new addition to the property , but was the room HE PICKED, probably for price. It was cold and the heater was working overtime as they left the window open!

Due to having a full house, we had two seatings for breakfast, and this guest picked the earlier one. When they did not appear, we gently tapped on their door to let them know we had served and were rudely yelled at through the door that she was ill and they would not be coming to breakfast. This could have been avoided if he had mentioned something when he came and got coffee 30 minutes before serving. (he did not "sleep-in.)

For the health of our other guests we asked that they not come through the dining room as they prepared to leave. We did not raise our voices, nor were there any guests present, they were eating breakfast.

It is our policy to be gracious and thoughtful hosts to all of our guests, but that requires communication from both sides which we did not receive in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian in New York
Level Contributor
187 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2008

With our son starting college here, we needed to find that 'home-away-from-home' for the next four years. Well, we've found it! Paul and Cindy are the most gracious hosts. Their B&B is just lovely with a nice porch to sit out on and room for the kids to kick a ball. They have a great attic space which they let us use for our kids for just an extra $20 which was very reasonable so three of them slept there. Breakfast was delicious and they let our son join us for no extra charge. They gave him their number and said to call if he ever needed anything -even if it was just a home cooked meal. We have stayed their twice now and will happily go back.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2006

Paul and Cindy are wonderful hosts and have stocked the pantry with snacks, sodas, spiced cider and fresh cookies. Cindy bakes some of the best snickerdoodles I've ever had! (My wife even got a dozen for us to take on the road.)

Paul is a chef by trade and it shows in the breakfasts. The blueberry-stuffed french toast was just amazing.

The B&B is very cozy and romantic. Our room was great with plenty of room. The common living room is very warm with a wood-burning stove and the dining room has a beautiful glow.

1902 is centrally located very near the Blue Ridge Parkway, Grandfather's Mountain, Linville Falls and many other attractions.

We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this little hideaway.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We really enjoyed staying at this B&B - The food was magnificent and the accomodations perfect. Thank you Paul and Cindy!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.5 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 9 in Banner Elk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Archer's Mountain Inn
Archer's Mountain Inn
#7 of 9 in Banner Elk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Blue Ridge Village
Blue Ridge Village
#1 of 9 in Banner Elk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Village
Cedar Village
#1 of 2 in Beech Mountain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banner Haven B&B and Cabin Rentals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1902 Turnpike House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1902 Turnpike House B&B

Property: 1902 Turnpike House B&B
Address: 317 Old Turnpike Rd, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7537
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing