We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Wonderful people, Amazing Breakfasts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1902 Turnpike House B&B
Ranked #6 of 8 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This adorable B&B is run by one of the nicest couples I have ever met. Paul and Cindy are wonderful hosts and do everything to make one's stay perfect. Rooms are comfortable, clean and has everything one would need, breakfasts are elegant and scrumptious and their 'guest pantry' makes you feel completely at home. We went to ski; both Beech Mountain and Sugar Mountain are only a few minutes drive away. We are planning to go back to 1902 Turnpike House in the summer to hike in the mountains and be spoiled by Cindy and Paul's lavish attention and delightful breakfasts.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 86 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights. Cozy, warm, friendly and perfect. Reasonably priced, treated like family, superb location, quiet, great breakfast...what more could you expect? The most pleasant aspect of our stay was PAUL & CINDY: two wonderful (married) folk who love what they do and are genuine. Our room was the Thomas Lowe room ~ Just just for a couple with one child. It's located on the second floor and it's mirror "twin" room across the hall called Bettie Banner (the main difference is the shower area...Thomas has a step in tub with hanging curtain and Bettie a walk-in with door). Location is between Sugar Mtn and Beech Mtn resorts. We visited Boone and the Mast General store area - a nice afternoon getaway.

At night, there is usually a fire going in the living room and homemade cookies for grabs. Bowls of candy everywhere and a well prepared breakfast for all in the morning (make sure you "sign-up" for a time slot on the refrigerator in the evening). There is the sweetest rescue dog there and two cats. I am hyper allergic to cats, but did not have any problems since the cats are kept out of all guest areas. There is much love and care in this place and I do believe there are Angels truly watching over this place and the folks that stay there.

Room Tip: Elizabeth room is the best room, as it is largest, on main floor and handicap accessible (if necessa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLACKHORSE777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I loved this place. Very clean and the bed in the Betty Banner room was superbly comfortable. Paul prepared quiche lorraine at our request (we had read it was delicious) and it (and the rest of the breakfast) was amazing. Paul gave us a tour of the house when we arrived and told us the history as well. He was a wonderful host and very warm and welcoming. They've got a fridge stocked full of drinks and snacks and their attention to detail throughout the property was excellent.

We will be back when we are in the area again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AppleTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We went looking for a quiet place to relax and have a restful getaway. This was the perfect place! Cindy and Paul were friendly and extremely helpful. Everything we needed and more was provided (from extra toiletries to a guest pantry with drinks and snacks to the endless cookie jar!). There were plenty of places to sit and chat or read and the rooms were very clean with every amenity you would expect/need - cable, wifi. The owners even upgraded our room for us with no charge because they were not fully booked and thought we would be more comfortable in a different room! Breakfast was amazing - Paul's cooking is top notch. The location is great as well, as it's close to hiking, some great restaurants but not in the middle of a lot of hustle and bustle. We would recommend this place to everyone! We'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have charm. Read the explanation on the website as they are true descriptions of wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Turnpike is a wonderful place to get away from the hustle and/or bustle of the city and just relax. Paul's breakfasts are fantastic. The beds are comfortable. The peace is quiet. What more could you ask for? Paul and Cindy treat us like family and we will come back here every chance we get! The location is just far enough for peace, and just close enough to be convenient to all of the mountains' attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Beautiful setting to relax and enjoy the mountains of NC. Great proximtiy to Boone, Blowing Rock and other sites. I love the porch to sit and chill

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcherry69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Having stayed in many b&b's around the country, we have now added the 1902 Turnpike House to our list of all-time favorites. Paul gave us a brief history and tour of the home upon arrival, and Cindy had everything decorated beautifully for fall. Our room was spacious and comfortable. There were ample places to sit and relax inside and outside, and the setting was lovely in October. And then there was breakfast! Whether you plan to hike, ski, shop or explore, you will be well fortified by the substantial and delicious breakfast. And Banner Elk is a great place to do all of the above. The 1902 Turnpike House, and Cindy and Paul, the hosts, make for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Betty Banner room. It was very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsDeb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.3 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
1.3 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 8 in Banner Elk
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banner Haven B&B and Cabin Rentals
4.9 mi away
Taylor House Inn
Taylor House Inn
#3 of 6 in Valle Crucis
279 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Lodge at River Run
The Lodge at River Run
#2 of 9 in Banner Elk
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1902 Turnpike House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1902 Turnpike House B&B

Address: 317 Old Turnpike Rd, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7537
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range: $89 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing