We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1902 Turnpike House B&B
Ranked #5 of 9 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I loved this place. Very clean and the bed in the Betty Banner room was superbly comfortable. Paul prepared quiche lorraine at our request (we had read it was delicious) and it (and the rest of the breakfast) was amazing. Paul gave us a tour of the house when we arrived and told us the history as well. He was a wonderful host and very warm and welcoming. They've got a fridge stocked full of drinks and snacks and their attention to detail throughout the property was excellent.

We will be back when we are in the area again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AppleTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
53
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We went looking for a quiet place to relax and have a restful getaway. This was the perfect place! Cindy and Paul were friendly and extremely helpful. Everything we needed and more was provided (from extra toiletries to a guest pantry with drinks and snacks to the endless cookie jar!). There were plenty of places to sit and chat or read and the rooms were very clean with every amenity you would expect/need - cable, wifi. The owners even upgraded our room for us with no charge because they were not fully booked and thought we would be more comfortable in a different room! Breakfast was amazing - Paul's cooking is top notch. The location is great as well, as it's close to hiking, some great restaurants but not in the middle of a lot of hustle and bustle. We would recommend this place to everyone! We'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have charm. Read the explanation on the website as they are true descriptions of wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Turnpike is a wonderful place to get away from the hustle and/or bustle of the city and just relax. Paul's breakfasts are fantastic. The beds are comfortable. The peace is quiet. What more could you ask for? Paul and Cindy treat us like family and we will come back here every chance we get! The location is just far enough for peace, and just close enough to be convenient to all of the mountains' attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Beautiful setting to relax and enjoy the mountains of NC. Great proximtiy to Boone, Blowing Rock and other sites. I love the porch to sit and chill

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcherry69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred Station, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Having stayed in many b&b's around the country, we have now added the 1902 Turnpike House to our list of all-time favorites. Paul gave us a brief history and tour of the home upon arrival, and Cindy had everything decorated beautifully for fall. Our room was spacious and comfortable. There were ample places to sit and relax inside and outside, and the setting was lovely in October. And then there was breakfast! Whether you plan to hike, ski, shop or explore, you will be well fortified by the substantial and delicious breakfast. And Banner Elk is a great place to do all of the above. The 1902 Turnpike House, and Cindy and Paul, the hosts, make for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Betty Banner room. It was very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsDeb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Perfect location for Skiers. Excellent breafast (cream cheese stuffed french toast was amazing), friendly and welcoming. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We loved our two-day stay at the 1902 Turnpike House B&B. We were attending the Grandfather Mountain Highland Game and the inn was convenient to the venue. It is a lovely home in the mountains where the weather was perfect for sitting outside on the porch in the evening admiring the lovely flowers and the variety of birds visiting the feeders. Breakfast was elegant and tasty. The hosts, Paul and Cindy, were very friendly and welcoming. We recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.5 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 9 in Banner Elk
176 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lodge at River Run
The Lodge at River Run
#3 of 9 in Banner Elk
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Beech Alpen Inn
Beech Alpen Inn
#1 of 2 in Beech Mountain
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banner Haven B&B and Cabin Rentals
1.4 mi away
Archer's Mountain Inn
Archer's Mountain Inn
#7 of 9 in Banner Elk
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1902 Turnpike House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1902 Turnpike House B&B

Property: 1902 Turnpike House B&B
Address: 317 Old Turnpike Rd, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7537
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing