We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint Inn in the beautiful NC mountains!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Balsam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I have been to Balsam Mountain Inn many times since our first visit in 1995. We find the historical Inn so inviting as it seems to transport you back in time - to 1905, when it was first built. You enjoy the lost art of conversation with fellow guests, read a novel by the warm fire and enjoy the fresh mountain air (3600+feet) as it invitingly enters your bedroom while you sleep dreaming about your enjoyable day in the mountains. The food is absolutely "top-draw" with varying entrees at dinner that are amazing. I thoroughly enjoyed the local, organic Trout dinner along with a different appetizers each night....my hat is off to the chef for both the incredible food quality and presentation!! And the wait staff are friendly, polite and professional!! Each time we leave Balsam....both my wife and I comment that we can't wait to go back again. If you enjoy historical destinations, great food, in a beautiful mountain location....you've found perfection - The Balsam Mountain Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 72johnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 338 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a restored 1905 Hotel, being that old it is not, the modern box motel which some people would prefer but rather a quaint rustic relaxing stay. The rooms are pleasant though small and with thin walls and wood floors others quests can make it noisy however we did not find it so. We had a very relaxing time there, spent part of the afternoon in rocking chairs on the large porch watching it rain.

The food in the dining room with exceptionally good

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Csxyoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visited the Waynesville for Labor Day wkend 2013, and on Sunday went for lunch at the Balsam Mountain Inn. It was superb, to say the least. What a great place, first the food was fabulous , totally delicious , the staff extremely friendly, and what a magnificent place, we walked around the hotel for a while, I felt that I had stepped back in history, I could just imagine the people arriving by train, going up to the hotel and walking around with their lovely outfits that were worn back then. It was totally relaxing, we sat on the rocking chairs in the porch, what a splendid and majestic view, can't wait to go back in late October. The colors of the trees will be gorgeous, something we don't get to see down in Florida.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Attended a meeting at Balsam Mountain Inn. What a lovely old Inn that is in a beautiful location with nice surroundings and quiet! The owner, Wally is great as well as John. Welcoming, witty and hospitality. Delicious trout dinner, cozy little room with no TV.......thank heavens. Ended the evening with some good wine on the long front porch rocking the night away. A step back in time! I would revisit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoppyC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This summer, our family visited North Carolina and stopped at Balsam Inn for wine and hors d'oeuvres. A good variety of wines are offered and we enjoyed ours with some home-made trout/fish dip while sitting in rocking chairs on the broad covered porch overlooking a broad lawn and the mountains in the distance. it is a charming historic Inn in the mountains near Waynesville, reported to be haunted, but we saw no ghosts! There's a gift shop with excellent locally made pottery and other crafts. It is well worth a visit!

Room Tip: We did not stay at the Inn, but enjoyed wine on the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank PDPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This lovely inn is well worth driving off the beaten path to find ... in the mountains of western North Carolina, nestled between two charming towns of Sylva and Waynesville ... no phones, no tv's, just unbelievably wonderful food and calm ... rooms are all unique, furnished with comfortable beds and an eclectic combination of furniture styles. We enjoyed the library, the game room and toasting with our good friends from rockers on the porch before dinner. If you want more, it is a short drive to Asheville in one direction or Bryson City for trains and other outdoor activities.

Room Tip: No air conditioning -- none needed. We had a corner room with cross breeze and liked it. Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keustis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Balsam Mountain Lodge is a historic inn hidden away in the North Carolina Mountains (and I do mean hidden; if you don't know exactly where it is, you would never find it). But that is part of the adventure; coming around a bend in the road and seeing a fine old hotel in a beautiful mountain setting peeks your curiosity. Why is it here? When was it built? The first close look is inviting; a large porch lined with rocking chairs. The lobby welcomes with cozy clusters of comfy chairs. The rooms are all individually decorated. We came on a week-day, so we could pick our own - #234. Great corner room with a view of the sunset and a claw-footed tub. This hotel does not have television, internet or other noisy pass-times. But it does have a great restaurant and breakfast is included!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsam
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
5 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
6.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
5.2 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#5 of 19 in Waynesville
160 reviews
6.4 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

Address: 68 Seven Springs Drive, Balsam, NC 28707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Balsam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balsam
Price Range: $110 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Read, rest, ramble and romp at the Balsam Mountain Inn! Nestled among lofty Smoky Mountain peaks just off the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Balsam Mountain Inn was completed in 1908 to serve the highest railway depot in the east. Restored in 1991, the inn now welcomes travelers with 50 cheerful rooms, rocker-filled porches, a fine library and gracious dining. Plump pillows and soft comforters inspire pleasant dreams! In December, 2011, the Inn came once again to be owned by Merrily Teasley, the innkeeper who restored the structure two decades ago. An experienced rescuer of wonderful buildings, Teasley bought the derelict inn in 1990, and her certified rehabilitation effort helped the inn – already on the National Historic Register – experience a rebirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant Hotel Balsam
Balsam Mountain Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing