We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a balsam to your soul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Balsam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

BALSAM MOUNTAIN INN - Yes, is old [historic I should say] - Yes, the bathrooms are small – Yes, the room’s acoustic are bad….but IS CHARMING! Sitting on a 100 ft. porch in one of the many rocking chairs, sipping coffee or wine and watching butterflies hovering around you, is very unwinding! Expensive vista, chaste air, and tranquility of the setting perfectly surrogated for TV or Internet [although the latest can be catchable on Wi-Fi provided]. Gourmet breakfast served outdoors or inside a veranda is a treat that can be topped with a dinner offered at evenings. Grilled trout, accompanied with a bottle of wine included in the two night accommodation package offered by Living Social, was superb. Overall we had a great stay and enjoyed almost instant access to the Blue Ridge Parkway …

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 336 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

I extended my stay at Balsam Mountain Inn. I didn't want to leave! It is quiet, no TV, but they have streaming wifi, so who needs TV? Air conditioning was also not needed - it was nearing 90 in the towns nearby, but in the 70s daytime (60s night) up in the mountains. Breakfast included, and a nice dining room if I wanted to have dinner there. I happened to be there when an amazing musical artist, international guitarist Murial Anderson, was performing. The have such musical evenings once a month or more. - Sitting in a 100 year old hotel, or on the porch, could not have been more relaxing and I made a lot of progress on a writing project I was working on. I highly recommend this spot.

Room Tip: The third floor is noisy due to large fans which such the air out of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindaelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Porch rocking, mountain breezes, beautiful scenery, incredible food. A perfect breath of fresh air in the southern summer. My first catfish - pecan encrusted deliciousness.

If you are looking for modern convenience and predictable amenities, head to a modern hotel. If you are looking for a unique and rare gem ... stay here! A true highlight on a two week road trip from Charleston to New Orleans.

Thank you!

Room Tip: rooms with showers have tiny bathrooms - functional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenwaterloo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This Inn on the Blue Ridge Parkway is close to Asheville, NC and the Great Smoky Mountains. It is an ideal spot to stay and explore the beautiful surrounding area. The Inn itself has some wonderful surprises, such as a first rate and creative breakfast included in your room rate, and live music performed at the Inn monthly and on some holidays. The Inn also serves very elegant and delicious dinners and Sunday lunch. A great and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Balsam Mountain Inn is a beautiful old Inn tucked away up on the side of a mountain in Balsam, NC. The front porches (up and down) have comfortable rocking chairs to sit in and enjoy the sound of nature.

Room Tip: All the rooms I think are the same. They've replaced all the old mattresses with new firm ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanFrancisco060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Get the pun? Spent 2 lovely days at the Balsam Inn. Was leery about going because of the some of the reviews made - too old, no TV, bathroom too small, etc. All of that is true, but who needs a TV (WiFi works just fine in your room) when you have a beautiful porch with multiple rocking chairs and a spectacular view of the Blue Ridge Mountains right across the street.

The room was very clean and cozy. It had 2 large wingback chairs and a table and a king sized bed with a very country-looking spread on top. The bed was quite comfortable and did not squeak. I have been to expensive hotels with squeaky beds and the noise is quite annoying.

Read complaints about the breakfast. It was ample but not too exciting. It was included with the room, so for the money it was fine. The Inn's restaurant is quite good. We ate there twice and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the reasonable prices.

Ashville is not far and a fun trip is to get there via the Blue Ridge Mts. Parkway which is located about half a mile from the Inn.

If you want to get away from the rat race, relax, view great scenery and enjoy good dinners, spend a night or two at the Balsam Inn. The Inn Keeper, a delightful lady, will ask how your dinner is and share her very interesting experiences of how the Balsam Inn was resurrected to what it is today.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NHtoNC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our second visit to this wonderful old inn, which has been restored by an enterprising lady, who lives on the property and oversees every detail. You almost feel as if you've been transported back in time to 1905 when you walk into the lobby. The furnishings are of the period (except for the modern restaurant) and there are 11-foot wide hallways, which were built to handle the steamer trunks of the Charleston and Savannah ladies who retreated to the mountains in summer. The rooms are comfortable--no phones, TV, or air conditioning--but we liked it that way. (Who needs AC in the mountains?) Our favorite activity there was rocking on the huge porches at dusk with a glass of wine in hand. I'm looking forward to a third trip there next Spring.

Room Tip: The Blue Ridge Parkway is less than a mile from the inn. Don't miss it if you like beautiful mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Williamonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsam
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
9 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
5 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
10 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
5.2 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#5 of 19 in Waynesville
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

Address: 68 Seven Springs Drive, Balsam, NC 28707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Balsam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balsam
Price Range: $110 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Read, rest, ramble and romp at the Balsam Mountain Inn! Nestled among lofty Smoky Mountain peaks just off the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Balsam Mountain Inn was completed in 1908 to serve the highest railway depot in the east. Restored in 1991, the inn now welcomes travelers with 50 cheerful rooms, rocker-filled porches, a fine library and gracious dining. Plump pillows and soft comforters inspire pleasant dreams! In December, 2011, the Inn came once again to be owned by Merrily Teasley, the innkeeper who restored the structure two decades ago. An experienced rescuer of wonderful buildings, Teasley bought the derelict inn in 1990, and her certified rehabilitation effort helped the inn – already on the National Historic Register – experience a rebirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant Hotel Balsam
Balsam Mountain Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing