We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Unique Weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Balsam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unique Weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent the weekend at the Balsam Mountain Inn and thoroughly enjoyed a special feature called Songwriters in the Round. There were 3 featured song writers and for $45/person there was a buffet which was fairly average- prime rib, green beans and the more unusual shrimp and grits. But the music was great and the musicians were very approachable during the break.
We were on the 3rd floor of the inn. It is the first time that I have stayed at this type of inn- a 100+ year old restored hotel . The room was small with a large comfortable king bed. Our view from the window was another building- it was very chilly at night but of course it was February in the mountains! The walls are very thin and you can easily hear conversations going on in the rooms on either side. Unfortunately there was a unhappy baby who cried on and off during the night. A sound machine might have been helpful. We could hear anytime someone walked down the hall and some of the visitors this weekend had very heavy footsteps.
The location of the inn is beautiful and we were fortunate to have snow while there. There are many small towns nearby with local artisans featured in many of the shops.
Overall enjoyed our visit but will probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank auggiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    96
    26
    12
    11
See reviews for
42
152
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place is, well, okay. It's an admittedly lovely structure, with the requisite rocking chairs on the porch. It looks and feels the way non-mountain folk think a place like this ought to feel. There are braided rugs and single-minded radiators and ruffled furniture and claw foot tubs and pine floors. There are Teddy Bears and whimmy-diddles and folk art oddities in the gift shop The staff are friendly and accommodating. So this review is not universally damning.

However, the rooms are quite noisy and the walls are thin, so any intimacy, coming or going, will be shared with your neighbors. Some kind of gag might be in order for such activities. You will hear clomping feet all night long, and the occasional barking dog {Yes, dogs are allowed, it seems, regardless of their behavior characteristics.) There is no phone service, no TV, no AC, The pillows, by the way, are cheap sponge jobbers, so if you're used to squshy and sumptuous, bring your own pillow.

There was coffee aplenty at the pleasant breakfast bar, plus juice, cereal and fruit. The feature of the fixed fare consisted of what were called "carmelized" french toast, so sweet as to induce immediate diabetic symptoms. The bacon was decent, and the little muffin (about the size of a large acorn) had its merits. I'd recommend an enlarge version as the centerpiece.

As a previous reviewer suggested, the $140 bill is a bit high, considering what you get for your money. It's not an awful place by any means, but it is a bit of a cliche, in my opinion, and not all that relaxing, if that's your goal. Lots of nice towns nearby, so if location is a major consideration, this might work for you. but there are plenty of asterisks to consider.

Room Tip: take a room on the top floor to cut down on noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wmhallberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill G, Innkeeper at Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi WMHallberg. Thanks for your visit to Balsam, and we’re sorry that the inn didn’t measure up for you. We hope you’ll give us another try sometime soon. A necessary point of fact: no pets are allowed in our rooms. The indiscretion you heard was probably that of Grover, the inn dog. Sometimes we too wish he’d put a sock in it (or a gag), but his positives far outweigh his negatives, generally speaking. Best wishes for a great spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We knew what to expect going into our trip, that this place was a throw back to a different time. There were no phones or tv's but there is decent wi-fi. The room we stayed in (#203) was old, (the inn opened over 100 years ago) but the sheets and towels were clean and the bed was comfortable. We asked for a room with a claw foot tub and had a nice sized bathroom. The rooms were small and you could hear the neighbors, but we were barely in the room and turned on a sound machine app when we went to sleep which provided a good night's sleep.

We ate breakfast and dinner at the inn both days. The dinner was outstanding, we enjoyed all parts of it. I was surprised at how good and reasonably priced everything was. The steak was cooked perfectly and the selection of vegetables was fresh and delicious. I was not crazy about breakfast. It was good, but did not compare to dinner. We had eggs, bacon, fruit, and a small muffin, plus yogurt and cereal. We ate in the smaller dining room each day and it had a great atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Overall, we had a nice weekend getaway and would return to the Balsam Mountain Inn again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank mkfore244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wonderful old inn and restaurant in private, quiet setting. Very historical.. Cozy in winter. Close by to waynesville nc and other cool small towns in the great Smokey Mountains. Very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary frances r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I enjoy historic hotels and always seek them out in my travels. This one does not dissappoint and if you are interested

in learning more about this gem log onto their website and learns its history. I think that inns owner has incredible

passion in her vision for this grand place and I wish contiued success in her vision for the inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenoxcircleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We used our Living Social Voucher for children free quiet time. We really enjoyed the peacefulness at the Balsam Mountain Inn. Chef Phil prepared the best ribeye and trout dinners on both nights.

Confession: We missed TV a little because the NFL playoff games were and we couldn't find a place in Waynesville to watch. But, that didn't last long, with the access of WiFi we just watched a movie instead.

If you are a low maintenance traveler, this is a great place.

Room Tip: Be prepared to be very quiet. Top floors aren't recommended for active couples. You can hear eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YourGirlPrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Using a 2 day Groupon getaway at this lovely 100 year old Inn, traveled with my elderly wheelchair bound Mother-very clean and comfortable room, delicious dining, and friendly staff. Didn't even miss the TV's. Enjoyed a day trip to lovely Waynesville. All in all a very good experience.If traveling with elderly make sure you call in advance and let them know-so they can provide best accommodation. Wheelchair ramp is behind building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RustieSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsam
9.7 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
6.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#9 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites
5.2 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 20 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

Property: Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
Address: 68 Seven Springs Drive, Balsam, NC 28707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Balsam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balsam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Read, rest, ramble and romp at the Balsam Mountain Inn! Nestled among lofty Smoky Mountain peaks just off the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Balsam Mountain Inn was completed in 1908 to serve the highest railway depot in the east. Restored in 1991, the inn now welcomes travelers with 50 cheerful rooms, rocker-filled porches, a fine library and gracious dining. Plump pillows and soft comforters inspire pleasant dreams! In December, 2011, the Inn came once again to be owned by Merrily Teasley, the innkeeper who restored the structure two decades ago. An experienced rescuer of wonderful buildings, Teasley bought the derelict inn in 1990, and her certified rehabilitation effort helped the inn – already on the National Historic Register – experience a rebirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant Hotel Balsam
Balsam Mountain Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing