We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Balsam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend at the Balsam Mountain Inn recently and found it charming and historic. It is not a modern hotel. It is a hundred years old and has all the benefits of that era - a relaxing place to leave the 21st century behind. Interestingly decorated (our room was done in eggplant colors and theme) but spacious enough. No air conditioning, but it wasn't needed, even in mid-August. Comfortable beds. A nicely stocked library and some nice views off the long front porch. Restaurant area was nicely done, with excellent food (especially the trout dip). The inn is made all of wood and is not quiet, but the inn observes quiet time after 10 pm and guests adhere to it. We rested well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwinCityGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 336 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights recently at this quaint, old inn. The owners have done a nice job of cleaning it up and making it a comfortable place if you desire an experience of staying in a quaint, old inn. The room we stayed in (#316) was clean, bright, with a nice bed and thick towels. It had a ceiling fan and window fan to compensate for the lack of AC, and we were quite comfortable with daytime temps in the high 70’s and nights in the high 50’s. The building creaks and you can definitely hear people in the halls and in adjacent rooms (a white noise app on your iPhone compensates). The bathroom was pretty small with a small shower and a slightly irritating small sink that had separate spring-activated hot and cold water faucets that made it impossible to run water over both hands at the same time.

Our full breakfast in the bright breakfast sunroom was quite tasty and plentiful. The rockers on the two front porches afforded a nice view of the surrounding hills and an opportunity to visit with other guests. A wide selection of games and puzzles are available to compensate for no TVs, although wireless internet throughout the place allows for continued connection to the outside world.

The Inn is located about 10 miles from Sylva and Waynesville so dinner at the Inn’s restaurant is probably your best bet if you don’t bring in your own picnic – we didn’t partake of the dinner offerings which ranged from about $13 to $25 (wine and beer is available). The location is very convenient to the Blue Ridge Parkway (about a mile away) so it is a great spot for excursions into the beautiful venues of western North Carolina.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tslthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Went on a last minute rafting trip. My wife booked the Balsam Inn and I had some reservations about it. No TV and no AC...yikes. It was a great experience. We walked the property and enjoyed sitting on the front porch in the rocking chairs. We had dinner at the inn and some of the items were great and other's, well, not so good. There are hundred's of books, games and puzzle's for a family to spend the night working on.

We had breakfast the next morning and it was great! Our room suited our needs and we had a good nights rest.

We will return for another trip!!

Room Tip: Read up on the "haunted rooms" if that bothers you..as for us, i don't believe in that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had reserved a 2 night stay from Groupon and it was awesome. No T.V., No Internet, No A/C, but it wasn't needed. You could use the Internet, if you just absolutely had to; but we did not want to. Wonderful local artists' items sold from some of the displays in the hallways and the gift shop. My husband loves history and he loved all the antiques and just the overall ambience of the place. Breakfast, which was included in the price each day, was very good. The front porches with the rockers on the 1st and 2nd floors were sooooo relaxing and enjoyable. It was like staying in a huge Southern Plantation house, only it was in the mountains. Hope to return again !

Room Tip: This is the 1st time we stayed here, so we really don't have anything to compare it to. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is definitely a place to go if you want to slow down! Think bathtubs, sitting porches, beautiful views and cool mountain air. A wonderful place to clear the head and ease the mind.

FYI: Make dinner reservations early in the day! They have limited space!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We really enjoyed the Mountain Inn and Restaurant. We did our homework before the trip and we knew what to expect. I was kind of concerned about no A/C during the August but it was okay. The Inn is 3500 ft above sea level. The high temp during the day was about 80 and at night it got down in the lower 60s. (good sleeping weather) I thought It would have a tough time with no TV but it was not bad at all. Really got to spend some quality time with my wife of 42 years. The staff were super and so was everyone else. Because of the location with no TV and no WiFi, everyone was in a slow down mood and very friendly. The Restaurant was super. Good service and good food. As long as you know what you are getting into, I recommend it. Oh yea, the floors were some times creaky. For me, it just added to the atmosphere to his 105 year old Inn. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMcLauchlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We just departed from a 2 night stay at the Balsam Mountain inn. It is set on a large hill just off the Blue Ridge parkway. Loved the beautiful balsam fir in the front yard. The porches with the rocking chairs and the library were favorite places to relax. All of the staff was quite pleasant. Had a small gift shop where we bought souvenirs stuffed animals for our young girls. We stayed in a double room, small but cozy. We were not expecting luxury but peace from the mountains. Overall very pleased and would return. Maybe one winter...bet its a great place for sledding!
Also the breakfasts both days were very good. Ate dinner there one night as well. We had the trout and it was simple but good. The service was very good at the restaurant.
I would recommend this inn for someone who wants to take in the beauty of the mountains in an old historical house.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spagurrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsam
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
9 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
5 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
10 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
5.2 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#5 of 19 in Waynesville
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

Address: 68 Seven Springs Drive, Balsam, NC 28707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Balsam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balsam
Price Range: $110 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Read, rest, ramble and romp at the Balsam Mountain Inn! Nestled among lofty Smoky Mountain peaks just off the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Balsam Mountain Inn was completed in 1908 to serve the highest railway depot in the east. Restored in 1991, the inn now welcomes travelers with 50 cheerful rooms, rocker-filled porches, a fine library and gracious dining. Plump pillows and soft comforters inspire pleasant dreams! In December, 2011, the Inn came once again to be owned by Merrily Teasley, the innkeeper who restored the structure two decades ago. An experienced rescuer of wonderful buildings, Teasley bought the derelict inn in 1990, and her certified rehabilitation effort helped the inn – already on the National Historic Register – experience a rebirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant Hotel Balsam
Balsam Mountain Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing