We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bald Head Island Bed & Breakfast”
Review of Marsh Harbour Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bald Head Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marsh Harbour Inn
Charlotte NC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bald Head Island Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Our first time staying in 'downtown' BHI. The Marsh Harbour Inn staff was exceptionally friendly, available, and helpful. The room we stayed in was spacious, had a private balcony overlooking the marsh, and was quiet and peaceful. The Inn puts out a healthy breakfast of fruits, juice, waffles, pancakes, yogurt, cereals, granola.....plenty to eat, excellent quality. Coffee and bottled water are available all day. Fortunately, it was fishing rodeo weekend and we got to enjoy two catered dinners reasonably priced in the community tent. Dining choices at BHI, unless you purchase day memberships to the Shoals Club or BHI club, are extremely limited and expensive.

Room Tip: We stayed in a second floor corner room, #13; however, we 'toured' some of the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteNCRBrandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    23
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Island, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Marsh Harbour Inn is a very lovely astablishment on an amazingly beautiful and relaxing island. the establishment is up scale and beautiful and the staff is wonderful they make you feel like part of the family. our rooms where great. spacious and comfy with a great view of the harbour. the housekeepers do maid service everyday and do a great job. everyone is very knowledgeable about island affairs and places to go and they all worked very hard to make us as comfortable as possible. i have read the other post and they are just rediculas bc there is no way they stayed at the same place i did. it was wonderful and i would recomend this place to everyone!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveToTravelMeghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolesville, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was our third trip to the Marsh Harbour Inn in the last year. As always our trip was amazing. Jo the Innkeeper makes you feel like a part of the family. She always bends over backwards to make our stay extraordinary!! She even put a note under our door letting us know that the room wasn't being booked for our last day their and we could have a late check out. I saw a review saying that the rooms needed updating. This is so far from the truth. They are constantly refurbishing the rooms. The rooms are always being painted. We have stayed in three different rooms and they are all delightful. We were the only ones in the Inn on the first day we were there. We were allowed to see all the rooms. There isn't a bad room in the Inn. We love everything about the Inn. The breakfast is wonderful. The Inn is so safe! They have everything you need for a beach trip. They have bicycles, beach chairs, beach towels, sand buckets, and beach toys that you can use for free. You have complimentary golf carts that you can use. It is so restfull to watch the sunset and sunrise from your balcony. It is also fun to sit on the front porch and watch the people go by in front of the inn. If you have never been to Bald Head Island you are really missing the most peaceful vacation you can have. The island is so relaxing because it is so peaceful. Their is no vehicle noise, since you can only get around on golf carts. The beaches are beautiful!
You come across from Southport on the Ferry. Their is a Tram that takes you directly to the Inn. When you go back, you call and make reservations and the tram picks you up at the front door of the Inn. If you go to the Marsh Harbour Inn, tell Jo hello for me

Judy Light
Raleigh, NC

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stayed at the Marsh harbour Inn after purchasing a trip on Living Social. The room we stayed in was awesome the innkeepers were so friendly and helpful!!! I would recommend this for anyone! I loved everything about it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My husband and I purchased a LivingSocial deal for a 2 night stay at the Marsh Harbor Inn. Our weekend included a bottle of wine, breakfast each morning, and use of the golf cart. Bald Head Island is a no-cars island, so a golf cart is essential! We were immediately greeted by name when we arrived. Having never visited Bald Head Island or the Marsh Harbor Inn, I felt immediately welcomed! We were also given a map and told about the various places to eat, where to access the beaches, and the best sights. We stayed in room 8. Our room had two queen sized beds and a moderate sized bathroom. I loved the hardwood floors, bedding, and crown molding! Our room did not have a balcony and only had a view of another building or the marsh if you stretched your neck and stood to the side of the window. If we come back for a visit, I would definitely ask for a room with a balcony facing the harbor. The beds were antique and a bit squeaky, so we refrained from being intimate. Boo.

We came the weekend following Thanksgiving and lucked out with amazing weather! It was in the high 60's and 70's. We decided to forego the golf cart on the second day and rented bikes from Riverside Adventures for $22/day. Marsh Harbor Inn does have bikes to use, but we were looking for bikes with baskets to carry along our sweatshirts, water bottles, snacks, camera, etc. The streets are quaint and quiet. Our bike ride was awesome! We visited the Light House, the Market, the Turtle Conservency Gift Shop, and my favorite, East Beach! I highly recommend the East Beach. It was breathtaking and we watched dolphins for about an hour jumping out of the water just beyond where the waves break.

Some things that are good to know....the Ferry Ride is $23/person for round-trip. The parking at the Ferry is $8/day. During off season, you are limited in the restaurants that are opened. The market is a bit pricy, though Marsh Harbor Inn told us that we could use the refrigerator if we needed to, so not having a kitchen wasn't a huge deal. It's pricier than a normal beach vacation, but I would say it's 120% worth it to have this "private" island experience! It's gorgeous! It has a marsh, woods, harbor, marina, and beaches the whole way around.

I would LOVE to come back to Bald Head and the Marsh Harbor Inn....so I'll start saving my pennies now. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We've stayed at the Marsh Harbour Inn several times and have always found it to be a restful and comfortable retreat. Our room has always been ready upon arrival, the staff warm and welcoming and it has been so easy to move ourselves into that relaxed state called "island time". We've stayed in the renovated suites which are very nicely decorated and offer wonderful views of the marsh, the harbor, the Cape Fear river and the ocean beyond. Both sunrises and sunsets (from the balcony overlooking the harbor) can be viewed and the lit up harbor after dark is an especially nice view. The breakfast spread is bountiful and offers many options and chatting with the other guests is always pleasant. A golf cart that comes with each room/suite permits endless exploration of the island. We couldn't be any happier at our retreats to the Inn.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clifford Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I love everything about the Marsh Harbour Inn from the refreshing, upbeat decor to the delicious fruit and other foods at breakfast to the views of the harbor,the river, and the marsh. The staff is competent and welcoming. I like being able to borrow bikes, towels, and beach chairs. If I could, I'd move right in and stay for a month!

Room Tip: Talk with the staff when making reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bald Head Island
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
527 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
268 reviews
12.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsh Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsh Harbour Inn

Property: Marsh Harbour Inn
Address: 21 Keelson Row, Bald Head Island, NC 28461-5060
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Bald Head Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bald Head Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You wake up in the morning...and step onto your private deck where sailboats rock gently in the marina. Beyond, you see a wide stretch of blue ocean, and to the side a creek winding through serene marshland. Surrounding the harbour are homes, both quaint and majestic—a scene that has inspired this place to be called "the Nantucket of the South." The Marsh Harbour is a boutique Inn, reminiscent of a grand coastal manor estate, overlooking the Harbour on Bald Head Island. Accommodations include nine rooms and four spectacular suites. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the dining room and a wine and cheese reception is hosted on the weekends. Enjoy sweeping views of the Marina, Atlantic Ocean and the marshes from every room. Golf cart (the only island transportation), breakfast, daily housekeeping is included in your rate. We are the only hotel facility on Bald Head Island. Suites are also available for fractional purchase, offering 4 weeks per year usage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marsh Harbour Hotel Bald Head Island
Marsh Harbour Inn Bald Head Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing