We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip to Bald Head Island”
Review of Marsh Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marsh Harbour Inn
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was our third trip to the Marsh Harbour Inn in the last year. As always our trip was amazing. Jo the Innkeeper makes you feel like a part of the family. She always bends over backwards to make our stay extraordinary!! She even put a note under our door letting us know that the room wasn't being booked for our last day their and we could have a late check out. I saw a review saying that the rooms needed updating. This is so far from the truth. They are constantly refurbishing the rooms. The rooms are always being painted. We have stayed in three different rooms and they are all delightful. We were the only ones in the Inn on the first day we were there. We were allowed to see all the rooms. There isn't a bad room in the Inn. We love everything about the Inn. The breakfast is wonderful. The Inn is so safe! They have everything you need for a beach trip. They have bicycles, beach chairs, beach towels, sand buckets, and beach toys that you can use for free. You have complimentary golf carts that you can use. It is so restfull to watch the sunset and sunrise from your balcony. It is also fun to sit on the front porch and watch the people go by in front of the inn. If you have never been to Bald Head Island you are really missing the most peaceful vacation you can have. The island is so relaxing because it is so peaceful. Their is no vehicle noise, since you can only get around on golf carts. The beaches are beautiful!
You come across from Southport on the Ferry. Their is a Tram that takes you directly to the Inn. When you go back, you call and make reservations and the tram picks you up at the front door of the Inn. If you go to the Marsh Harbour Inn, tell Jo hello for me

Judy Light
Raleigh, NC

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 100 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stayed at the Marsh harbour Inn after purchasing a trip on Living Social. The room we stayed in was awesome the innkeepers were so friendly and helpful!!! I would recommend this for anyone! I loved everything about it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My husband and I purchased a LivingSocial deal for a 2 night stay at the Marsh Harbor Inn. Our weekend included a bottle of wine, breakfast each morning, and use of the golf cart. Bald Head Island is a no-cars island, so a golf cart is essential! We were immediately greeted by name when we arrived. Having never visited Bald Head Island or the Marsh Harbor Inn, I felt immediately welcomed! We were also given a map and told about the various places to eat, where to access the beaches, and the best sights. We stayed in room 8. Our room had two queen sized beds and a moderate sized bathroom. I loved the hardwood floors, bedding, and crown molding! Our room did not have a balcony and only had a view of another building or the marsh if you stretched your neck and stood to the side of the window. If we come back for a visit, I would definitely ask for a room with a balcony facing the harbor. The beds were antique and a bit squeaky, so we refrained from being intimate. Boo.

We came the weekend following Thanksgiving and lucked out with amazing weather! It was in the high 60's and 70's. We decided to forego the golf cart on the second day and rented bikes from Riverside Adventures for $22/day. Marsh Harbor Inn does have bikes to use, but we were looking for bikes with baskets to carry along our sweatshirts, water bottles, snacks, camera, etc. The streets are quaint and quiet. Our bike ride was awesome! We visited the Light House, the Market, the Turtle Conservency Gift Shop, and my favorite, East Beach! I highly recommend the East Beach. It was breathtaking and we watched dolphins for about an hour jumping out of the water just beyond where the waves break.

Some things that are good to know....the Ferry Ride is $23/person for round-trip. The parking at the Ferry is $8/day. During off season, you are limited in the restaurants that are opened. The market is a bit pricy, though Marsh Harbor Inn told us that we could use the refrigerator if we needed to, so not having a kitchen wasn't a huge deal. It's pricier than a normal beach vacation, but I would say it's 120% worth it to have this "private" island experience! It's gorgeous! It has a marsh, woods, harbor, marina, and beaches the whole way around.

I would LOVE to come back to Bald Head and the Marsh Harbor Inn....so I'll start saving my pennies now. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We've stayed at the Marsh Harbour Inn several times and have always found it to be a restful and comfortable retreat. Our room has always been ready upon arrival, the staff warm and welcoming and it has been so easy to move ourselves into that relaxed state called "island time". We've stayed in the renovated suites which are very nicely decorated and offer wonderful views of the marsh, the harbor, the Cape Fear river and the ocean beyond. Both sunrises and sunsets (from the balcony overlooking the harbor) can be viewed and the lit up harbor after dark is an especially nice view. The breakfast spread is bountiful and offers many options and chatting with the other guests is always pleasant. A golf cart that comes with each room/suite permits endless exploration of the island. We couldn't be any happier at our retreats to the Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clifford Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I love everything about the Marsh Harbour Inn from the refreshing, upbeat decor to the delicious fruit and other foods at breakfast to the views of the harbor,the river, and the marsh. The staff is competent and welcoming. I like being able to borrow bikes, towels, and beach chairs. If I could, I'd move right in and stay for a month!

Room Tip: Talk with the staff when making reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraY366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We have just returned from 4 days at the Marsh Harbor Inn on Bald Head Island. We live in Leland, NC and were joined by relatives from Minnesota.We shared the Captains Suite. The Harbor view from the balcony was absolutely beautiful. Since this was our first time on the island we did not know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff at the INN (Jo and Emily) were wonderful. From the time we walked in the front door we felt like family. The Inn has a kind of layed back elegance. It is nicely decorated yet comfortable and has a welcome home feeling. We met some wonderful people at the family style breakfast and enjoyed the lively conversations.
Touring the island in a golf cart is so much fun, and there are so many nature trails and winding roads to travel. The beaches are so relaxing and the shoals are awesome.
We will definately return to the Marsh Harbor Inn just to get away from the noise and bustle of cars and traffic. Remember that this is an island and everything costs more but the beauty and relaxed atmosphere are worth it.

Room Tip: The Captains Suite is higher priced but the roominess and views are worth the extra cost. The bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chetwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We just returned from a weekend trip to BHI. Having lived in NC for 25 years and never been to BHI, we jumped at a Groupon opportunity. We found our stay to be very pleasant. We were a little leery of staying at a B&B and didn't want to feel like we had to socialize with strangers. We were celebrating my husband's 20 year anniversary in the USMC and 40th birthday. We were delighted at the ease of getting to the island and inn. Check-in was simply walking in and signing a piece of paper. Our room was open and welcoming. We were a little shocked there was no one to greet us but pleased at how inviting the inn was. We were allowed to use their fridge for wine/beer and breakfast was very good. Our room was very clean though sparse. We stayed in room 5 and it was very basic. An old bed that creaked (loudly) when either person moved and very little color in the room (beige walls, beige lamp, one small picture, beige bedspread, old chairs). Overall, the room needed some updating. It had a 19 inch tv with no remote control. Also, the ceiling had been patched and was never repainted. Shutters on the windows were broken. A handyman could easily fix these items in one afternoon. Lastly, our golf cart was in need of some TLC. The front window was so scratched up it made it dangerous to drive at night. We literally drove home one evening with our heads out the side of the cart to see where we were going. Needless to say, it took away some of the fun of driving around the island. Overall, I would recommend the Marsh Harbour Inn but would request a larger, more updated room.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 are at the top of the steps and over the foyer (a bit noisy). Also, room 5 is in need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank usmcwife108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bald Head Island
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
561 reviews
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
288 reviews
11.5 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsh Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsh Harbour Inn

Address: 21 Keelson Row, Bald Head Island, NC 28461-5060
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Bald Head Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bald Head Island
Price Range: $204 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You wake up in the morning...and step onto your private deck where sailboats rock gently in the marina. Beyond, you see a wide stretch of blue ocean, and to the side a creek winding through serene marshland. Surrounding the harbour are homes, both quaint and majestic—a scene that has inspired this place to be called "the Nantucket of the South." The Marsh Harbour is a boutique Inn, reminiscent of a grand coastal manor estate, overlooking the Harbour on Bald Head Island. Accommodations include nine rooms and four spectacular suites. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the dining room and a wine and cheese reception is hosted on the weekends. Enjoy sweeping views of the Marina, Atlantic Ocean and the marshes from every room. Golf cart (the only island transportation), breakfast, daily housekeeping is included in your rate. We are the only hotel facility on Bald Head Island. Suites are also available for fractional purchase, offering 4 weeks per year usage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marsh Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsh Harbour Hotel Bald Head Island
Marsh Harbour Inn Bald Head Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing