We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Trip”
Review of Marsh Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marsh Harbour Inn
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We have just returned from 4 days at the Marsh Harbor Inn on Bald Head Island. We live in Leland, NC and were joined by relatives from Minnesota.We shared the Captains Suite. The Harbor view from the balcony was absolutely beautiful. Since this was our first time on the island we did not know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff at the INN (Jo and Emily) were wonderful. From the time we walked in the front door we felt like family. The Inn has a kind of layed back elegance. It is nicely decorated yet comfortable and has a welcome home feeling. We met some wonderful people at the family style breakfast and enjoyed the lively conversations.
Touring the island in a golf cart is so much fun, and there are so many nature trails and winding roads to travel. The beaches are so relaxing and the shoals are awesome.
We will definately return to the Marsh Harbor Inn just to get away from the noise and bustle of cars and traffic. Remember that this is an island and everything costs more but the beauty and relaxed atmosphere are worth it.

Room Tip: The Captains Suite is higher priced but the roominess and views are worth the extra cost. The bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chetwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 99 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

We just returned from a weekend trip to BHI. Having lived in NC for 25 years and never been to BHI, we jumped at a Groupon opportunity. We found our stay to be very pleasant. We were a little leery of staying at a B&B and didn't want to feel like we had to socialize with strangers. We were celebrating my husband's 20 year anniversary in the USMC and 40th birthday. We were delighted at the ease of getting to the island and inn. Check-in was simply walking in and signing a piece of paper. Our room was open and welcoming. We were a little shocked there was no one to greet us but pleased at how inviting the inn was. We were allowed to use their fridge for wine/beer and breakfast was very good. Our room was very clean though sparse. We stayed in room 5 and it was very basic. An old bed that creaked (loudly) when either person moved and very little color in the room (beige walls, beige lamp, one small picture, beige bedspread, old chairs). Overall, the room needed some updating. It had a 19 inch tv with no remote control. Also, the ceiling had been patched and was never repainted. Shutters on the windows were broken. A handyman could easily fix these items in one afternoon. Lastly, our golf cart was in need of some TLC. The front window was so scratched up it made it dangerous to drive at night. We literally drove home one evening with our heads out the side of the cart to see where we were going. Needless to say, it took away some of the fun of driving around the island. Overall, I would recommend the Marsh Harbour Inn but would request a larger, more updated room.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 are at the top of the steps and over the foyer (a bit noisy). Also, room 5 is in need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank usmcwife108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had a room that was attached to a suite. The connecting door on our side was not equipt to be locked. A stranger did pop their head in when we were resting. This took the intamacy out of our trip and we didn't sleep well either knowing that we weren't secure. Everything else was beautiful, but how restful can a vacation be if you don't feel safe?

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room that doesn't have a connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

It is really annoying to repeatedly read about properties that are 5 star in such unjustified negative way by travelers who evidently watching what they spend. Don't get me wrong, there is NOTHING wrong with traveling on a budget, however, when you visit BHI, you KNOW that you will have to dig a bit deeper in your pocket, than any other beach island towns in NC. BHI is an exclusive and very eloquent hideway,... not to sound elitist here, because I certainly allocate a budget to our travels... but....don't complain if you pay more for your breakfast or hotel room or whatever service you are using. The Marsh Harbour Inn is a wonderful property, with beautiful decorated Suites and stunning vistas, in prime location right on the idyllic harbor. It really is annoying to read negative reviews about this great property, when the main reason why guests are complaining, is because they think prices are overinflated. Heck yeah, they are. You are staying in and paying for - exclusivity. Stop whining, folks. If you are not willing to pay the extra it takes to stay on BHI, then take the Ferry back and stay in the Hampton on the mainland. Marsh Harbour Inn is a wonderful retreat, just as BHI is a marvelous upscale getaway island. Narrow beaches?? Seriously?? Was it high tide on a full moon?? Did these reviewers take the time to explore the island?? I have no idea how anyone could possibly not like BHI or give Marsh Harbour Inn a below than 4 star rating. Look at my other tripadvisor reviews, I dare to compare.

Room Tip: harbour sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sistatravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I've stayed at the Marsh Harbour Inn many times and always enjoyed it. The rooms are clean and the new suites are gorgeous!!! The best part is watching the sun set over the marina while enjoying a glass of wine. There's a nice view of the marsh from the breakfast room as well. The staff are very friendly and have gone out of their way to make my stay more comfortable. The fireplace in the winter is also wonderful and there are games for families. My only complaint would be the breakfast, which is basically just frozen waffles, bagels, and fruit. I would love to see some homemade muffins or french toast, or at least some hot entrees items that change daily (and natural peanut butter:))

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the Marsh Harbour Inn for 2 nights 9/13 and 14. Though the facility needs some updating the staff made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to accommodate us. In particular the breakfast (included in the price) was delicious with various pastries, waffles and pancakes, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, sausages, coffee, tea and orange juice. They let us put a few items in their refrigerator and provided filtered water (which is good because the water tastes awful on Bald Head Island). Use of their golf cart, beach chairs and beach towels was a nice plus, too!

Room Tip: Early September is a great time to go (if you get lucky with hurricane season). The temps are still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank db17_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

A perfect spot for a coastal vacation. Relaxing and peaceful. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable and your stay includes an extensive breakfast every morning. The rooms have either a harbor view or a marsh view (a bird watcher's heaven!). There are bikes to ride, kayaks to rent and beaches to explore. No cars allowed on Bald Head Island but golf carts are available. Even the ferry ride over is fun! In addition, fractional ownerships are available for those that want to return to this special spot on the globe!

Room Tip: Each room is different so please ask the reservation specialist. Some have kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bald Head Island
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
11.5 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
291 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsh Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsh Harbour Inn

Address: 21 Keelson Row, Bald Head Island, NC 28461-5060
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Bald Head Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bald Head Island
Price Range: $284 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You wake up in the morning...and step onto your private deck where sailboats rock gently in the marina. Beyond, you see a wide stretch of blue ocean, and to the side a creek winding through serene marshland. Surrounding the harbour are homes, both quaint and majestic—a scene that has inspired this place to be called "the Nantucket of the South." The Marsh Harbour is a boutique Inn, reminiscent of a grand coastal manor estate, overlooking the Harbour on Bald Head Island. Accommodations include nine rooms and four spectacular suites. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the dining room and a wine and cheese reception is hosted on the weekends. Enjoy sweeping views of the Marina, Atlantic Ocean and the marshes from every room. Golf cart (the only island transportation), breakfast, daily housekeeping is included in your rate. We are the only hotel facility on Bald Head Island. Suites are also available for fractional purchase, offering 4 weeks per year usage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marsh Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsh Harbour Hotel Bald Head Island
Marsh Harbour Inn Bald Head Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing