We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view from a beautiful inn”
Review of Marsh Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marsh Harbour Inn
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I've stayed at the Marsh Harbour Inn many times and always enjoyed it. The rooms are clean and the new suites are gorgeous!!! The best part is watching the sun set over the marina while enjoying a glass of wine. There's a nice view of the marsh from the breakfast room as well. The staff are very friendly and have gone out of their way to make my stay more comfortable. The fireplace in the winter is also wonderful and there are games for families. My only complaint would be the breakfast, which is basically just frozen waffles, bagels, and fruit. I would love to see some homemade muffins or french toast, or at least some hot entrees items that change daily (and natural peanut butter:))

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 100 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the Marsh Harbour Inn for 2 nights 9/13 and 14. Though the facility needs some updating the staff made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to accommodate us. In particular the breakfast (included in the price) was delicious with various pastries, waffles and pancakes, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, sausages, coffee, tea and orange juice. They let us put a few items in their refrigerator and provided filtered water (which is good because the water tastes awful on Bald Head Island). Use of their golf cart, beach chairs and beach towels was a nice plus, too!

Room Tip: Early September is a great time to go (if you get lucky with hurricane season). The temps are still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank db17_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

A perfect spot for a coastal vacation. Relaxing and peaceful. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable and your stay includes an extensive breakfast every morning. The rooms have either a harbor view or a marsh view (a bird watcher's heaven!). There are bikes to ride, kayaks to rent and beaches to explore. No cars allowed on Bald Head Island but golf carts are available. Even the ferry ride over is fun! In addition, fractional ownerships are available for those that want to return to this special spot on the globe!

Room Tip: Each room is different so please ask the reservation specialist. Some have kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My family and I stayed in two suites this August. The Inn was totally awsome. The staff went overboard to provide us with excellent service. Jo, Ron and all the staff were great. Our suites were just perfect and daily maid service was excellant.

We will be back again as often as we can.

Rod, Jo thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popzahler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I think some of the recent reviews are BS because there is no way that they stayed at the same place that I stayed.

The MHI is a nice, B&B with great service from Inn Keeper Jo. Breakfast was good and coffee was available at 7 AM

Our rooms (rented multiple rooms) were clean and the housekeeping staff did a fine job.

The new carpeting throughout the inn made the place look really nice.

There is no way the previous reviewer stayed at the same place. Sorry, I call BS on that

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We recently spent 2 nights at the Inn and were extremely disappointed. While the staff were friendly and the breakfast was decent, the Inn is grossly overpriced. We stayed in Room 6, which had a toilet with a steady water leak, flaking paint on the ceiling, and mold and flaking paint in the bathroom. Our maid service was a quick visit where the dirty towels were removed and 1 of the 2 trash cans was emptied...and this happened only after we flagged the person in the hall at about 4:30 in the afternoon after having a “maid service requested” sign on our door all day. The rest of the Inn looks like it hasn’t seem any updates since it was built about 15 years ago, including no apparent cleaning of the hall carpets over that time period either. We visited on a Groupon deal where our room was “only” $145/night and it still wasn’t a good deal. Imagine how we would hav3e felt if we had paid the published rate of $345/night for our room.

The grocery market prices were highly inflated, the restaurant prices were high, and the ferry price of $26 each way per person (plus $10/day parking) make a visit to Bald Head a pricey experience for nothing you can’t get at other NC beaches. We’ve visited and stayed at almost every beach in NC and Bald Head is at the bottom on our list. The beaches are narrow and crowded, the water wasn’t very clear, and the beach groins on the SW end of the island are just plain ugly. Give me Ocracoke, Ocean Isle, Sunset Beach, or Wrightsville Beach any day.

It truly was a once in a lifetime experience because we would never again subject ourselves to the price extortion that is Bald Head.

Room Tip: Go to another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tslthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhi_Rentals, Owner at Marsh Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

In response to this guests email above, I do not agree with her statements. Her room 2 weeks prior to her stay was repainted. New linens and bed spreads, new sea grass rug, the bathroom had no presence of mold or mildew . There has been new carpet installed in all hallways and common areas not more than 3 weeks ago. Obviously, there are issues with this guests statements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Booked this room months ago when they offered a special thru Groupon. Checked in and was upgraded to one of the suites with a kitchen. Beautiful. Accommodations are great. Service was perfect, although it did take me several days to herding to answer te phone to make the reservations.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bald Head Island
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
12.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsh Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsh Harbour Inn

Address: 21 Keelson Row, Bald Head Island, NC 28461-5060
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Bald Head Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bald Head Island
Price Range: $204 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You wake up in the morning...and step onto your private deck where sailboats rock gently in the marina. Beyond, you see a wide stretch of blue ocean, and to the side a creek winding through serene marshland. Surrounding the harbour are homes, both quaint and majestic—a scene that has inspired this place to be called "the Nantucket of the South." The Marsh Harbour is a boutique Inn, reminiscent of a grand coastal manor estate, overlooking the Harbour on Bald Head Island. Accommodations include nine rooms and four spectacular suites. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the dining room and a wine and cheese reception is hosted on the weekends. Enjoy sweeping views of the Marina, Atlantic Ocean and the marshes from every room. Golf cart (the only island transportation), breakfast, daily housekeeping is included in your rate. We are the only hotel facility on Bald Head Island. Suites are also available for fractional purchase, offering 4 weeks per year usage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marsh Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsh Harbour Hotel Bald Head Island
Marsh Harbour Inn Bald Head Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing