We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and reasonable prices”
Review of Helen's Restaurant

Helen's Restaurant
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Denver, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Went out to find collards and peas on New Years Day and most restaurants were closed in the NC Mtns. We drove into Bakersville and asked a local if he might recommend a place and he directed us to Helens. What a great place! Collards were amazing! So was the cornbread (about 2 inches thick, hot and tasty). Homemade pies, cakes and friendly, prompt service. If youre in the area yo must check out this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Surprise in Bakersville”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have written and lost this review on my phone due to App issues but this little place impressed me enough to try again from the PC. If multiple posts show up... I'm sorry.
This little roadside restaurant is small town America inside and out. It's clean outside and as you walk in, you see it is spotless everywhere. The decor is nothing fancy but everything is kept up and looks nearly new. We have been through the area numerous times and somehow managed to miss this place. That's a shame because they have good food. As we sat down to order I was thinking burger, fries and a tea but when I opened the menu, a little "Daily Specials" menu in a menu folder not just a printed sheet of paper, slid out. What? Balsamic Glazed grilled chicken salad with apples and walnuts. Then I glanced at the specials board on the wall, Grilled Pork Loin and Pineapple salad. Being the cynics that we are we chuckled and thought these can't be any good. But what the heck, it was about 250 degrees outside riding a motorcycle and these sounded cool and refreshing. We decide to order one of each of the salads. To our surprise they were a nice size, well presented and tasty. I'm not saying this is 5 star cuisine but this was way above expectations for a small town in the NC mountains. Not the typical meat n three that you usually run across up here. Someone in the spotless kitchen cares about food and is trying to raise the bar in their local. They still have all the typical grilled sandwiches, burger's fries, pies etc which I would bet are good. And, the wait staff all know their customer's by name and "usual" order as you come to expect in the small towns but there seems to be just a little something extra here, you can see the pride in the restaurant building and the food. It's not going to make you think you are visiting New York, Miami or Los Angeles or got a private meal from "Hell's Kitchen" but they are trying and suceeding at being more than just another cheap, dumpy roadside restaurant. This is the kind of place I could envision on an episode of Diner's Drive In's and Dives if they continue to be innovative and bringing a fresh feel to a small town diner menu. Way to go Helen's!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank kickstander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent NM
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“An average and typical country eatery”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A good choice in Bakersville, Helen's is a typical country restaurant serving typical country fare. Burgers, open-face roast beef sandwiches, steaks and chicken highlight their fairly complete menu. Predictably, pies form the centerpiece of the front counter and their local reputation.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

a fave among locals, the food menu is typical for a small town restaurant, and it's good.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank KSWilson24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helen's Restaurant also viewed

Bakersville, North Carolina Mountains
Bakersville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bakersville, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Helen's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing