We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
History lesson you will never learn in a book

We went to Dellinger's Mill and ended up being there for hours. I could sit there all day and... read more

Reviewed October 28, 2018
Maznblue
,
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Visit a working grist mill and take home some freshly ground corn meal.

This historic grist mill has been restored to working condition. You and your children can learn... read more

Reviewed September 17, 2017
N3157QBtomf
Read all 6 reviews
  
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveler rating
4
1
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
4
1
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017

This historic grist mill has been restored to working condition. You and your children can learn how grist mills operate, how corn meal, grits and other grain products are made. The gentleman who operates the mill is a descendant of the original owners, and since he retired, he has dedicated a great deal of time to bringing back this historic jewel and presenting it to the public. He has tales of the area as well as the mill, and you will be entertained for as long as you want to visit.
Plan to spend at least an hour, but stay longer if you can.
Look for the sign on Highway 226 just south of the traffic light in downtown Bakersville, NC and drive about 4 miles to the mill on the right. Not a lot of parking, but it usually isn't crowded.
Take home a fresh bag of corn meal and enjoy some good old southern cornbread!

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank N3157QBtomf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Grist Mill and meeting Mr. Dellinger. It was interesting to hear the history of the mill, which is owned and operated by Jack, the great grandson of the man who built it. Equally as interesting was hearing about Jack's life history.
It was wonderful to learn how the mill was repaired after years of disuse, and to see it operate was great. I'm looking forward to making cornbread and grits with the products we purchased ( recipes included).
If you are at all interested in history - it's totally worth the time to stop by. Just be sure to check his website for his hours and dates of operation ( not open in winter).
Small children would likely be bored, but older teens who are interested in history might enjoy it. There are no restrooms, and parking is limited to about 5 vehicles.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank DMKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile

We were in Bakersville and saw a sign that said "grist mill" 4 miles so we were interested. We asked in a store about the road and were told that it was good so we decided to go. We found out that the mill is only open on Fridays and Saturdays so we were in luck. We arrived to find the grist mill was operating but they were working on it. We met Jack Dellinger, the 86 year old owner and descendant of the original owner who took us on a tour of the place. The mill is the last operating grist mill in North Carolina and on the official register of historic places. He told us all about the mill which dates from 1869 and how he had returned to his home and restored the mill. There are products for sale, so we bought some grits which are delicious. We really enjoyed talking to Mr. Dellinger and learning about the mill. It was a great experience!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank NancyH728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.