We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Youngstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Mile Creek Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great again”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We camp here 3-4 times a year with a group of 3-5 families. Again it was great. Clean, quiet and safe. Nice water views, bathrooms clean, store reasonable. Alot of land to play games and trails to ike on. See you in October!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 21Roberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    31
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We selected this park baed on it's proximity to Niagara Falls. We spent most our time sightseeing, but did truly enjoy this campground. We had a lakeview site in the 100 loop near the playground. Our site was long and skinny, and we would have been uncomfortably close to our neighbors had we not occupied two sites. Our site had shade, but many on not. The bathhouse by the lake in the 100 loop was spotless and had a washer, dryer and utility sink for washing dishes. The bathhouse closer to the entrance in the 100 loop has commercial grade sinks for washing dishes and two sets of washers and dryers. We did not have any issues with rude neighbors, noise, etc. The 5 children in our group enjoyed riding their bikes around all the loops, playing at the playground and visiting the camp store/arcade.

All the sights on the US side of Niagara Falls are part of "Niagara State Park" so your camping pass allows you to park for free. This saves you $10 each time go to this area. There is a 4 lane road between the campground and the downtown Niagara area that was nearly busy during our visit. We recommend geting the "Discovery Pass" if you are going to see all the sights.

One a we crossed the border and spent the day in Canada. We had lunch at Skylon Tower - reommned going mid-week to the buffet, then drove into Toronto (about 90 minutes drive). On ou way home we stopped at the border and rode the SkyWheel (a big waste on money in our opinion) before crossing the border. The border crossing was surprisingly easy. There was very little inspection of our documentation and none of the agents asked for proof that the 5 children traveling in our two cars were legally ours. Shocking!

We boarded a dog for a few days, and highly recommend Epic Blue if you need t board a dog. Jennifer was great to work with and took the best care of my 13 year old Lab.

Read other reviws for details on the cheap firewood available right outside camp entrance. Also note that the is an indian reservation about 10m from the campground and gas is about 30 cents / gal cheaper than at other stations. We went to "Smokin'Joes" near the camground, but they are all over the place. The one we went to also had a store with lots of stuff and a smal grocrey store.

I'd be happy to provide more information if anyone has questions. Our family loved this campground, agreeing it has the best view of anyplace we've stayed and the weather could not have been more perfect.

Room Tip: Highly recomend lake front sites if you do not mind being close to your neighbrs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColoradoCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

On June 5th my wife and I arrived in the early evening in our 35-foot motorhome, were greeted at the entrance and provided with our prepaid pass and directions to our campsite. Our site, like most others, was in an open grassy field in view of the lake. It had a convenient 50-amp electric connection but required nearly 100-feet of hose to make the water connection. Our neighboring camper, living in a 5th-Wheel trailer, was from Canada, identified himself as a long-term camper and campground volunteer and was cordial and helpful; even moving our picnic table so I could fully back into our campsite.

Each campsite with hookups has a picnic table and fire ring. There are lakeside tent campsites with no hookups, but they're convenient to the showers and restrooms. My wife checked out both the showers and restrooms and found them to be spotlessly clean. Since there were no overhanging trees both our satellite antenna and our TV antenna picked up an ample number of TV stations, so we had no shortage of electronic entertainment. Like most state campgrounds, this one has no swimming pool, nor is there a swimming beach along the lake, but they charge about half as much as area commercial campgrounds. The scenic roads and paths in and around the campground are ideal for walking and biking.

We chose this campground because it's within about a dozen miles of Niagara Falls, where we planned to spend the next day. We were delighted to learn, upon checking into the campground, that our campground pass would also provide us with free parking for our RV on Goat Island which is conveniently located between Horseshoe Falls and American Falls on the US side. We stayed for two nights then emptied our holding tanks at the campground's free guest dumping station prior to our departure.

Aside from the famous falls there are many other scenic and historical places to visit within a short drive of the campground. We received a good value and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lewis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great camp for families with kids. So many fun activities in the neighboring areas/activities. Great place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rembcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just back from a long weekend in the Niagara Falls area. This is a great campground with nice, grassy lots that are spacious. They monitor it regularly so noise isn't a problem. The bathrooms in the 100 and 200 loops are newly renovated. The 300 loop is non-electric and really affordable and not a long walk to the newer bathrooms. Take a look when you choose your lot and go for one with trees as there are many that are pretty treeless and would be baking hot. The premium lots right on the lake are totally worth it--extra deep and perfect for sunsets. Really nice staff. Beware, the camp store doesn't stay open late (when we got in one night at 8:00 it was already closed) so get your provisions in town on the way there if you need them. About 12 miles from Niagara Falls. Great vineyards in the area. Your campground pass gets you free parking on the American side of the falls at the state park there and free access to the other state parks in the area (one of which includes a pool and one has a beach). We'll definitely come back next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: Look for lots with trees. Go for the premium lots if they are available. The 200 loop seemed quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichiganAimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

They take quiet hours seriously which is such a relief for us tent campers. We are SO tired of being kept up all night because of rude, stupid and inconsiderate people. They had a guard at the entrance at night checking everyone who entered the park so unlike other Niagara campgrounds safety isn't an issue. They have many wonderful huge old willow and oak trees providing shade to many sites. They kept it very, very clean. New York State campgrounds do have this strange set up of making some sites the main access to the bathrooms so if you are using ReserveAmerica I would suggest calling the parks first to make sure you are not getting one of those sites.

The 100 loop has the newest bathrooms and was packed full which we didn't understand considering the great sites left open. These were the only bathroom that had dish washing sinks.
We stayed in site 304 and had the area almost to ourselves. The bathrooms were newish but they didn't have any dishwashing sinks. But considering the piece and quiet and wonderful site we had it didn't matter.
Loop 200 was getting a new bathroom so hopefully soon there will be a dishwashing sink close to the 300 loop.

Fort Niagara State Park is only 5 minutes away which you can visit for free and they have a pool. Its $1.50 per person but the water slides were broken and the only open section was only 3 feet deep! Boring for my 8 & 10 year old boys but it did cool them off.
The bonus of getting free parking at Niagara State Park downtown made this an even better campground. It saved us $10 in parking each time we went downtown.

Room Tip: Call ahead to get the best site recommendations from the rangers before reserving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelerWithFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Spent two nights car camping here. Sites are open, not very private, but this is usually the case when you are near water. We are new to camping--a dozen times between us. But we loved this place. Clean showers and bathrooms not far from the sites. Several hundred yards to Lake Ontario where you can see spectacular sunsets. Lot of families and kids, staff was very very helpful. Would return often, but we live too far away. We enjoyed Fort Niagara, meals at Ashkers and Bandannas (in Youngstown), and of course, the Falls.

Room Tip: We stayed on Site 167, but other sites had great views of the water (155,157, 161. 163 &165).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WT2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youngstown
7.0 mi away
Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa
15.4 mi away
Lake Ontario Motel
Lake Ontario Motel
#1 of 1 in Newfane
30 reviews
13.0 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#8 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,183 reviews
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,029 reviews
3.4 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Mile Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Mile Creek Campground

Property: Four Mile Creek Campground
Address: 1055 Lake Rd, Youngstown, NY 14174-1126
Location: United States > New York > Youngstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Youngstown
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
4 Mile Creek Campground
Four Mile Creek Campground Hotel Youngstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing