We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Untermyer Gardens

Untermyer Gardens
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Yonkers
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kew Gardens, New York
Level Contributor
251 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Untermyer Gardens are lovely, but it is a shame that they were allowed to deteriorate. I applaud the society working to restore them. New York lost a gem when it could not maintain the house and grounds. The walled garden has the most magnificent weeping beech trees (at lest that is what I believe them to be). The views to the Hudson River are stunning. I hope in the future the gardens can be further restored.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dnvpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    46
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great river views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

i love this park. It is the most unique place to see the hudson. The fountains are beautiful in the summer. Sit under the trees and feel the temperature change from the hot sun. my kids enjoy going on the stage and performing improve style. singing and dancing we all have a great laugh. small kids will love the costume party at halloween, the tree lighting, or the puppet show in June. The senior center offers great classes fror all ages from pre school with Tara to dancing, yoga and exercise programs. bring the kids to see an occassional bride and peak into a stretch limo. Step into this Ancient greek style park and watch the sunset.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little piece of heaven in Yonkers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a gorgeous place! My brother had his pictures taken here for his wedding and it was a fairytale, It's a little piece of heaven in Yonkers.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank FreeMeSande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You have to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Beautiful, beautiful place. Like nothing else in the area. Fountains, flowers, plants, trees. Grecian & Persian architecture.
Fabulous place!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Herself212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford Hills, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Invigorating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just love this place for tranquil ME times. Bring your camera, and your girl or boyfriend. It's a great background.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Untermyer Gardens also viewed

Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 
Yonkers, Westchester County
Yonkers, Westchester County
 

Been to Untermyer Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing