We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chocolate Chip Scones...Hands Down!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bread Alone

Bread Alone
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Chocolate Chip Scones...Hands Down!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The abundance (but not extreme) amount of chocolate chips, the sliced almonds, and the indistinguishable spices make this one of the best Chocolate Chip scones I've ever had. And what's better...it only costs $2.75. Down in Westchester I pay $4+ for scones (each) and they are not anywhere as good as these. I would highly recommend you try one!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    83
    22
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Right in the center of town, Bread Alone has fresh breads and delicious pastries, as well as an amazing and enormous breakfast wrap with avocado and bacon that I highly recommend. Julie is an efficient and friendly manager. They serve good coffee and beautiful breads that are made right in their factory in Boiceville. I rarely sit and eat here because space is limited, but on a nice day there is also a patio with tables outside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast or lunch destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Good coffee and pastries to go or to eat in small, busy bakery atmosphere. The service is friendly, and it is well located, in the heart of town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harriet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for Grabbing breakfast/lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stopped here twice during my stay in Woodstock and was impressed both times. My friend and I got sandwiches packed for us for a day a of hiking and both of our selections were delicious. The second time we grabbed food was on our way out of town. The coffee was dark and hot and the variety of pastries, bagels & breakfast sandwiches was great. I would recommend this to anyone needing a packed lunch or something quick in town!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krissy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great coffee and pastry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have stopped in to Bread Alone many times for coffee and pastry. It has always been very good and I would recommend it.

The store is small and the seating very limited. On Saturdays you will probably have to wait a bit before getting a table. This is Woodstock, you know.

The atmosphere is very much like the Italian pastry shops in Greenwich Village (think Rocco's) with a harried but friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread Alone also viewed

Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 

Been to Bread Alone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing