We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste time looking elsewhere - stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't waste time looking elsewhere - stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

Had a look at a few places in Woodstock and, though not the cheapest certainly the most attractive, just off the main street in lovely grounds. Felt so comfortable there as the woman running the hotel (Karen) was excellent as was one of my neighbours, a Swedish woman who has been coming there for years. I also loved the buffet breakfast which starts late & finishes late - allowing for a nice relaxing run beforehand. Great selection of decent, healthy food. Two nights of relaxing bliss. I rented a bike at the local bike shop - top notch condition. Did some gorgeous cycling there with a few back-breaking hills (try the cycle up to Tannersville (via 23A) and then back down via Platt Clove Rd. - fabulous trip which neither you nor your legs will forget in a hurry!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floodjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    123
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
68
295
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

This is an older motel, that has been modernized and upgraded to provide much comfort and atmosphere expected in the 21st century.

I do not know if all rooms have the same amenities. Our room had a warming (electric) fireplace, a kitchenette area with refrigerator/freezer, microwave/convection oven, hot plate, coffee pot (with coffee and tea), sink, pots/pans, dishes/flatware,mugs/glasses - for 2. There is a table for 2 in the room.

The bathroom has an oversize shower with 3 separate nozzles, including: spray, massage and overhead rain showers. Also, there is a whirlpool bath for 2.

The bed is king size and quite comfortable.

A wonderful continental breakfast is available in the dining area adjacent to the motel office from 9:00 AM until 11:00 AM. Fresh fruits are offered along with various cereals, granola, bagels, lox, cream cheese, butter, toast, pastries, coffee, tea, milk & soy milk. In warmer weather, you may gather your breakfast and go out to tables near the millstream and relax to the sound of the water cascading over the rocks below.

Free Wi-Fi is available in all of the rooms.

If you use Sprint as you cell phone service provider, you may have to use another provider's analog service. There is also a real pay telephone on the grounds, as well as a soft drink vending machine.

My wife and I especially enjoy visiting Woodstock in the Fall to enjoy the colors of Autumn while relaxing at this cozy motel. Be warned though - If you plan to visit during busy times, such as the Fall, make your reservations well in advance. There are also special events in Woodstock (art shows, a movie festival, concerts, etc.) that may make reservations difficult.

There are many quaint shops in town and restaurants are nearby too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob48246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland Patent, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

We've been staying here for 20 + years for 3-4 nights each June. This is a tranqil quiet oasis on a babbling brook that shouldn't be missed if you are going to Woodstock. There are different size accomodations and we have stayed in all of them. Our family is grown, but staying here with our boys was a treat. The millstream is a fascinating place for kids to frolick and the free breakfast is a keeper. Granola, fruit, lox and bagels, oj, coffee...etc.... Karen, the Innkeeper, treats us like family and we have never been disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daopeace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgewater, nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

I don't know where these other people stayed, or perhaps the Innkeeper Karen was having an off week...but there was nothing charming about her demeanor. In fact, she was rude and aloof. The average breakfast was overshadowed by her oppressive mood and slovenly appearance. Ok , so it's Woodstock - but wash and comb her hair if you're serving food.
Paper plates and paper bowls? So much for saving the environment.
The rooms were very neat and clean. The grounds are lovely. Based upon the sour attitude of the Innkeeper, I would never return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lunarspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, June 11, 2010
I am sorry that you were so disappointed with my service. I do apologize for having offended you with both my appearance and attitude. In my defense, I can only say that I am human, and I do have an off day on occasion. I will take your feedback as a constructive reminder going forward. I am glad you enjoyed your room and the beautiful grounds, and hope you'll give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

Room was a room. Small, but warm with nice heavy blankets. Clean.

Bonnie was delightful. Super helpful and knowledgeable.

Breakfast was continental but kick a**. Good bagels, lox, granola, fruit, yogurt, good coffee, and easy conversation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainZingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

I like the concept of a motel but they are almost always run down, cheap and totally unappealing. But this one is great! The owners did an excellent job remodeling it into a really comfy and cozy motel. I usually prefer high end boutique hotels and enjoyed this motel just as much. The location is in a residential part of Woodstock (close to town) and the stream is pretty and relaxing. The rooms are charming and the beds are warm and comfortable. Plus they've got real (NY) bagels for breakfast.
More people should renovate motels this way!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

I've never stayed in a motel. I love them, in movies. And I loved this place, and really, seriously, can't wait to go back.

The setting counted for a lot, and the white sweep of the rooms, against the green lawn where yellow leaves had fallen, was very picturesque. The larger lawn nearby runs to a broad stream, and one can walk along the stream into town. Adirondack chairs are scattered about, for sitting and thinking.

The rooms are small (there are larger ones, but we didn't see them), but impeccably clean, fresh and bright, furnished simply with a bureau for clothes, big comfortable bed with good white linen and quilt, and tiny walk-in closet. There is a Tv suspended from a corner of the ceiling, which was weird but great. We don't have a TV. Too much to do. In the small but retro bathroom (turquoise tiles and white tiles, which actually don't look like a car crash) touches like very fluffy white bath, hand and face towels and delicious- smelling organic lavender hands soap went a long way to making you feel like someone gave a damn. New, wrapped shower soaps are provided every day - oatmeal and lavender.

I loved having porch to sit on, and the shared old fridge at the end for storing one's drinks and ice. There are beautiful trees in the grounds and lots of squirrels and birds to watch.

Breakfast is in a sunny room, and is slightly over-sold and over-rated: I would not call it gourmet, even though smoked salmon makes an appearance. All plates and bowls are paper, and the coffee isn't well...I'm picky about coffee. Otherwise there are bagels of dubious vintage and a fruit bread that we saw out the days before, on the counter, even though Bread Alone has a shop in town. There was yoghurt and fruit, too, and Bonne Maman jams and butter. But it was fine, and we were not unhappy with it. I should travel with my espresso pot.

The place had what I can only call a good feel to it. Something like integrity. Hard to define. And, I think, quite rare. I would go back in a heartbeat and would like to see it and the town and woods nearby, in wintertime.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66squarefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.4 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
9.0 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
10.4 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream

Property: The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Address: 48 Tannery Brook Rd, Woodstock, NY 12498-1522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the natural beauty of our Woodstock NY bed and breakfast located in the peaceful Hudson Valley. Enjoy the warmth of a bed and breakfast with the amenities of a boutique hotel. Our stream side setting - complete with bluestone patios, hammocks and fully landscaped gardens - is the perfect place to just unwind or relax after an active day touring Woodstock or the Catskills. We are a chic sanctuary, walkable to all attractions in the heart of Woodstock's village, including galleries, museums, shops and restaurants. We have 18 private rooms and studios with complimentary gourmet continental breakfast and Wi-Fi. We also have two stand-alone cottages available. Our rates starting at $169 offer something for everyone, while our innkeeper's care, knowledge and attention to detail ensure you will have a fully authentic Woodstock experience when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Woodstock Inn On The Millstream Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing