We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expect from a bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what I expect from a bed and breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Staying at this property felt like staying at a second rate motel. The natural setting is nice, being along a village millstream, but the facilities and the hospitality was lacking The room was tiny and poorly decorated, with broken picture frames, plain white walls and an antiquated TV. The bed was not comfortable. The office is also used as the breakfast area. It was cluttered and had little useful stuff for visitors. The breakfast layout had cold cereal, juice, boiled, eggs, toast and a few pastries. They did have some sliced salmon there also. I suppose they charge the price they do because it is located in Woodstock. But that doesn't mean they don't need to pamper people if they are advertising it as a "Bed and Breakfast" experience. Not worth the $150 I laid out. I went to a different B&B only 40 minutes away for a much lower price and had an amazingly wonderful experience. We were pampered with an exquisite facility, wonderful hospitality and a scrumptious breakfast! And then this. I will not go there again or recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks for sharing. We are a hybrid here in Woodstock - part B&B and part inn and motel. We do review all our rooms prior to check in and everyone's mattress needs are different so anyone with concerns as always encouraged to contact the Innkeeper. And although our continental breakfast style wasn't to your liking, we've found others enjoy the freedom to dine at their leisure and enjoy the beautiful stream side setting. It's unfortunate your visit here wasn't more enjoyable but glad your other stay was pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    123
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
68
295
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mildura
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in the old motel rooms which are very small with tiny bathrooms. Having said that the rooms are clean and comfortable and very tastefully decorated. The location is superb next to the river within easy walking distance of town where there are ample restaurants, bars, cafes and shops. Our host was very helpful and even picked us up from our restaurant because there were no taxis and in heavy rain. Breakfast is continental style and has a delicious mix of items to choose from. You can eat outside or inside. There is a relaxed atmosphere with an emphasis on just chilling out and doing your own thing.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and ask for one of the cottages or larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for visiting and also noticing the Inn’s environment is conducive to “doing your own thing” as each guest’s needs and visit is unique. Whether sitting by the stream, visiting Woodstock’s galleries and restaurants or hiking the area’s beautiful trails, we’re pleased to be an integral part of your getaway. And our diverse room options do offer lots of choices when planning visits. Hope you'll be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the Woodstock Inn NY and enjoyed the beautiful grounds with the gorgeous stream running through the property. Room was pure country, wooden floors, comfy large bed and #16 has a private patio which was perfect to chill out and read in the sunshine.
Breakfast was at small tables in Reception area and good selection of Organic cereals, breads, fruit etc. Wish we had stayed longer as Woodstock proved to be a delightful & friendly town with a great atmosphere and wonderful little shops to explore.

Room Tip: Number 16 has a large private balcony, but 16 & 17 have the laundry between them. Some noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auscanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
It's always nice when guests enjoy the Inn as much as the town. There are always many things to do all year long in the region, so hope you'll be back and continue your exploration of Woodstock, as well as our many room options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

we spent four nights at this lovely, quiet inn. the setting is perfect and the room - it's small! - was just right. loved the long porch with chairs and the various areas on the grounds where we could sit and read, have coffee, relax. well-situated to the main part of town, very walkable. we were there in september on the cusp of the season change, so there wasn't much color yet, but a few weeks later and I bet it's spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslieATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
It's true the leaves are amazingly brilliant this year. And our porches are offering guests a comfortable leaf-peeping spot right now, but consider coming back at other times of the year to see the snow fall or the flowers bloom. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late September and loved it. So peaceful and quaint. We had one of the smaller rooms and it was perfect for us. We aren't ones to sit around our room so the size served it's purpose. Very clean and updated rooms. The grounds were very well kept and the stream was so relaxing. We actually came back from town earlier then we planned and sat down by the stream, popped the cork off a bottle of wine and just enjoyed the quiet. I could of slept right there. Wish we could of stayed longer. We will be back. Very nice self serve breakfast also. For early risers with coffee habits walk to town, turn right and a nice little bakery/coffee house. Less then a 10 minute walk. Good for the soul and gets the blood moving!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pee in the woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Glad our peaceful grounds, comfortable rooms and close-to-town location proved a great combination for your vacation. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I took my wife here for a quite anniversary getaway and it was wonderful. The room was clean and cozy and the staff was very friendly. The stream-side setting was beautiful and it was an easy walk up the road to the middle of Woodstock. The only con was that the room was smaller than expected, but this wasn't a big issue as it was just the two of us. Overall, this was a great place to stay and I'd come back again for a longer trip in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Marking special occasions with a getaway makes it so memorable. Glad we could be part of your event – and here’s to many more happy anniversary celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I wanted a place in walking distance of the shops, reasonably priced that included breakfast. I got it all with The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream. Beautiful atmosphere and plenty of places to sip morning coffee and relax on the property. I will definately be back!

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms to suit each individual's needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Look forward to having you return - and yes, morning coffee by the stream really is relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.4 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
9.0 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
10.4 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream

Property: The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Address: 48 Tannery Brook Rd, Woodstock, NY 12498-1522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the natural beauty of our Woodstock NY bed and breakfast located in the peaceful Hudson Valley. Enjoy the warmth of a bed and breakfast with the amenities of a boutique hotel. Our stream side setting - complete with bluestone patios, hammocks and fully landscaped gardens - is the perfect place to just unwind or relax after an active day touring Woodstock or the Catskills. We are a chic sanctuary, walkable to all attractions in the heart of Woodstock's village, including galleries, museums, shops and restaurants. We have 18 private rooms and studios with complimentary gourmet continental breakfast and Wi-Fi. We also have two stand-alone cottages available. Our rates starting at $169 offer something for everyone, while our innkeeper's care, knowledge and attention to detail ensure you will have a fully authentic Woodstock experience when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Woodstock Inn On The Millstream Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing