We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay, as always!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have stayed at the Inn on the Millstream several times and always enjoy the stay. The standard rooms are cozy with simple furnishings, but comfortable. Some of the larger rooms have fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, and patios. All the rooms are clean and quiet.
The inn is located right on the water with a great view and a chance to swim. The yard is a great place to sit and have breakfast, drink tea, and relax. The whole atmosphere is serene and peaceful.
Breakfast is cold food, but delicious and a good assortment of bagels with toppings and local spreads, fruits, and cereals. There are often other breads and pastries as well as boiled eggs and yogurt too.
The innkeeper is a delightful and ever-charming person, always ready to go out of her way to assist guests. It is easy to see that she cares about the comfort of her guests and is proud of the inn.
Walking to downtown Woodstock where there are many shops filled with interesting things and a colorful assortment of people is a simple and easy walk. There are good hikes in the area as well, though they are driving distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 516 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

This B&B is in a great location for walking into town, you are just a few blocks from Woodstock shopping and restaurants. The setting is bucolic and quite pleasant and is also located so you can take advantage of some early morning walks without too much traffic. Parking is right outside the rooms.

We stayed in late July and found the Inn to be booked solid. Since the Inn was full, it made for some cramped quarters in the breakfast area. You could choose to take your breakfast from the continental buffet outside. Also, our room had a little patio outside our back door with seating. The continental buffet was not as fancy as some B&B's, but the food was of high quality and fresh. Assorted bagels and toppings, cereals, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, coffee, juice, fruit, assorted breads and coffee cake were usually available. There were toasters available as well.

Our room was equipped with a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. Our bathroom was not too small as one other viewer mentioned. I know the bathrooms are different in each unit. Our friends stayed in a unit with a Jacuzzi tub. Our bathroom was certainly large enough. We did have a very noisy air conditioning unit, which we turned off sometimes because of the noise, it worked well though. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Closet space was adequate. The staff was more than helpful in giving out local information. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a choice of rooms in the summer, book EARLY.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This lovingly tended place is a gem. Quaint and nostalgic but not rustic. I sleep so much better here than I do in New York City. I just love it so much. Karen, the innkeeper, is the best.
It's getting harder and harder to get a room here unless you book months in advance. So if you think it might not be your cup of tea, that's fine--more room for me!

Room Tip: Among rooms 1-9 (the regular rooms), the rooms with the higher numbers are farther from the road. Th...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryC-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

A lovely rustic setting to use as your anchor from which to exploe the town of Woodstock and the surrounding area. Love the bubbling stream and the flower-filled grounds. Nice simple breakfast as well.

Room Tip: Take one of the larger rooms if available.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toots174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I decided on a short trip to get out of the city over the past Fourth of July weekend. We rented the cottage which is actually a small stand alone unit adjacent to the main grounds.

It. Was. Perfect.

It was quiet, private and really well appointed. A super nice bathroom and small but complete kitchen (which we stocked with food and beers!). Decks and patios galore that we had all to ourselves. I do think it was a tad pricey since we ended up spending the better part of $1k on a two night stay with taxes all in. BUT it was a holiday and they were kind enough to check us in early since the cottage had not been rented the night before.

Checking in and checking out was painless. Breakfast and coffee in the mornings were a nice touch. They even provided some beach towels for use at the swimming hole on the Millstream. The grounds of the main lodging and at our cottage were very well maintained.

If we were forced to return to Woodstock.. like at gunpoint or something... we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joshua_nolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband found the Inn before we left on our trip from Florida and we just drove by late one day to see what it looked like and we didn't check out for 3 days! :) The grounds are beautifully decorated with plants and I took a lot of pictures of them. If you are looking to relax on a blanket by the tranquil creek and picnic, take some wine and crackers..it's awesome. Karen, the Inn's keeper was a wonderful person to meet and was very accomodating. The rooms were nice (some small), we stayed in 3 different sizes! The prices for the rooms were average. We enjoyed the bigger room. We enjoyed the breakfast that was served at 9:00am (little late but that's ok, I slept in), theres something offered for everyone! We met so many nice people while eating breakfast! Easy to walk all over town, shopping, restaurants, etc..also close to other points of interest, such as (Bethel, NY - Woodstock Festival).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a great place, the rates are reasonable given the local, nice grouns, by the river and a short walk from Tinker St. Karen, the innkeeper could not have been more helpful. This place is a 'must stay'

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yermanonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thanks so much for your review! We appreciate all the feedback we get and want to acknowledge those of you who take the time to do it.

Karen Pignataro, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.4 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
54 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
890 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
505 reviews
9.0 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
168 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream

Address: 48 Tannery Brook Rd, Woodstock, NY 12498-1522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: $185 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the natural beauty of our Woodstock NY bed and breakfast located in the peaceful Hudson Valley. Enjoy the warmth of a bed and breakfast with the amenities of a boutique hotel. Our stream side setting - complete with bluestone patios, hammocks and fully landscaped gardens - is the perfect place to just unwind or relax after an active day touring Woodstock or the Catskills. We are a chic sanctuary, walkable to all attractions in the heart of Woodstock's village, including galleries, museums, shops and restaurants. We have 18 private rooms and studios with complimentary gourmet continental breakfast and Wi-Fi. We also have two stand-alone cottages available. Our rates starting at $169 offer something for everyone, while our innkeeper's care, knowledge and attention to detail ensure you will have a fully authentic Woodstock experience when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Woodstock Inn On The Millstream Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing