We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A perfect place"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodstock Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodstock Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A perfect place"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We thought it would just be a place to drop our bags close to town.Much to our surprise, we preferred to laze by the pool in the most picturesque setting.This place is a gem! Our room was very comfortable, the bathroom and shower roomy and very clean and the bed was absolutely divine! I mean divine!!!! At night we opened the windows and doors for the cool night breezes.The owner Carol was entertaining, cheerful and a wonderful hostess. The house was filled with art, history and a relaxed atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this place and I will definitely return. The fall would be like stepping into a painting. And if you are a painter like I am...it will be heaven on earth!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
82
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torrance
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The inn is located a few miles from Woodstock village center. We had a private suite of rooms with picture window views of the surrounding grounds and forest. The residence itself is secluded from the main road and nearby dwellings, further adding to the sense of privacy. Our suite had abundant natural lighting which greeted us warmly in the morning because there was no need to bother drawing most of the curtains at night. It helped immerse us into the Catskills environment.

Carol, the innkeeper, is very knowledgeable about Woodstock and nearby communities. She had many helpful suggestions for us, and was very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zafss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I live in Brooklyn, NY and we were desperately in need of a weekend away. A good friend recommended the Woodstock Country Inn, after really enjoying her stay there. And how lucky we were to hear about it. The house is an absolute dream. Isolated, and surrounded by nature, tall trees and mountains, it provides all the peace and beauty one needs for a relaxing stay. The rooms are warm and cozy and so beautifully decorated; every little corner is a treat for the eyes. Wonderful light and ambience throughout and a nice fireplace at the common living room. Also very clean and well-kept.

Carol is the loveliest host you'll ever encounter. Incredibly warm and caring to her guests, she made us the most delicious breakfast, gave us recommendations, and shared lots of great stories and laughs with us. She is a joy to be around and it is clear that the house gets all it's character and warmth from her.

If you're looking for a beautiful escape from NYC, this is the perfect place. We truly cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

President's weekend - My wife and I drove up to Woodstock from Manhattan for the day but halfway through our visit we decided to stay the night. Someone we met in town recommended this place to us and gave us Carol's # and address. Finding Carol and her beautiful B&B can only be described as fate. We can honestly say, there is no other place we would stay when we come back up to WS. Our immediate space consists of a beautiful bedroom with vaulted ceilings, closet, bathroom, den/kitchenette and common living room with fireplace. It is by far, one of the cleanest, most well kept places place we have ever stayed. We will be back.

On a side note, the WiFi worked great, the LCD reception was great, we did not hear one single car, the grounds are amazing. Easily 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superdynamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very Nice B & B,tucked away in the Catskills. We Had A Very scenic mountain view from our porch-Small,warm and cozy home---Carol was a most gracious host--We Thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance and friendly hospitality-Would recommend,if you want quiet and peace.Hey,David Bowie Stays Here-That must mean something!! Good Karma??

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent Columbus Day WE in Caroll's B&B.
Great location : quiet and cozy
Caroll is a very pleasant host
Don't expect however always hot water and luxury but just a few days in a very pleasant location !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, Owner at Woodstock Country Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I feel very grateful that this guest gave me such a kind review, even though he mentioned not having enough hot water. This would seem a very good reason to think my inn is expensive! I am so very grateful to discover through his review the problem with hot water, since his kindness and good manners prevented him from telling me while he was here. I have fixed the problem with the heating element for this particular room. I hope he gets to read this response, because I would like to thank him so very much. This is such an important matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had an absolutely lovely time at this BnB over the past weekend. Carol and company were very accommodating and welcoming to us as we were in town for my girlfriend's family reunion. The bedroom was quite charming in its minimalistic yet very functional design. Shabby-chic would best describe our bedroom. If you're looking for modern conveniences, look elsewhere! This bed-and-breakfast is for those of us who want to "get away from it all" and it provides just that, a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of urban living.

There are plenty of shops available to peruse in nearby Woodstock, NY and is still a throwback to the days when the year 1969 made its mark on this community.

As stated in some of the other reviews on here, Carol provided us a lovely breakfast in which to start our day. Yummy items from homemade muffins, scrambled eggs to breakfast burritos with homemade FRESH salsa! Excellent fare!!

To quote an old Dunkin Donuts ad slogan... "It's Worth The Trip!"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
3.8 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
11.3 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.5 mi away
Twin Gables of Woodstock
Twin Gables of Woodstock
#5 of 8 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.2 mi away
Morning Glory B&B Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Country Inn

Property: Woodstock Country Inn
Address: 185 Cooper Lake Road, Woodstock, NY 12498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed elegance in an idyllic, peaceful natural country setting. Absolute quiet on nine acres surrounded by mountain views. 4 Rooms with private baths, private decks, cable tv, a/c. Wi-fi. Heated saline pool in wildflower meadow. Delicious organic breakfasts. Recommended by NY Times, Fodors, Weekends Away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodstock Country Hotel Woodstock
Country Inn Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing