We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of DeForest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeForest House
Ranked #1 of 8 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent one night at DeForest House while visiting Bethel Woods and Woodstock. We were warmly welcomed by John & Catherine. The Moroccan Room was beautiful and romantic. Having the terrace made it extra special. We got beautiful pictures of the woods from the terrace. Catherine's breakfast was incredible! Fresh fruit, yogurt, scrambled eggs, croissants, challah toast, fresh orange juice and mimosas! We loved hearing John tell the story of how they ended up in Woodstock permanently and he is extremely knowledgeable on the area and the history of the town. We enjoyed our stay and shall we return to Woodstock will stay with John and Catherine again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saleswizard-musicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 127 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

I usually don't write reviews, but I had to make the exception to stay how much we enjoyed our stay at the DeForest House in Woodstock. Katherine and John were the perfect hosts and it was clear that they truly enjoy haivng the opportunity to share their beautiful home and beloved Woodstock. The home was perfectly located right outside of town so you felt that you were out in the woods, yet in walking distance to town. The breakfast was wonderful and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Thank you to our gracious hosts, Catherine and John. It was a pleasure to stay in their beautiful and immaculate home. We stayed in the Morroccan room, and it was beautifully furnished, very clean and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was fabulous too. Madeline N.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I had one lovely night here in August. It sounds trite to say that our B&B hosts were great and made us feel like we were family or old friends staying in their house, but that's exactly how it felt. We're pretty private people and tend to choose hotels for that reason, but we had long, fascinating conversions with Catherine and John and just loved them. The house is very very interesting--Catherine stages houses for sale and has a very cool design sense--the grounds are pretty and quiet (w/ a great pool), and the breakfast was sumptuous and amazing, but most of all I was impressed with the hosts. I felt like I could learn a lot from them just by visiting this place again. Pick a topic, any topic (art, language, travel, politics, history)! We followed their advice and toured the Tibetan monastery up on the hill, which was great, and their restaurant recommendations were spot on as well.

Room Tip: The Moroccan Room was delightful and had its own terrace. The bathroom was neat: all red with a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemtwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I spent our first anniversary by heading upstate to Woodstock and staying at the DeForest House B&B for Labor Day weekend. We stayed in the Moroccan Room, which had a mildly funky vibe and access to a personal roof deck. The couple who ran the B&B were very friendly and talkative and knew quite a bit about the area. They gave us great restaurant recommendations. They prepared a hearty breakfast each morning, with great bread from a local bakery, and we shared a glass of wine each evening with the proprietors. A lot of the B&Bs in this area are of the frilly, lace-y, flowerly sort and we were looking for something a bit different. DeForest House is a great choice if you are looking for something a little more modern in style and enjoy conversing with the owners.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent two beautifully relaxing nights at the DeForest House in August. So glad we found this lovely place!

The location is perfect. Close enough to downtown Woodstock to walk to restaurants and stores, but far enough from the action to feel like a true retreat. The house is beautifully situated and decorated with lots of nice lounging space. We had Catherine's generous breakfast outside in two different spots, enjoying the fresh air and the beautiful flowers and trees. We did not use the pool while we were there, but it looked inviting.

We stayed in the Moroccan Room, which could not have been better. Comfy bed, huge walk-in closet, nice bathroom/shower, beautiful bright colors, and a great deck overlooking the forest...

Catherine and John are wonderful hosts. We were greeted with a glass a wine and great tips for eating, hiking, and exploring the area. They also shared some really nice history and art books about the region with us, which we studied in the comfy living room. We had a nice time swapping travel stories and hearing about how Catherine and John ended up in Woodstock. Also immediately made friends with the two adorable cats and Lola the dog.

Woodstock itself is a cute town with plenty of little stores and restaurants. Aside from good food, window shopping, and fresh air, we enjoyed great hiking in the Catskills (Panther Mountain) and a nice stroll along the Hudson River near Saugerties (Falling Waters Preserve).

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: This is a small inn with only two rooms. Both are on the second floor above the main living area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We found this B&B by chance and boy were we pleased. The home is just beautiful, filled with carefully selected little antique pieces and curios. You can expect to completely unwind, come away feeling like you met interesting people and lived in a little luxury. Here are some reasons why i am raving about Deforest:
1. The host are smart, well traveled and worldly. You can expect to be engaged (watch the clock, the next thing you know you've been chatting for an hour and no idea how time flew by)
2. Catheriene has impeccable taste. The white bedroom as very well decorated, with ample light flowing in. The bathroom was stocked with l'occitane products
3. The pool is a good addition, great shade and nice to hang out at night. No curfews here.
4. Close to town, hiking trail, Bridcliff yet far enough to hear the sound of the woods and spot deers by the dozen.
Enough said... must stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavanyadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.9 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
3.3 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#3 of 3 in Woodstock
54 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
298 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeForest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeForest House

Address: 2218 Glasco Tpke, Woodstock, NY 12498-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeForest House is a 1920's Byrdcliffe style private residence located on five wooded acres with in-ground pool within walking distance of Woodstock's Town Center. Your front bedroom -the Victorian Room- with private bath overlooks the woods where deer and turkey come to feed, and the rear bedroom -the Moroccan Room - with private bath has its own terrace overlooking the woods. There are lounge areas at the pool and two outside patios, or if you prefer a large living room with fireplace. The library area features lots of books on local attractions and the history of the Hudson Valley. Wifi and cable TV are available in the bedrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing