We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property Along Busy Queens Boulevard”
Review of Woodside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodside Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woodside
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Property along busy Queens Boulevard, with plenty of restaurants in the area; 10 minutes from LGA, 20 minutes from JFK, 20 minutes from Midtown Manhattan (city bus stop, just outside); with cable TV on a 40" wide screen (w/ remote); luxury bath soaps; ice machine, snack vending machine. Good for couples, solo, friends, business travelers. Easy check-in. Friendly front desk. Towels could have been cleaner (bring your own, if a problem.)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dlp434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked about Howard Johnson.
We got a confirmation but this confirmation never reached the "Hotel"
The rooms are dirty, Its only a hotel for special hours. We leaved the hotel ten minutes later aftetr we arrived it. Maybe it was a hotel some months ago but now it is nothing.

Room Tip: never take this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KnoxW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Reserved room 4 mos ago under Howard Johnsons Express Inn. Should've been cued when the taxi driver didn't know where it was. All the ammenities promised were NOT there. The room was dirty, "guests" were reserving rooms "by the hour" and XXX rated movies were on the tv. The pic is NOTHING like it looks. Booked through HOTELS.COM who summed it up with "Too bad we got your money now we're not going to do anything about it". I was never informed by HOTELS.COM that the property had been sold and offered another stay somewhere else. I paid for one thing and was given another. DO NOT STAY HERE and for GODS SAKE DO NOT BOOK THROUGH HOTELS.COM. They are untrustworthy and should be banned from booking hotel rooms!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and stay somewhere else! DO NOT BOOK through HOTELS.COM!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went to this hotel during my vacation to New York, it's an average hotel I should say.. the rooms were very small , beds were ok, the bathroom had poor water and when you turned on the heater, the room smelt really bad (sweat). This hotel is good for someone who likes economical type of hotel and it's cheap! I ordered this on HOJO.com, they offer high speed free internet which is nice! TV was bad, the graphics are not good, not much selection of channels. They provided a safety box, but you had to slide your credit card.. but it didnt work..The provided breakfast too, but, it's only coffee, juice, and choice of muffin. It's really close to Queens blvd so a lot of cars pass by and its really noisy at night.But one thing I liked was transportation to times square was easy, walk few blocks and you get on Woodside station.The service was friendly and when we had questions, they always answered us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kychin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Worst hotel ever I have stayed so far. This is the the 3rd time I am submitting my review as TripAdvisor refused to publish previous 2 calling them too harsh!!! But I shld have the liberty to express my feeling at my own free will ........... when I give rating 5 to a property, they dont have any problem but why now??? I guess people have the right to know the actual scenario before they book a hotel and later regret!!! No hygiene whatsoever..............you can have plenty of human hairs everywhere.........bedcovers, towels, bathrooms and where not? I wish there were any negative rating, even 1 star is too much for this property. And yes, going with family would be the worst mistake!!! Its like I have already visited Hell before I died.............paid for 7 nights but got out of there in 2 nights and I am thankful I did that!!! Never Again...................NEVER!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCOTIA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank EdnaN1231
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

During my winter vacation, I went to New York and I decided to choose this hotel due to the fact it wasn't too pricey, but unfortunately I was disappointed.
First of all, I found that the spacing was small, whenever I woke up during the night, I would always hit something (table,chair,etc). I wished that it would be more big.
Second, the shower was horrible and the washroom was small and was a bit dirty.
Third, i didn't feel secured at all in this hotel, each time I had to leave the hotel for breakfast or to take a walk, I would have to lock everything up... They provided a safety box ,on the contrary, it was full of dirt and it couldn't open at all.
Fourth, the breakfast was free,unfortunately, it was horrible, it only gave you choice of cereals, of coffee and some horrible muffins...
Fifth, I didn't really like the location,because it was close to the highway and a lot of car passed by and was noisy...
Sixth, the TV channel provided by this hotel wasn't too good, it was a poor variety of channels , I think we only had like 5-10 channels.
Seventh, the only thing I like was the Wi Fi provided by the hotel, they didn't charge us and it was a high-speed internet.
Eighth, the service was friendly and treated us well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodside
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#34 of 34 in Long Island City
865 reviews
1.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 34 in Long Island City
1,150 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#7 of 34 in Long Island City
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#32 of 34 in Long Island City
1,043 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Woodside
Quality Inn Woodside
#1 of 3 in Woodside
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Motel

Address: 6509 Queens Blvd, Woodside, NY 11377-5753 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Queens)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Woodside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woodside
Price Range: $80 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Woodside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Queens Hotel Woodside
Howard Johnson Hotel Woodside
Howard Johnson Woodside
Woodside Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing