We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel for NY City-trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Woodside
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodside
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Visited this hotel in November for NYC city-trip, travelling from Europe.

This hotel offers good value for money when visiting New York. Main advantages of this hotel are the location and its price. The hotel is located close to a 7-line subway stop (5 minutes walk). In about 15-20 minutes the 7-line takes you to Times Square. I didn't feel unsafe in the neighbourhood and there is a pharmacy and restaurants nearby.

The room was very basic but clean. No nasty smells. Request a quiet room upon check-in because the vending machines cause some noise during the night when being used. The free Wifi comes in handy for making reservations for restaurants/comedy clubs and ofcoarse for the online check-in for the flight back.

Same for the breakfast, don't expect much but at least you can have some quick donuts and cereals and then you are good to go to visit Manhattan.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room (not close to the vending machines and not in the basement).
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoolWater82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn Woodside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 389 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

Do not expect a great accommodation, the bedrooms are rather small, and out dated but clean.
We had bad luck because our room was located right next to the vending machine, and apparently people have the need for candy at any possible time during the night!! For a person sensitive to noise ( like me) this might be a big problem!)
The price of the room ( 1 bed -2 persons ) was fair, considering we booked very last minute, and breakfast was included..
Do not expect anything great for breakfast either, cereal, milk, tea, something that is supposed to be scramble eggs and donuts will be your everyday menu.
But at least you have free wi-fi in all rooms, and the staff will be kind enough to order you a taxi or hold your luggage for the day if you need it. Oh and the hotel is about 45min to 1hr away from JFK Airport, a cab will charge you around 40 dollars to take you there.
The hotel is about 5 to 10 minutes away from the subway station, and in a normal day the line 7 will take you to Times Square in 15 min; for us it was not the case since they were working on the line and the subway was not driving as usual. So we had to take 2 , sometimes 3 different lines to get to Manhattan and back to Queens. By the way , the best option to pay for the subway is to buy a one week card which will allow you to travel as many times as you want for 7 days for 35 dollars.
I didn’t feel unsafe at any moment when traveling in the subway ( although it can get really crowded at rush hour! ) also the walk back to the hotel was ok, and there is a bank, a pharmacy and a Starbucks nearby , well probably like in every other corner in NYC!
In general , I would recommend this hotel to those who are not able or willing to pay 300 dollars per night for a Hotel in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the lift and the vending machine if you want to catch any sleep!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrix82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

After having read some of the negative reviews on TripAdvisor, I was a little worried about what to expect upon arrival at the Quality Inn Woodside. However, since we (my husband & I) were only using the hotel as a base to visit Manhattan, we went ahead with the booking. Here are the key points from our 4 night stay:

Room: We were on the 5th floor overlooking Queens Blvd (and the cemetery across the road, lol). Room was clean, carpets slightly worn. Vending machine with sodas and water was right beside our room, which was convenient. The room was cleaned every day, and there were always fresh linens and toiletries. Refrigerator was not cold, as some other reviewers pointed out, but we never used it so it wasn’t an issue. The complimentary wifi in the room was definitely a bonus.

Location: The hotel is less than 2 blocks away from the 52nd St subway stop (7 line), 20 mins into Times Square, very very convenient. If you’re looking for an affordable alternative to hotels in Manhattan, and plan on mainly taking the subway, then this hotel should be on your list of considerations.

Food: We didn’t eat breakfast at the hotel, so I can’t comment on this. There were way too many options in NYC to eat at the hotel! One tip though, if it’s late at night, you can order from Pete’s Grill (free and quick delivery, very good food and decent prices). You can get a menu from the Front Desk. There are also some great restaurants in the Woodside area, SriPraPhai Thai restaurant (spicy!), and Donovan’s Pub for great old-fashioned burgers.

Staff: The front desk staff was very helpful and pleasant. They provided subway maps and general information, and check in and checkout were super easy.

General: There's only one elevator, so it may be slow at times. Also, the hotel will provide a cab to JFK at a flat fare of $40. If you don't want to use the hotel cab, you'll have to call one yourself or hail one on the street.

Overall, we had a very good experience at the Quality Inn Woodside and would stay here again if we were staying outside of Manhattan

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monsiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Excepting from the space for breakfast that was very small, everything else was very good, specially the pillows and matress

Room Tip: If you stay in first floor, you can pick up your breakfast and take it to your room.Good option for...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumbertoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

On Saturday, of our 6 day stay, we waited 5 minutes for the only elevator at the Quality Inn, 5305 Queens Blvd, Woodside. When the elevator finally arrived it was Housekeeping had used all of the space with their cart and two huge trash bins. There was no space left for any passengers. I left a complaint with the desk but got no response.

Sunday Night, I noticed the drinking glasses had been returned to us dirty. There were fingerprints on the inside of the glass and other encrusted material. I complained to the desk and called the 800 number for Choice Hotels. They said customer service was not avaialble, could not be sent an e-mail to call me back Monday, and could not be called from my room phoone free of hotel charges.

Monday Morning, I called the Customer Service Line and waited 15 minutes on hold. I asked for a supervisor and got Deb. I pointed out that during the wait there is no indication of where you are in the queue, how long you might have to wait, nor even an apology for being forced to wait. The I also told her about the dirty glasses, the hogging of the hotel elevator by Housekeeping, and my suspicion of bedbugs in my bed. She promised a call back on Tuesday between 8:00 AM and 9:30 AM either by the Hotel Manager or by the people from Customer Service and said she would e-mail the hotel manager. I received no such call and the desk said the Hotel Manager was out. They also said he had waited for me until 6 PM the previous night even though I told Deb I would not be in.

Room Tip: Just Don't go to this hotel or any hotels in this chain. Complaints are ignored.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed here from 10/21 - 10/24 for three nights. After i checked in and went to my room, I noticed that my refrigerator was not cold, despite my adjusting the regulator. I told the front desk and was told that someone would look at it. When I returned later that night, it still wasn't cold. This progressed all through the weekend, my having received promises but nothing being done. Finally the person at the desk offered me the use of the breakfast room refrigerator. See other review reporting the same prople.

i don't understand the complaints about breakfast. Yes, the area is small...so take the food to your room! They had eggs and sausage, donuts, bagels, cereal, coffee and juice.

The people at the front counter were friendly and helpful (aside from the refrigerator fiasco). There are many South American restaurants on Roosevelt Avenue, a few blocks away. There is a liquor store one block away on the corner. The number 7 subway is also a block away. The area around the hotel is residential and appears safe.

i suggest a short ride (4 stops) to 82nd Street station on the #7 train (Jackson Heights), where there is an incredible offering of shopping and restaurants. Make sure you dine at both Jahn's (a classic) at 37 Ave. and 82nd Street, and the Jacksin House (37th Ave.and 81st Street). Both have an array of nighly specials including dessert and beverage.

All in all, a clean, comfortable and pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 115...spacious, on first floor, 2 minutes from front desk...and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacherjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We spent three nights at this hotel in October, 2011. It is a clean hotel with easy access to the trains to the city. The rooms are small, but clean and well-kept. The breakfast was basic, but was ok. Staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions about near-by restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenslater10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodside
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#15 of 33 in Long Island City
440 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#30 of 33 in Long Island City
839 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
#22 of 33 in Long Island City
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
754 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 33 in Long Island City
1,821 reviews
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 33 in Long Island City
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Woodside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Woodside

Address: 5305 Queens Blvd, Woodside, NY 11377-4641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Woodside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodside
Price Range: $852 - $897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Woodside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Woodside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Woodside Hotel Woodside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing