We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a short stay, strange service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Woodbury Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woodbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Based on other reviews here, we selected this hotel for a short stay for business meetings nearby.

The hotel makes an OK impression; it is older, but well kept up. The rooms certainly are clean. The breakfast features waffles, various juices, yogurt, cereals, etc. Quite good for a few days.

Two things stick out, however, that make it less than ideal.

For one, the bed sheets could not be made of poorer material. Who still uses 200 thread count rough poly/cotton material? Horrible and uncomfortable. Also, the pillows were all thick and unwieldy. Why not have a few thinner or more moldable pillows available?

The other issue I had was the way the front desk handled our payment. Without getting into details, they charged my credit card when I specifically said I would use another form of payment, and in the end, they charged me about $50 less than would have been due for the two rooms, stating that it was OK and we shouldn't worry about it. What a strange way of doing accounting. I'm not convinced the auditor will be happy about this.

The price seemed a bit high, even with AAA discount, but this is likely driven by the location the hotel is in more than anything else.

Anyway, yes, for a shorter stay in the area, and if you're less picky than me, you'll find this to be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank okazon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

The Best Western at Woodbury was a great hotel! I enjoyed my stay very much. The staff was very kind and caring especially during the night shift. They were very helpful during my stay. The room was extremely clean, with a flat screen television..The complimentary breakfast is great and i love the juice machine..the pool was very inviting and refreshing..
At night the woman behind the counter was very helpful with choosing a great sushi resturant to eat at..she knows her sushi!!!
I would recommend the Best Western Woodbury Inn to everyone. This hotel is great and I was very comfortable! Thanks Best Western,Ill be back very soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodburyGM, General Manager at Best Western Woodbury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Dear Kyle S,

I have shared your comments with the staff and they were happy to know that they made your stay a success. Housekeeping works hard to provide a very clean, comfortable, guestroom and they appreciated your feedback. We put forth great effort in making our pool and sundeck an welcoming escape after a long day. Thank you also for the breakfast compliments.

We hope you will be back soon!

Sincerely,

Marc Soblick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

hello -

just wanted to send out to whoever reads these that i had a wonderful time when i stayed at your hotel. the girl at the front desk with the blonde hair was very accommodating and courteous. any staff member i ran into treated me as if i were royalty. the complimentary breakfast was perfect and so convenient for my husband and i. The rooms were so much more than i expected. everything was clean, and thumbs up for the TV!!


thanks for the great time.
i'll be sure to recommend this this hotel to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echecc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodburyGM, General Manager at Best Western Woodbury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Dear Echecc16,

Thank you for the excellent review. We have no problem hearing compliments, praise, applause, etc. We are happy that you enjoyed our deluxe breakfast and even happier that we were able to provide the assistance that you needed.

Best Regards,

Marc Soblick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had a wedding in the area so chose to stay at the best western. The location was close to the venue and it was priced great. The room was clean and comfortable. Not being from the area we got lost finding the hotel but when we called the desk manager was able to direct us to the hotel. Then once we were there we releaized we had forgot to pack everything we needed and the person at the desk was able to help us find the right stores as well as a good place to get some quick food. It was great having people so helpful. We definitely plan to stay there again for the next cousins wedding!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodburyGM, General Manager at Best Western Woodbury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Dear Scott G

We appreciate the all of the great feedback! I am always happy to hear when our guests have great experiences. We are centrally located within a 1 mile radius to all of the Woodbury Catering halls such as Crest Hollow Country Club, Woodbury Country Club, The Woodlands, Oheka Castle, The Fox Hollow, and the North Ritz Country Club. We pride ourselves on our secluded lodge feel in the heart of Nassau County and the fact that we provide Comfortable, Clean, and friendly location at an affordable rate.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Woodbury

Marc Soblick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My family needed to be in Bayville, NY last month for a funeral. Bayville, while lovely, is not a hot spot for hotels, so we looked in the vicinity. While some of the family stayed at other hotels my brother & I chose the Best Western Woodbury Inn, mainly because of it's proximity and the fact that they had free wifi. Unfortunately the hotel was sold out one of the nights we wanted to stay, so after 1 night at the BW we went to another hotel for what we expected to be the rest of our trip. After 1 night in that other hotel we went right back to the Best Western. The 2 did not compare. The entire staff at the Best Western was so helpful and pleasant. The rooms were VERY comfortable, quiet, nice quality beds & fluffy pillows, good use of space and very clean. We both appreciated the mini fridge, as we were running around a lot with family stuff & late night snacks were a must. There was ample parking and a very inviting pool. Unfortunately we never got to try the breakfast, but the little business center desk in the lobby was great for printing out our boarding passes the night before we were to fly home, and the woman at the front desk was very helpful getting us online. We occupied a total of 4 rooms during our fractured stay, and I would be hard pressed to find anything wrong with any of them. It was not only close to family but close to shopping & restaurants as well. The diner across the street was a gift on one late night and another very early morning. How I miss NY diners, where you can get just about anything at any hour! If I get to travel to the area again, hopefully under happier circumstances, I will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brainofkjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodburyGM, General Manager at Best Western Woodbury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Dear brainofkjf,

We wanted to thank your for your excellent feedback. I have shared the comments with the team and we are all very happy that your stay was a success. We really take great pride in seeing that our guests are happy. Thanks again and see you soon!

Marc Soblick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I was visiting family way out east on the Island and decided to spring for a hotel rather than head back upstate. I wasn't expecting much out of my stay at the Best Western Woodbury Inn - just a bed and a shower - but I was completely blown away by this hotel! All of the staff were super accommodating and seemed genuinely excited to be there. My job has me in hotels pretty often so I've gotten pretty good at telling when people are faking and when they're sincere; the staff here were definitely the latter.

Anyway... I can't tell if they just did a renovation or if they take really excellent care of their facility. Either way, this place was absolutely spotless and in great condition. The flat-screen TV was a nice touch. I didn't have breakfast but the spread looked way decent. Maybe next time I'll skip the family visit altogether and just have a staycation here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruuuhhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodburyGM, General Manager at Best Western Woodbury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear Ruuuhhy,

We greatly appreciate your review of the Best Western Woodbury Inn. Our goal is to provide a superior stay at an affordable price and I am happy to hear that we are consistently achieving this result. We offer our Deluxe Breakfast 7 days a week which includes eggs, waffles, NY Bagels, yogurt muffins, cereals, fresh fruit, juices, oatmeal, danish, donuts, and other freshly baked items.

We hope we will see you again on your next trip to Long Island.

Marc Soblick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Best Western in Woodbury for 2 nights in July. We were extremely happy with the friendly staff, amenities, and responsible service provided for us during the weekend. The rooms were perfect - already extra pillows and extra towels - (huge with me), solid tv... soaps and shampoos, etc. At one point, my stomach issues created a sticky situation with our toilet, so we called the front desk. After heading out for a couple of hours, upon returning, we found a nice little card left for us, explaining that everything had been taken care of while we were away, and they even left these little chocolate pieces in the shape of hammers.... very cute.... the wifey loved that. Overall - excellent experience!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanillaschwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodburyGM, General Manager at Best Western Woodbury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear Vanillaschwartz,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Woodbury Inn. It is our goal to provide a comfortable stay, an "ultra clean" guestroom, and caring and compassionate service to exceed all of your needs. We hope you will be back again soon! Thank you for the kind words.

Sincerely,

Marc Soblick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbury
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Syosset by Choice Hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Woodbury Long Island
0.4 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
5.0 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Woodbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Woodbury Inn

Address: 7940 Jericho Tpke, Woodbury, NY 11797-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Woodbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woodbury
Price Range: $103 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Woodbury Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the BEST WESTERN Woodbury Inn. This Award-Winning hotel is ranked in the Top 20% of BEST WESTERN hotels in the United States based on Quality Assurance and is a recipient of the 2012 Trip advisor Award of Excellence!! One of North America's first "I Care Clean (SM)" hotels in the BEST WESTERN family, the Woodbury Inn offers a pristine, lodge-style experience in the heart of beautiful Long Island, NY.The hotel offers lunch and dinner which is made available through our delicious room service program. Sink into bed each night at this Long Island hotel and wake up to a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast offering HOT scrambled eggs with cheese, Belgian Waffles, freshly baked NY Bagels, yogurt muffins, bakery fresh Danish, Pastries, donuts and breads as well as cereals, oatmeal's, hot coffee, Tazo Teas, and an assortment of juices. Guests at the BEST WESTERN Woodbury Inn can unwind with an array of amenities including a beautiful outdoor pool and sundeck (seasonal) lined with lush gardens. The hotel offers a 24 hour business center, Fitness Center, and daily free shuttle service within five miles (based upon availability) to malls and restaurants as well as the Corp Offices of Geico, Cablevision, Arizona Iced Tea, Snapple, Southern Wine, Johnson Controls, Crossways Industrial Park and Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories.Hotel Guests delight in the fact that Nassau Coliseum, Jones Beach, Westbury Music Fair, Splish Splash Water park, the Gold Coast Mansions, Tanger Outlet Mall, Belmont Racetrack and the Long Island wineries are all near this Long Island hotel.The hotel is just footsteps to Catering Halls such as the Woodlands, Crest Hollow Country Club, Woodbury Country Club, the Fox Hollow, and Oheka Castle. This hotel is also the perfect place to stay while visiting students or faculty at CW Post University, Hofstra, Adelphi and SUNY Old Westbury. Make your reservation today and ensure a memorable experience with the BEST WESTERN Woodbury Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Woodbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Woodbury Hotel Woodbury
Woodbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing