We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed at the Fox Hollow for our son's wedding last weekend. All the staff we interacted with throughout the weekend were helpful and very accomodating! Frank the bellman was MOST helpful throughout the entire weekend.

Bed was very comfortable and the rooms were tastefully decorated. I felt the breakfast was good and offered a variety of items - both hot and cold! Outside terrace area was relaxing and offered a restful area in a quiet setting.

The wedding reception was next door and the location/abilty to walk home after the reception was an added bonus!

I would recommend this hotel and definilty stay here agian if I was in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romanwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,179 - 2,185 of 2,286 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in August 2011. At first, everything seemed wonderful; but as time went on, it went from bad to worse.
First,, let me say that on the surface, the hotel looks absolutely spectacular. The lobby is filled with freshly cut flowers and is quite impressive. I'm sure that most guests who stay here for one night as part of a wedding or party absolutely love the place. The rooms are nice enough and the free buffet breakfast is ample and enjoyable. But, if you give it some time, i.e., two days or more, this house of cards comes falling down.
The maid service is well below par; and many calls to the head housekeeper are needed to maintain an average level of service. The expectation that your room will be well cleaned and ready for you at the end of the day when returning from your excursions shouldn't be an exception, it should be the rule. After the fact calls to housekeeping, the front desk, the manager, shouldn't need to be made on a daily basis to provide minimal services, accommodations, and amenities.

Examples:
The bathtub is still dirty; the bathroom counters are still dirty.
I've asked for 4 extra towels daily; why do I have to call every day to get the 4 extra towels.
Why is the pool closed again today? Last night you told me it was too cold outside (we just returned from swimming in Long Island Sound; it is quite warm outside). We close it at management's discretion.
Why is the pool closed again today? No lifeguard today. Why not?
When will the pool re-open? I don't know. Why not?
I stayed here two years ago and the handrail on the steps leading into the pool was very loose. It's still loose. Why haven't you fixed it. It's fine. No it isn't.

These may seem like simple things, but when you are paying over $250 per night in this economy, you have certain expectations. They are certainly not being met. The hotel staff is generally uniformed and in many cases extremely rude. The management prides themselves in the fact that this is a boutique hotel; but there needs to be accountability to the guests even if there is no accountability to a national hotel chain where a corporate standard of operation is required.

And a special note to Suzanne Francica:
Whenever I had a question or concern during my stay, your name was never mentioned as a manager to contact. I suggest you leave the cyber world and take a look around the hotel.
I find your responses to negative reviews on this website rude and insulting; a quality I regretfully found time and again with the hotel staff during my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank exlongislandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Horrible from the beginning. We went for a wedding and they put us for a wedding block and reserved our room for another day! How do you mess that up?! Spoke to manager RAY RODRIGUEZ who was very rude and accusatory and blaming the mistake on us. When the bride showed up he was also arrogant towards her. His accomidation to us was to cancel our two person reservation and squeeze 4 people in a "suite" when we got up to the "suite" it was a regular one bedroom room,with a pullout couch. We had to call house keeping ourselves to get pillows for the couch. Then when we finally made it to the wedding, we informed the waitstaff that one of us had a very severe allergy to dairy products. When the food was finally served we reminded the waitstaff of the allergy and asked for their conformation that the food was free of dairy their reply was "most likely" until another waiter overheard and said that it did have dairy in it. We then had to wait 40 minutes for a new plate to come out. Overall a HORRIBLE stay, do not be fooled by its appearance on the outside.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and I visited for two nights while guests at a friend's wedding. We wanted for nothing! Breakfast was expansive and yummy, staff was warm and friendly, and the post-wedding party and food were fantastic. Wine was delish -- and rooms were stylish, clean, and well laid out. The fitness center had all the personal training bells and whistles you would ever need for a great workout (bands, steps, physio balls) -- in addition to a great variety of cardio equipment. Front desk was friendly. Who could ask for more? Definitely recommend and enjoyed. Slept like a baby in the wonderful bed, and I typically can't sleep the first night in a hotel. Book it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmcmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I was host of a large party and had a bridal suite after the party.
The suite and entire hotel was just beautiful.
The only part that was a disappointment was the breakfast.
Luke warm scramled eggs and pancakes that looked like they were from
the frozen food section at the supermarket. No omlette station nor any fresh
hot food as one would expect at a high end hotel, especially consider the property
also runs an expensive restaurant and catering hall. Otherwise would give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BL_LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfrancica, Manager at The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We certainly appreciate it. We are glad that you found our suites and overall atmosphere pleasing.

We are a bit surprised to see one describe our complimentary breakfast as mediocre. If one dines with us during the prescheduled time periods they typically rave about our variety and the quality of the food prepared and offered. Fresh omlettes are prepaared and offered and they can be ordered to one's specific liking through our staff or by speaking to the Chef direct.
At times guests do come down to the buffet area after the designated times and they are unfortunately left with the bare minimum. The Hotel obviously needs to have a cut-off time; however, it is often extended by 15 minutes or so to accommodate guests. Perhaps that was the case with you and your family?

We would like to assure you and others that our commitment to providing the very best complimentary meals available is strong. We do in fact use the best ingredients and the food preparation all takes place here at the Fox Hollow. We're hoping that one will take pictures of our extensive breakfast and dinner buffets and post them. In order for one to take full advantage of our complimentary meals, we encourage them to get to the buffet area during the designated meal times.

For those that are interested in seeing our breakfast menu please visit the hotel's website. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel offers beautiful suites! Very clean with great service but on the expensive side - we paid $370 for a night on a weekend. We stayed there one night with 2 children while on a wedding. It was a great experience. They offered free breakfast which was a plus...and pretty good for a hotel breakfast! Would definitely recommend this one!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AniaSzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfrancica, Manager at The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Thank you for your honest feedback and sharing your experience with us and other travelers. During our peak season (April - October) our rates do increase, specifically on weekends when the Hotel runs its highest occupancy levels. With that said one with a particular wedding block typically receives a special discounted rate. Perhaps the wedding party you were with did not reserve a block of suites? Being that the Hotel does offer all of its guests suites and the added amenities and services; the Hotel is typically higher priced than other nearby hotel properties. Just as you did, we believe most guests see and appreciate the added value the Inn has to offer.

The Hotel does offer a wide array of discounts and special promotions throughout the year. One may find them directly on the hotel's website. We encourage our guests to take advantage of them throughout the year.

We also encourage our guests to reserve their accommodations with us early as it helps ensure availability and of course lower rates.

Thank you again for your feedback. We'll always enjoy and take an "AMAZING" review such as yours. We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed at the Fox Hollow for 2 weeks this past July to visit my family, My wife, kids and I really enjoyed the stay. The rooms were very spacious and accomadating for a family of four. The kids also couldn't get enough of the outdoor pool. Also they have a resturant right next to the hotel which is obviously very convenient. I will definitely will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TD172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfrancica, Manager at The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We appreciate your honest feedback. We're certainly happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us during the summer. Please be sure to stay with us again when visiting Long Island. We have some great rates available during the fall and winter, including some fantastic holiday promotions.

We hope that you continue to spread the word about the Hotel and the Island overall. It's a great place to visit for many different occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbury
4.7 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
2.2 mi away
OHEKA CASTLE Hotel & Estate
0.4 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#1 of 4 in Garden City
632 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Roslyn Hotel
The Roslyn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roslyn
392 reviews
3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel

Address: 7755 Jericho Tpke, Woodbury, NY 11797-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Woodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodbury
Price Range: $192 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island's premier Boutique Hotel featuring 145 luxurious suites. Inn offers unparalleled comfort, superior amenities, complimentary services and dynamic hospitality. Complimentary hot & cold breakfast is included daily as well as complimentary dinner Monday-Thursday evenings.There is a full service Wine Bar & Lounge onsite plus a 5-Star restaurant on property.The Inn also offers complimentary wireless internet, fitness center & corporate shuttle service Monday-Friday within a 10 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Fox Hollow
Motel At Fox Hollow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing