We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choices, preparation and food quality”
Review of Volpe Ristorante

Volpe Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Volpe Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in Woodbury
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 135
Transit: Syosset Station on the LIRR.
Description: Volpe Restaurant & Lounge features Italian inspired cuisine with a twist! Elegant decor and award winning cuisine pair to make this one of the North Shore's finest restaurants. Weekly specials and Holiday events
Ghent, New York
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent choices, preparation and food quality”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Enjoyed an outstanding lunch - great array of options - all house made and delicious!
Difficult to choose from the selections - colleagues brought desserts home! Coffe was accompanied by a biscotti. Definitley not your every day lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Never gets the salmon right.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We've tried to like this place a few times but the cook (not chef) does not know what rare is. And for a place owned by the same people who own one or two other local stake places, they can't get the temperature correct for chicken or steak. Weird, like the Fox Hollow Inn, they just can't quite get it right.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RDo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lobster night every Wednesday!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wonderful elegant experience. I had a delicious 2 lb lobster! $42 included a soup and a salad. the room was nicely apointed with table cloths and flowers and everyone enjoyed the meal. They had a piano player as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank designit2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Noisier Than A Train Station”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

After working all day at a location next to the restaurant, we saw the "LobsterWednesday"special noted in the lobby of the hotel next door so we decided to treat ourselves. This was no treat. When we got there there were two rooms in the restaurant: one completely empty and the other completely full. We found out that the reason one was completely empty was because it contained an amplified piano player that was so loud you couldn't hear the conversation of the person sitting next to you. The room that was full wasn't any better as we got seated next to a table of six cackling hens.

The next disappointment was that they were all out of lobster by a little after 8PM so there went the whole concept of getting something special. We were starved by then so we ordered anyway and while the food was tasty, the whole experience was a real disappointment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great food and great jazz”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Contrary to what many might think, jazz night at a restaurant can also offer up an outstanding meal. You are definitely not sacrificing a great meal to hear some great jazz at the Fox Hollow. As a matter of fact, my double thick lamb chops were the best I've ever had, and I've had lamb chops at some of the world's finest restaurants. They we're cooked just right, juicy and bursting with flavor. My wife's veal in a light cream sauce, which she ordered from the fixed price menu, was also outstanding. And the service could not have been better. We arrived about an hour before the music began and stayed for almost two hours after. To say that the jazz was magnificent would be an understatement. A pianist, a bassist and a drummer were all masters at their instruments and were still plaing when we left. I should mention that the band allowed some budding young musicians and singers to entertain for a few numbers. All were good. We had an absolutely delightful evening. We used to go into Manhatten for our jazz fixes, but not any more. I highly recommend the Fox Hollow for a terrific Monday night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mayortony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volpe Ristorante also viewed

Syosset, Long Island
Huntington, Long Island
 

Been to Volpe Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing