We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for a good hike.”

Chimney Bluffs State Park
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Wolcott
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newmarket, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Place for a good hike.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I found this place while roaming around New York. It has a good hiking trail and some interesting scenery. And it's free! If you are a photographer, it would be best viewed later in the day. It's a good place if you live locally or are passing by. I wouldn't plan a trip just based on this place though. Don't be fooled by comparisons to Arizona. If you have actually been to Arizona and that area, you would quickly realize it's like comparing Venice to mini-Europe in Vegas. Overall though, I would recommend a visit if you like exploring local and interesting places.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BillMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    48
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Troy, MI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great side trip addition”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We took the kids (8 total, ages 6 - 18) to Seabreeze amusement park and then hit this on our way back. We parked at the parking lot at the NE corner, on Lake Ontario. Don't let the map fool you - the Bluffs Trail says stairs, but there is just a few of those followed by a steep climb up the hillside. Trails are single wide natural paths, some just inches from the side of the cliff. Some great photo opportunities and once you get to the top, it's a pretty low effort hike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AssociationDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Really neat to visit!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We found this state park while on a trip along the Seaway Trail. We first visited the actual park site and walked along the paved trail to the lake edge to view the Bluffs from a distance. We then traveled to the East Bay road to get to the beach access to the actual Bluffs. We had great fun walking beneath the Bluffs along the shoreline looking for neat rocks and other beach treasures. The formations of the Bluffs are really neat and a definite place to visit. Clean bathrooms on site at the actual park site along with great picnic tables.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineB6509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Qc
Level Contributor
366 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Nice free short hike along lake Ontario”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a great time at Chimney Bluff State Park.
The hike from the parking to the end of the trail and back will take you about 1 hour - 1 hour 15 min. From the parking, follow the path toward the lake and when you get to the lake, enter the wood at your right. The trail goes from wood to the cliff, back in the wood and back again to the cliff edge. The trail is relatively flat and easy, we did it wearing sandals.
All along the trail, it is great for photo opps of the the eroded cliffs.
We tought we had to pay a fee but actually didn't: no park ranger, no booth for self-payment.
Dogs are allowed on leash.
Finally, Chimney Bluff is a great park to spend a couple hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what a sight!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is quite a beautiful sight! More people need to explore what is in our own backyard! Nice quiet walk; it was over 90 degrees today but a great cool walk. Everyone we saw was very respectful and appreciative of what we were able to see. Even the bathroom was very clean- unexpected after other state parks. Great free thing to do with the family!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rochesterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimney Bluffs State Park also viewed

Sodus Point, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Chimney Bluffs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing