We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth the drive!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Compare - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Il Compare
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“worth the drive!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Upon entering the restaurant that was recommended by friends we were met by the owner Karen who was very polite and genuine in her enthusiam to see us even though it was the first time my wife & I ate there.
The service was very good and the food was plentiful and delicious!
Price wise is was very fair and because of the larger portion it was an excellent value!
We live 25 minutes away but will be back soon because it was a dinner to remember!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CHURCHGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just a really nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Love that they are so friendly and the food so good. I only like to sit in the main dining room as the bar room is sometimes crowded and chilly. A craffe of wine is so reasonable and is very good. It's not to fancy or to casual. You can also take tke in the half price hookup and save a bundle. Have never been dissapointed

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atravelagtfor25yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, and lots of it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

If I had to sum up this place in one word, it would be "cheesy." The chef's rule of thumb seems to be, "To spark up bland food, add more cheese." Add to this the atmosphere, also cheesy. Not interesting, quirky or fun, just cheesy.
Food was mediocre at best. If there's one thing more disheartening than bland food, it's a plate that's so full of it, you know you'll leave feeling either bloated or wasteful. You also know that if you bother to take a home the leftovers, you won't want to eat it later, either. Basic Italian menu. No surprises, except maybe the prices. Manhattan level prices but this place wouldn't survive 6 months in a city with competition. In fact, when we commented on how few and far between the restaurants were around there, the owner's response was to tell us they were the "only show in town."
Why give them 3 stars? Because the owner and staff were very nice. VERY nice, chatty, and welcoming. And because they're open on Sunday evenings, when other places seem to be closed. So if you're really starving and don't mind dropping good money on OK food, you can go there.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Il Compare..............Incomparable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

For years we have driven by Il Compare with its charmingly out of the way location and said; "You know we should try going there sometime." A few nights ago we did and from now on we will curse ourselves for not eating there before. A first rate dining experience.
We chose to sit outside in their attractive patio area with its lovingly landscaped garden setting. Upon being seated we were immediately presented with homemade Bruschetta and a bowl of olives: a really nice "Suprise and Delight" touch. It was delicious.
They do not pretend any over reaching culinary ambitions. The menu is filled with familiar Italian restaurant favorites and, on the basis of what we ordered, (Eggplant, Penne with Bolognese) prepared and served flawlessly.
TWO CRITICAL OBSERVATIONS: 1. no draft beer selections. 2. The the piped in "music" from a local FM radio station. My advise would be to lose the radio and let the great ambiance speak for itself. Besides, what better music is there than the twittering of birds, the fluttering of butterflies and happy human voices? Il Compare is one of those great finds that has hands on ownership, honest, unsnooty food and a team of experienced professionals that have done things so well for so long that it all seems effortless.
Seek it out. It is worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank krokro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover Plains, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Whatsamatteryou? Go there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

Super delicioso food. Excellent wine selections. Karen is awesome and makes us feel special even when she's really busy. You can have just an entree and be completely sated or you can have terrific appys and take home entree leftovers. It's all good. Definitely try the lasagna. You will NOT be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tess1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing