We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evergreen at The Thompson House
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our first ski holiday with our children. The staff was friendly and very, very helpful. The room was clean and spacious (perfect for the 4 of us) and it also had a beautiful view of the mountains. The Thompson House is also very well located: close to Windham Mountain and within walking distance of a convenience store, a nice cafe and an italian/pizza restaurant. The continental breakfast (included in the rate), served in the cozy and warm lounge was also very good. My kids loved the whole experience and so did my husband and I.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 59 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our whole extended family recently stayed at the Thompson House while attending a memorial service. While we there under sad circumstances, we were pleasantly suprised to discover what will certainly be an annual vacation spot for us from now on. The Thompson House is a family-operated inn infused with pride, care and tradition. Our whole group felt as though we were staying at a "home" rather than just a hotel. The rooms are immaculate and very well maintained, each with homey furnishings that reflect this true mountainside retreat. There are a variety of room types, but each are considerable larger, offering more space, amenities and a tremendous value as compared to several other hotels in the area. The junior suite and jacuzzi suites are huge, with planty of space to sit and relax, each also equipped with refrigerators and large closets to accommodate ski gear. The beds were extremely comfortable and they offered free WiFi which was a hit. The inn serves a complimentary continental breakfast each morning in their comfortable lobby/living room which included fresh coffee, a variety of cereals, including oatmeal and homemade granola, as well as bagels, yogurts and muffins. Our kids especially enjoyed the game table in the lobby/livingroom, the variety of board games guests can use and take back to their rooms, sleds for outside and surrounding grounds where they built a snowman which was complemented by several of the staff members. The view of the mountain from the lobby is amazing. We also had views of the mountain and/or beautiful babbling brook from the rooms we stayed in.

The hotel's location is ideal...just outside of downtown Widham so quiet and serene but so convenient with several restuarants, Windham ski area, a pharmacy, etc. within a 2 minute drive. Downtown Windham is quaint and offers several good restaurants...we enjoyed many meals at the Cave mountain Brewery which brews their own beer and had a menu to satisty adults and kids alike. They even had karaoke night which the kids (and adults) loved.

The area is simply beautiful and the Thompson House provides a perfect ski retreat, run by generations of innkeepers who sincerely care about their guests.

We will definitely be back to the Thompson House!

Room Tip: If you need more space, or are traveling with kids, the Jr. Suites provide two beds plus a large sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klynnied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Been coming for at least 7 years now with a bunch of families and every year there are no complaints. The owners and staff are wonderful; charming, warm and want to make sure their guests are comfortable. The continental breakfast is always good - love the homemade granola. We will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pccontino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Booked at the last minute and pleased with our choice. Room was good quality. Clean, comfortable, warm, spacious. Breakfast was continental but good quality with lots of choice and some good local / home made choices. 5 minute drive to Windham so good for that if that's your reason to be in the vicinity. Felt like was a fair price. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_james_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This was our first time staying here and it was wonderful! The staff was friendly, breakfast was very cozy...great coffee! Our room was very clean and had a amazing view! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I've been coming here for years and each and every time the stay is 5 star. Setting is beautiful, staff knows how to make you feel like family and accomondations are always flawless.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at the Thompson House for one night to ski Windham. The room was a nice size for a family of 4. We took advantage of the free shuttle to the mountain and the ski vouchers. The staff there was very friendly and made us feel at home. It was a motel with the feeling of a bed-n-breakfast. We will definitely stay there again. They advertise a skating rink, but it was more of a homemade rink- Wasn't cold enough to skate on.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
9.7 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
19.6 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen at The Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen at The Thompson House

Address: 20 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5310
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Price Range: $75 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Evergreen at The Thompson House. Nestled in Windham, NY, at the heart of the picturesque Catskill Mountains and only one mile from Windham Mountain, the Evergreen at The Thompson House offers 25 rooms for your winter getaway. The Evergreen at The Thompson House is located near Windham Mountain and Hunter Mountain, many restaurants, equipment rentals, activities and shopping around beautiful Windham, NY. Ask us about our discount vouchers to both Windham and Hunter Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Evergreen At The Thompson House Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing