We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible rooms and views...feel like a part of the family at the Thompson House”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evergreen at The Thompson House
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible rooms and views...feel like a part of the family at the Thompson House”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our whole extended family recently stayed at the Thompson House while attending a memorial service. While we there under sad circumstances, we were pleasantly suprised to discover what will certainly be an annual vacation spot for us from now on. The Thompson House is a family-operated inn infused with pride, care and tradition. Our whole group felt as though we were staying at a "home" rather than just a hotel. The rooms are immaculate and very well maintained, each with homey furnishings that reflect this true mountainside retreat. There are a variety of room types, but each are considerable larger, offering more space, amenities and a tremendous value as compared to several other hotels in the area. The junior suite and jacuzzi suites are huge, with planty of space to sit and relax, each also equipped with refrigerators and large closets to accommodate ski gear. The beds were extremely comfortable and they offered free WiFi which was a hit. The inn serves a complimentary continental breakfast each morning in their comfortable lobby/living room which included fresh coffee, a variety of cereals, including oatmeal and homemade granola, as well as bagels, yogurts and muffins. Our kids especially enjoyed the game table in the lobby/livingroom, the variety of board games guests can use and take back to their rooms, sleds for outside and surrounding grounds where they built a snowman which was complemented by several of the staff members. The view of the mountain from the lobby is amazing. We also had views of the mountain and/or beautiful babbling brook from the rooms we stayed in.

The hotel's location is ideal...just outside of downtown Widham so quiet and serene but so convenient with several restuarants, Windham ski area, a pharmacy, etc. within a 2 minute drive. Downtown Windham is quaint and offers several good restaurants...we enjoyed many meals at the Cave mountain Brewery which brews their own beer and had a menu to satisty adults and kids alike. They even had karaoke night which the kids (and adults) loved.

The area is simply beautiful and the Thompson House provides a perfect ski retreat, run by generations of innkeepers who sincerely care about their guests.

We will definitely be back to the Thompson House!

Room Tip: If you need more space, or are traveling with kids, the Jr. Suites provide two beds plus a large sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klynnied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
10
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Been coming for at least 7 years now with a bunch of families and every year there are no complaints. The owners and staff are wonderful; charming, warm and want to make sure their guests are comfortable. The continental breakfast is always good - love the homemade granola. We will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pccontino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Booked at the last minute and pleased with our choice. Room was good quality. Clean, comfortable, warm, spacious. Breakfast was continental but good quality with lots of choice and some good local / home made choices. 5 minute drive to Windham so good for that if that's your reason to be in the vicinity. Felt like was a fair price. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_james_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This was our first time staying here and it was wonderful! The staff was friendly, breakfast was very cozy...great coffee! Our room was very clean and had a amazing view! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahwa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I've been coming here for years and each and every time the stay is 5 star. Setting is beautiful, staff knows how to make you feel like family and accomondations are always flawless.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnerville, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at the Thompson House for one night to ski Windham. The room was a nice size for a family of 4. We took advantage of the free shuttle to the mountain and the ski vouchers. The staff there was very friendly and made us feel at home. It was a motel with the feeling of a bed-n-breakfast. We will definitely stay there again. They advertise a skating rink, but it was more of a homemade rink- Wasn't cold enough to skate on.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Our 2-night stay at Evergreen at the Thompson House for our first visit to Windham Mountain was terrific. We stayed in a deluxe room with 2 double beds, which was fine for our family of 3. The room was spacious, with a huge walk-in closet that also accommodated a small/midsize refrigerator, as well as a sitting area with a sofa and 2 chairs, desk/chair combo and a fairly large flat screen TV with a good selection of cable TV channels. Beds were comfortable and we slept well both nights. Extra pillows and blankets were much appreciated and used. The bathroom was older but also fine, with lots of counter and drawer space. Bathroom amenities are motel-grade – small generic soap and shampoo and rough tissues – which would be my only issue.

The view out our window (2nd floor) of Windham Mountain was lovely, both day and nighttime, when we could see the night skiing mountains all lit up. Late on Friday night, we were exhausted, and it was tough carrying our things up the stairs, but it was worth it for the view. It’s a motel-style outside corridor place with two levels and no elevator (at least not that we saw) – something to be aware of if you have problems with stairs.

We were thrilled to take advantage of the hotel’s free shuttle to the mountain, so that we didn’t have to figure out how to get there, where to park, etc. for our visit. It definitely lowered the stress level of going for the first time. Lift tickets for Windham can be purchased at a great discount through the hotel front desk – the best discount I found anywhere, saving $19 for an adult weekend ticket.

We also loved the continental breakfast included in our stay, with apple/orange juice, bagels, English muffins, 4 kinds of cereal, homemade granola, instant oatmeal, and a different home-baked item each morning (warm banana bread the first day and banana and blueberry muffins the second day).

The lobby is very inviting, and there were several big groups enjoying the big room with the fireplace each night, with food and drinks set up for themselves (one group even set up slow cookers all day right in the lobby). After a day of skiing, we were too exhausted to go out to dinner, and were excited to find a basket full of menus in the lobby, both takeout and sit-down restaurants, and found a place to get some takeout, which we enjoyed at a table in the lobby before passing out.

As warned on their website, the water contains sulfur, which has a strong, distinctive smell that definitely pervades the shower. If you’re sensitive to it, recommend you bring bottled water to drink and take fast showers. I’m very sensitive to water, and didn’t notice it had an effect on the coffee, though I have in other places, so that was great.

The owners’ hospitality was warm and welcoming but not intrusive, and they were so helpful with any requests. We’re not small bed-and-breakfast types, but this place was just the right dose of Catskill resort charm for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windham hotels
0.0 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 10 in Windham
495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beds On Clouds
Beds On Clouds
#2 of 10 in Windham
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cuomo's Cove
Cuomo's Cove
#3 of 10 in Windham
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen at The Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen at The Thompson House

Property: Evergreen at The Thompson House
Address: 20 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5310
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Evergreen at The Thompson House. Nestled in Windham, NY, at the heart of the picturesque Catskill Mountains and only one mile from Windham Mountain, the Evergreen at The Thompson House offers 25 rooms for your winter getaway. The Evergreen at The Thompson House is located near Windham Mountain and Hunter Mountain, many restaurants, equipment rentals, activities and shopping around beautiful Windham, NY. Ask us about our discount vouchers to both Windham and Hunter Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Evergreen At The Thompson House Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing