We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Thompson House
Nearby Hotels
Cave Mountain Motel(Windham)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages(Windham)(Great Value!)
$75
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beds On Clouds Bed and Breakfast Inn(Windham)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cuomo's Cove(Windham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
116
16
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
16
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily reuniongolf courseshuffle boardfamily resortbreakfast and dinnerlabor day weekendcomfortable and spacious roomsjacuzzi suitethis wonderful placewalking pathwonderful hostsgreat familyski gearfire pita wonderful staybreakfast roommy boyfriend
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 140 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and her family went here when she was a kid and this was our fifth year going as a couple. We go to relax and that's the one place we can do that. Everyone is like family and that warmth just oozes from everywhere. We look forward to Labor Day weekend every year just to get to The Thompson House!

Windham, the facilities, the mountains - all nice. But what makes this really special is - the people. Whether you want to get away from it all and just relax or stay busy and explore the fun things, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SongSinger312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Well, it looks like we are the 'odd' people out. Didn't care for the place at all and felt that it certainly wasn't worth the price we paid. Yes, the staff was friendly, but that's pretty much were it stopped. While the room was large and clean, the furniture was dumpy (think 80s), the toilet lever broke, no AC but only an ancient (and ineffective) fan.
However, what really made us decide never to return was that we were charged not only 15.00 for the roll-away for the 3rd person in the room but also an additional 50.00/day for ---- WHAT? Spending 500.00 for a 3-day stay for bare bones accommodation (no breakfast etc.), certainly was not good value for the money.

Room Tip: Get a room with AC in the summer.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travl4fun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THouse1880, Manager at The Thompson House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

travl4fun2,
We’re sorry your stay at The Thompson House was not what you expected.
We do appreciate your acknowledgement to our friendly staff and how clean our rooms are. We are proud of our staff and are grateful for each one.
The majority of our rooms do have air conditioning, and an air conditioned room is always offered, if one is available. We do pride ourselves in decorating each of our rooms differently and unique that is why we call our place “The resort with the personal touch.” We wish we were made aware of your maintenance issues as it would have been taken care of right away.
Like any industry, charging extra for additional people and bedding is standard practice. With three adults in a room without air-conditioning, with a rollaway should cost $400.00 for two nights and 3 days.
Guests of The Thompson House are offered a meal plan which includes a full breakfast and dinner (if not at capacity). If a guest decides not to be on our meal plan there are many great restaurants/cafes in the area and some within walking distance.
The Thompson House is a resort, and we offer far more than just accommodations. Our rates include use of our large outdoor heated pool, BRAND NEW tennis court, and a recreation room with free pool tables, Foosball tables, Ping-Pong, arcade, fitness room, shuffle board courts, volleyball, bocce, badminton, and much more. Not only do we offer many activities for our guests, but we are located very close to many fun things to do in the area.
Again, we are sorry your stay with us was not an enjoyable one. We hope that if you do decide to stay with us again in the future you will have a different experience. An experience you will be happy to tell you friends, family and fellow trip advisors about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Thompson House is spectacular.

If you're looking for rest, relaxation, getting away from it all you'd be extremely hard pressed to find a better way to spend your family vacation time, money. Incredibly clean picturesque facilities, quiet, restful pool time, wonderful menu, friendly, courteous, efficient staff. Local activities include an incredibly scenic 18 hole golf course, hiking, horseback riding, seasonal town events and shops. And if you’re so inclined a day at The Great Escape 6 flags or beautiful Saratoga both a reasonable 1.5 hour drive.

For our family The Thompson House has been a wonderful vacation tradition for more than 14 years. We could not be happier with the time spent and the memories. The most difficult part of any visit to the Thompson House is having to say good bye.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just returned from amother trip to the Thompson House. As always my experience was just exceptional. The menu has gotten an update and the food is still abundant and prepared well. The golf Course is still recovering from IRENE, but they have done a great job in putting together 18 holes with what they were dealt. While we were there heavy equipment was going from dawn to dusk and progress is visible.
Don't stay away- support the good, hard working people of Windham- These are the places that make life special and allow us to get away from our everyday problems.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were looking for a relaxing vacation upstate NY that would be fun for the kids. They have a beautiful pool, organized activities, and plenty of games for families to enjoy. The food was also excellent!
The town of Windham is close by and has a zip-line park and plenty of local eateries.
The owners of the Thompson House were so kind and you can tell they are truly vested because the grounds and room were immaculate!
I would strongly recommend the Thompson House and we'll definitely be going back! It's a great place to go with multiple families but you're sure to meet people.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwilliams4105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews