We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Allegria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergo Allegria
Ranked #1 of 10 Windham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2006

We didn't stay at the B&B but at the Farm House which is about 2 miles down the road in 3 bedroom apartment. The apartment, first floor of the farm house, was very nicely decorated. The kitchen was well equiped and the bath was in very good condition. We had everything we needed.
I do have a couple of remarks, the bed in one of the bedrooms creeked and the cable television channels didn't work 100%.
Apart for that, we would definitly rent it out again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank gulig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    44
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
87
302
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2004

Just got back from a three-night stay. Yes, the inn is immaculate. No complaints there. And lots of attention to detail, which ordinarily I would appreciate but which here felt somehow over the top. Not Felix Unger-over-the-top, but: framed signs by the garbage instructing how to recycle (don't place recyclables in the garbage but next to it); a card in the bathroom indicating essentially that if hikers or skiers want to clean their boots, there are special boot-cleaning towels in the closet; statements both on the website and in the handbook to the effect that you're free to use massage oil but please use a towel . . . you get the idea. Kind of "have fun--but not too much, and don't make too much noise!"

I would have dismissed these as mere quirks were it not for the robotic, vacant-stared dining-room staff. I dunno, I've been to lots of B&Bs and hotels and there's usually a free-flowing coffee urn. At breakfast Saturday, with a full house (lots of screaming children and virtually every seat taken), we had to wait for them to come around to each table with a tiny pot of coffee. We're talking like 30 people waitin' for their cuppa joe. Not a pretty sight. And there *were* some religious-seeming materials for the taking in the lobby. It was a little creepy--I mean, if you're running some kind of a mission or something that should be stated up front. Needless to say, we won't be going back!

Helpful?
8 Thank ditmarsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2004

A wonderful ,beautiful place, a great breakfast, accomodating staff,and a peaceful rest.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2003

it was the most magical, romantic, place to stay. The staff was great and the atmosphere was cozy. It felt that you were so far away from reality.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2003

It was absolutely amazing! Everything from the decor to the wonderful breakfast. We truly enjoyed every moment we were there. So much, in fact, that we're thinking of going back!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2003

Everything was just beautiful. The rooms, the breakfast, the hospitality! You can purchase a bottle of wine right at their kitchen/bar at some of the lowest prices I've ever seen for a hotel.
The furnishings are extraordinary, the area is peaceful and restful, and the ammenities are perfect. Luxury everywhere for 1/2 the price of most B & B like this.The dining room serves a delicious breakfast, and you can bring your own lunch or dinner in to eat.Coffee, tea, snacks are a nice added touch. I would recommend this inn to even the the most dicriminating traveler. The drive to it from the east is up the mountain, and the view is unbelievable. Most enjoyable!!

Helpful?
4 Thank brianpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2003

This is a nice family inn, not a romantic inn for couples. Very noisy with children running around and babies crying. The inn is very beautiful and beautifully decorated. The room we had was very nice and cozy. The innkeepers were nice, but had to call on a phone if we needed anything. Not very personal. Breakfast was good but very limited. This is a very nice inn, however would not recommend for couples looking for romance or peace and quiet.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beds On Clouds
Beds On Clouds
#2 of 10 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Catskill Lodge Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Allegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Allegria

Property: Albergo Allegria
Address: 43 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albergo Allegria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Hospitality & Cool Amenities--Albergo Allegria Bed & Breakfast Hotel is set atop the Northern Catskill Mountains where outdoor adventure abounds. The 21 guest rooms boast modern amenities and the grounds offer relaxation-- whether by the fire pit complete with S'Mores, the Batavia Kill Creek that runs through the property, or the extensive farm to table garden. Just steps from the door, guests will trek The Windham Path, a 2 mile crushed-stone trail through pristine nature. The 24 hour guest pantry is among the guest favorites that's stocked with made-from-scratch-cookies, locally roasted coffee, and beverages. Italian for the "Inn of Happiness", Albergo Allegria shines its brightest through its unparalleled breakfast, just check out the reviews! Added Value: In addition to the pre-mentioned deliciousness that's included in the rates, each of the guestrooms are complete with modern amenities including private baths, dream worthy beds, flat screen TV's, HDTV/DVD--included are 2500+ DVD's to choose from! For seekers of romantic indulgence, Albergo Allegria features luxury suites with king size beds, whirlpools, fireplaces, and plenty of space to romp around. Hospitality of a bed and breakfast, and all the conveniences of a world class hotel create an ideal setting that's filled with character and history so you can fully enjoy your time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Allegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Allegria Hotel Windham
Albergo Allegria Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing