We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fan of B&Bs, but...”
Review of Albergo Allegria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Allegria
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We are not, generally, great fans of B&Bs, but Albergo Allegria is a place we'd happily revisit. This is partially because this property, with more than twenty units, is really somewhere between a B&B and a small hotel or inn, but also because it is a very well maintained and run property with Victorian charm but modern amenities, which manages to maintain B&B friendliness without cloying bonhomie. Its grounds are very well maintained and attractively planted, and this scenic area is an excellent location for all sorts of outdoor activities.

Our room, #6, "June", was one of their mid-grade "Charming Rooms". It was adequate size for a couple, but not large; closet and drawer space were limited. The bathroom, well-equipped with excellent plumbing, was small. (Our friends' "Requested Room", one grade up from ours, was a very comfortable size for a couple.) Both rooms were very clean and well-maintained. One should mention that the property's water supply is somewhat sulfurous; the odor might be more offensive to some than we found it. (The property does supply non-sulfurous drinking water.) This is the only negative criticism we found in another's review with which we concur. Frankly, though, negative critcism of the inn's service simply was not consistent with our experience.

Breakfasts were excellent in quality and variety, with juice, breads and muffins, cereals, yougurts, and fruit served buffet-style, and waitress service for cooked items, including a changing variety of appealing specialty egg and pancake dishes and breakfast meats. We were, though, surprised and disappointed that no reduced-, low-, or non-fat milk was available; we bought our own and kept it in the available guest refrigerator in the "pantry".

The pantry should be mentioned as a useful and pleasant feature of the inn; open at all times except during breakfast service, it provides complimentary cold drinks, a water-cooler, cookies, and a huge variety of teas and coffees, as well as refrigerator and freezer space for guests' own supplies.

We found prices to be quite reasonable, especially considering the very accommodating service and high level of maintainance of the property.

We would certainly recommend the Albergo Allegria to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rags2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 510 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2008

For the 5th year, we returned to the Albergo Allegria. We have never been disappointed. We are greeted like family by all of the staff. Each room, named after the months, delights with wonderful finishing touches and extraordinary cleanliness. The sitting room is comfortable and cozy. The gardens abound with summer flowers and fresh herbs, used in the cooking. The breakfast is wonderful, filling and varied. It is hard to choose among the available dishes. Once full, it is a delight to walk around the property and then golf at the course directly across the street. Each season offers a visual and calming retreat at the Inn. We always book our "return stay" after our visit.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

My sister and I are taking a class near Windham and we stayed at the Inn. From the moment we walked in the door we were impressed with the staff and the B&B.
We were given a full tour of the entire B&B and including the kitchen area where we could help ourselves to tea, coffee, cocoa, sodas, juices and cookies and muffins.
The room was very Victorian. The Inn Keeper was very nice and recommended restaurants and had a whole book of menus for us to look at. She also had a whole selection of DVDs we could take to our room.
Breakfast was amazing- not your typical continental breakfast, there was fresh fruit, home made coffee cake and made to order eggs, french toast or whatever else you may want.
Everyone on the staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be staying here again during future classes.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEBBA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

I stayed for the weekend and had the most wonderful and relaxing time. The Inn is so beautifully decorated and my room was very charming and cozy. The breakfast was absolutely amazing and more than anyone could ever ask for. The staff and innkeeper were very friendly and very accomodating.
We were treated like family and we just had the most relaxing and enjoyable weekend. We will definately recommend the Inn to our friends. Overall a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

My Husband and I stayed here for the weekend. The place was wonderful. The staff was friendly, courteous & very knowledgeable of the area. The cleanding staff was right on top of every thing. We had a problem with an outlet in our room. We told them about it went out and returned and it was fixed. Our room was spotless, bright and very comfortable. Breakfast was top of the line. The chef made everything flavored so nicely. The owner even stopped by our table to ask how everything was. She chatted with us for a while & told us of some nice places to see and where to have dinner. (Don't miss eating at Messinas while you are there) This place made us feel so comfortable and the owner was so very friendly we felt like we were staying at Grandmas house. This B&B is the best of the best.
Barbara from Kenilworth NJ

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Angel1kenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

My Family (2 Adults, 2 kids) stayed at the Albergo from June 11 to June 18. This has to be the best B&B we've ever stayed in (and we've visited many throughout the country – that AAA 5 diamond award really means something). The service was indescribable. However, if I had to choose a few words to describe this place, they would include "home", "warmth", "comfort", "caring", etc. I almost do not want to share too much about this place for fear that it will get "discovered" and somehow lose its wonderful charm (although I do not think that this is possible). The owners, Lenore and Vito, treated us and everyone around like members of their family. The kindly service provided at this place was more than welcome. The room was exquisite (quaint and impeccably clean) and the breakfasts were to die for! Our kids also had a blast playing in the river/waterfall in the back. You could practically spend you’re whole vacation never leaving the premises (although there is much for a family to do in the immediate vicinity – mountain biking, horseback riding, hiking, etc.). There are few places that I would travel to on a regular basis with my family. This is one of them. In fact, we’re already planning our return stay for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Momand3Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We stayed at the Albergo over the Fathers Day weekend. A spontaneous decision which proved a delight. The inn has so much to offer, from movies you can borrow to watch in the privacy of your room, to gazebos where you can watch squirrels and birds and even the stream behind the Inn. The children played in the small waterfall and had so much fun.

Breakfast was made to order and served with a variety of delicious fruits. The food was wonderful and coffee was available at anytime, along with soda and cookies. The peacfulness and attention to comfort - the fluffed beds and pillows, soft armchairs made the weekend so enjoyable. We left refreshed and ready for the week ahead. A great time was had by all.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MarineMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
299 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
15.0 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
137 reviews
9.5 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
0.2 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Allegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Allegria

Address: 43 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Price Range: $104 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albergo Allegria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Hospitality & Cool Amenities--Albergo Allegria Bed & Breakfast Hotel is set atop the Northern Catskill Mountains where outdoor adventure abounds. The 21 guest rooms boast modern amenities and the grounds offer relaxation-- whether by the fire pit complete with S'Mores, the Batavia Kill Creek that runs through the property, or the extensive farm to table garden. Just steps from the door, guests will trek The Windham Path, a 2 mile crushed-stone trail through pristine nature. The 24 hour guest pantry is among the guest favorites that's stocked with made-from-scratch-cookies, locally roasted coffee, and beverages. Italian for the "Inn of Happiness", Albergo Allegria shines its brightest through its unparalleled breakfast, just check out the reviews! Added Value: In addition to the pre-mentioned deliciousness that's included in the rates, each of the guestrooms are complete with modern amenities including private baths, dream worthy beds, flat screen TV's, HDTV/DVD--included are 2500+ DVD's to choose from! For seekers of romantic indulgence, Albergo Allegria features luxury suites with king size beds, whirlpools, fireplaces, and plenty of space to romp around. Hospitality of a bed and breakfast, and all the conveniences of a world class hotel create an ideal setting that's filled with character and history so you can fully enjoy your time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Albergo Allegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Allegria Hotel Windham
Albergo Allegria Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing