We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Of The Best”
Review of Albergo Allegria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Allegria
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2008

My Husband and I stayed here for the weekend. The place was wonderful. The staff was friendly, courteous & very knowledgeable of the area. The cleanding staff was right on top of every thing. We had a problem with an outlet in our room. We told them about it went out and returned and it was fixed. Our room was spotless, bright and very comfortable. Breakfast was top of the line. The chef made everything flavored so nicely. The owner even stopped by our table to ask how everything was. She chatted with us for a while & told us of some nice places to see and where to have dinner. (Don't miss eating at Messinas while you are there) This place made us feel so comfortable and the owner was so very friendly we felt like we were staying at Grandmas house. This B&B is the best of the best.
Barbara from Kenilworth NJ

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Angel1kenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 512 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2008

My Family (2 Adults, 2 kids) stayed at the Albergo from June 11 to June 18. This has to be the best B&B we've ever stayed in (and we've visited many throughout the country – that AAA 5 diamond award really means something). The service was indescribable. However, if I had to choose a few words to describe this place, they would include "home", "warmth", "comfort", "caring", etc. I almost do not want to share too much about this place for fear that it will get "discovered" and somehow lose its wonderful charm (although I do not think that this is possible). The owners, Lenore and Vito, treated us and everyone around like members of their family. The kindly service provided at this place was more than welcome. The room was exquisite (quaint and impeccably clean) and the breakfasts were to die for! Our kids also had a blast playing in the river/waterfall in the back. You could practically spend you’re whole vacation never leaving the premises (although there is much for a family to do in the immediate vicinity – mountain biking, horseback riding, hiking, etc.). There are few places that I would travel to on a regular basis with my family. This is one of them. In fact, we’re already planning our return stay for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Momand3Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We stayed at the Albergo over the Fathers Day weekend. A spontaneous decision which proved a delight. The inn has so much to offer, from movies you can borrow to watch in the privacy of your room, to gazebos where you can watch squirrels and birds and even the stream behind the Inn. The children played in the small waterfall and had so much fun.

Breakfast was made to order and served with a variety of delicious fruits. The food was wonderful and coffee was available at anytime, along with soda and cookies. The peacfulness and attention to comfort - the fluffed beds and pillows, soft armchairs made the weekend so enjoyable. We left refreshed and ready for the week ahead. A great time was had by all.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MarineMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

We where at the b&b for the weekend and it was terrible.. The staff starting with the office was rude and not very friendly.. the only friendly face was the lady who work friday night when we arrived...Rooms were ok water is bad smelling..Then we had breakfast sat and sun what a mess I think the owner needs to hire experinced waitress and a litlle more on the friendly side...We will never stay there again and would tell any to go there..

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ladynyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergo, owner/innkeeper at Albergo Allegria, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2008

Dear Never Again,

I was saddened to receive your negative review as I and the staff at Albergo Allegria strive to provide exceptional service from check in to check out. It is our ultimate goal to exceed, not just satisfy, each guests expectations.

In response to your review, I will mention that large groups do change the dynamic of our Bed and Breakfast/Inns noteworthy individual attention. It is extremely difficult to check in 10 couples who arrive together when many demand to be checked in first before the others. It is also difficult to provide our signature excellent breakfast service when large groups take over the dining room and proceed to take it upon themselves to move settings after they have placed their breakfast orders.

I would like to extend my apologies for our inability to provide exceptional service to your particular group. We will continue to strive for the highest levels of guest satisfaction knowing that at times we may not succeed.

We hope your future experiences with Bed and Breakfast/Inns will be more to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

We just returned from a one-night stay at the Albergo Allegria. We craved a little break from the hustle bustle of non-stop work and the NYC metro area, and this place was just what we needed. The staff was helpful and friendly yet laid back and unobtrusive. Our room, the "Millennium Suite," was very well-kept, up-to-date, and even more spacious than the hotel's website suggests. We got an excellent price for a weekday during the off-season. HUGE whirlpool tub, lovely bathroom, super comfy bed. Breakfast was divine and abundant. In addition to the typical continental fare, we were spoiled with freshly made belgian waffles, omelets, and more. Windham, although a sleepy town during the off-season, is a great point from which to explore the towns of the Catskill region.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rosalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2008

We stayed for a weekend in one of the Carriage House Suites. We checked in late at night and everything was ready and laid out for us when we arrived. The room was immaculate and very nicely decorated. The fireplace was a real bonus. Room was very spacious, the high ceilings are great.

Breakfast could not be better. The staff are friendly, quick and so accommodating. In general, service was totally unobtrusive but always there if you need them.

Location is good- you're not so far out of town that you can't get to a good restaurant but feels secluded and quiet.

In addition to the mountain, I recommend the Windham Spa highly- Antonia and the staff there took great care of us. It's a first rate facility with great treatments, and the staff make you feel so welcome and at ease, could not have been better.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank NYCLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cynewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
301 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
15 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
137 reviews
21.6 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
174 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Allegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Allegria

Address: 43 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Price Range: $116 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albergo Allegria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Hospitality & Cool Amenities--Albergo Allegria Bed & Breakfast Hotel is set atop the Northern Catskill Mountains where outdoor adventure abounds. The 21 guest rooms boast modern amenities and the grounds offer relaxation-- whether by the fire pit complete with S'Mores, the Batavia Kill Creek that runs through the property, or the extensive farm to table garden. Just steps from the door, guests will trek The Windham Path, a 2 mile crushed-stone trail through pristine nature. The 24 hour guest pantry is among the guest favorites that's stocked with made-from-scratch-cookies, locally roasted coffee, and beverages. Italian for the "Inn of Happiness", Albergo Allegria shines its brightest through its unparalleled breakfast, just check out the reviews! Added Value: In addition to the pre-mentioned deliciousness that's included in the rates, each of the guestrooms are complete with modern amenities including private baths, dream worthy beds, flat screen TV's, HDTV/DVD--included are 2500+ DVD's to choose from! For seekers of romantic indulgence, Albergo Allegria features luxury suites with king size beds, whirlpools, fireplaces, and plenty of space to romp around. Hospitality of a bed and breakfast, and all the conveniences of a world class hotel create an ideal setting that's filled with character and history so you can fully enjoy your time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Allegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Allegria Hotel Windham
Albergo Allegria Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing