We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveler rating
481
50
7
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
50
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesthe kitchencarriage housebaked goodsmy husband and ispring waterfrittataprivate porchbed and breakfasttea and coffeebreakfast was amazingpancakesowners and staffdvd libraryfire piteach morningfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 544 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful b&b!! We were welcomed in, and got a nice tour of their beautiful inn. There was coffee and tea all day, a fire pit at night, and s'mores fixins all set up for us. Breakfast was so delicious with so many choices that included fresh local ingredients. Honestly this place is clean, warm and cozy, and wonderful, and the family that runs it are kind and sweet. Will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our first 'B&B' experience and we were SOOOO pleasantly surprised. Leslie (the husband of the innkeeper couple) greeted us outside and graciously showed us around, explaining the amenities (all day kitchen use, free coffee, tea, cookies, soft drinks... computer use, living room ....) before leading us to our room (January - rooms are named for the months of the year; suites are named for the four seasons; cottages are named for seasonings - thyme, was one). The room was beautifully appointed with a private bath and small, private porch with a wicker rocking chair. The amenities were all there; there is a creek and deck out back. I particularly LOVED the information binder in the room that provided the history of the house (that's how I learned about the room names) and even a sketch of the original blueprints. Breakfast was incredible -a continental breakfast of fruit, cereal, breads, muffins .... PLUS a full breakfast offering many choices [eggs any way; a closed omelet; a frittata (open omelet); pancakes or french toast of the day; a side meat (bacon or sausage or patties) ... ]deliciously prepared and courteously served. Conveniently located, the town of Windham offered some lovely restaurants plus and diner and interesting shops. The setting of Windham mountain is just beautiful. Our stay was wonderful - although too short - and we will return in the future. Donna

Room Tip: I loved the small, one rocking chair, private porch that came with our room (January). I sat outside reading and watching the sun go down (although the porch faced the road, that did not diminish my pleasure at all).
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our first US B&B after staying in New York city for a week. We were very pleasantly surprised. The B&B is well presented, clean and friendly, and things like the help-yourself cookie jar, the afternoon cakes and freely available hot and cold drinks came as a complete surprise. Breakfasts were all you could ask for, and to crown it all, we thought the rates were extremely reasonable.
We found some good restaurants in the town, so all in all, Albergo Allegria and Windham is a reliable and scenic destination.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

About 15 years ago our favorite B&B in the Northern Catskills changed ownership and went downhill overnight. For a decade and a half we looked for a friendly and welcoming B&B. We tried many. We went from disappointment to fiasco.

We just discovered Albergo Allegria in Windham. What a relief. While not tucked away in the woods, the inn is in a pleasant and peaceful setting. We were welcomed by Jack of the management team – upbeat, helpful, courteous, generous with recommendations. The two rooms we booked were spacious and nicely furnished; the renovated bathrooms were impeccably clean and fully equipped. Breakfast was delightful and served by a caring and considerate team of jovial local ladies.

In addition, one has day-round access to cold beverages, hot drinks, and snacks in the walk-in kitchen and the living and recreation rooms are large, bright and comfortable.

Another thing that struck us: all travelers were considerate, spoke softly and made no noise. A coincidence? Or does Albergo Allegria bring out the best in people?

Beniana

Room Tip: Pick a room on the northern side (away from access to parking area): prettier view and a bit quieter
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beniana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our room was charming and immaculate and the overall ambiance of the B&B is remarkable! There are numerous amenities and the staff is friendly and helpful. Full breakfasts are wonderful, to say the least. A great place for comfort and relaxation. Have already recommended it to friends.

Bonnie J.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews