We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice surprise.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Messina's LaGriglia

Messina's LaGriglia
Ranked #12 of 32 Restaurants in Windham
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving Northern Italian cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere full bar on premise . Choice Steaks Select Seafood and Signature Pasta Dishes. Pizza & Calzones available Save room for our signature Chocolate Snowflake Cake! Children's menu & Take out menu
New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very nice surprise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The restaurant is billed primarily as Italian restaurant, but the menu is fairly wide-ranging.
I was expecting decent food but it turned out to be outstanding. Food, wine, dessert, and most of all the service. (Our waitress was Eileen, and couldn't have been better).


I've never reviewed a restaurant before, but this one was exciting enough to merit my first !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    19
    2
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windham, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Unhurried Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We enjoy meeting friends at Messina's for a great, unhurried meal (& also enjoy the pizza take-out). Waitstaff is attentive and helpful, the food is delicious. The new sunroom is a nice addition to the dining area. Chef Ed aims to please and hits a bullseye! The francaise, whether veal-or-chicken, is the best on the Mountain Top!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoNonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
1 review
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been going to Messina's for several years. The food is the best on the mountaintop and reasonably priced. Their veal francese is my personal favorite. last night we had absolutely scrumptious home baked biscotti for dessert. there are always wonderful specials as well. i highly recommend them - our first choice for dining out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 667Ruth45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New York
1 review
“A Mountaintop Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Food and service were excellent. Pleasant, relaxed atmosphere. Windham has a number of outstanding restaurants, and Messina's is among the best.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JOG817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Horrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Salad sucked. Worse pasta sauce ever. Over done steak...I ordered it extra rare. Came out no pink. Scallops were the consistency of a pencil eraser. Wouldn't go back ever again. Very disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mwyckoff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Messina's LaGriglia also viewed

Windham, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 
Windham, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 

Been to Messina's LaGriglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing