We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely first night in US”
Review of Catskill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Catskill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Windham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2009

The other reviews say it all (except the whinger). After a very tiring day (8 hr flight from London and long drive from JFK) and not knowing the US at all, I arrived to wine and a really relaxed pleasant atmosphere. I was immediately invited to burgers and homemade relish etc etc under the stars by a warm fire. Although everyone, including guests, were half my age, I felt completely welcome. Wish I'd had more than one day.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TedLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 288 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2009

One of the more professionally-run B&Bs. Clean premises and sensible quiet hours make a family stay enjoyable. Wi-fi almost compensates for the cellular dead zone (we picked up signals on Verizon and Sprint a short drive away).

The highlight of the stay is breakfast -- served fast, hot, and in great quantity by David. First rate fare which we sorely missed when we traveled on to Manhattan later in the week, where a certain midtown hotel wants $35-a-head for Continental breakfast ... and where we abstained in favor of Nutragrain bars and in-room coffee.

As for area attractions, wing it the first day if you insist, but make amends and ask the innkeeper for recommendations from there on in. Driving directions to the worthwhile activities are maintained on site.

Very nice midweek rates ... you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
Thank CMH_Os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Went for a weekend to get a break from city and play a few rounds of golf. We really enjoyed our stay. Room was exactly what we were looking for (the Windham) - private, charming, clean, plenty of space - and Dan cooked a delicious breakfast each morning. The lodge has a lot of character and we felt as comfortable relaxing in the common areas and backyard as we did in our room. We were gone most of the days so didn't see too many other guests but those we came across were very friendly and we ended up staying out talking both nights until going to bed. There's also an impressive DVD collection and a bunch of board games.

The golfing was great. We told Dan what we were looking for and he recommended two courses (Christman's and Rainbow) which were plenty challenging and a welcomed change from the public courses we play around NYC. Amazing scenery, lots of elevation changes. Despite great weather we saw exactly one other golfer during both days combined - much more relaxing than the 5-6 hour rounds we're used to. Dan pointed us towards some good places to grab burgers afterwards.

Overall, the trip was exactly what we were looking for. Our only regret is we didn't arrange our schedule to fit more in (missed out on hiking and horseback riding) but we plan on coming back. The lodge was great and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Would highly recommend for a relaxing, inexpensive break from the city.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjny1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

It was my first time ever staying at a B&B, so I didn't know what to expect. We chose Catskill Lodge because the price was the best in the area and it didn't look as tacky as the other B&Bs. The place is hard to find. The dirt parking lot was not plowed very well and was icy every day we were there. We got the Catskill Suite - the master bedroom was very large and spacious. As for the other room - well, it has enough room for a bed and a dresser. If you ask for a king, it's two twins pushed together with a sheet over them. Overall, the suite was not bad - we had privacy, a FANTASTIC view, etc. The downside was that the water is well water, so the water kind of smells when you are showering or using the jacuzzi. Also, there were no tea candles or anything for the jacuzzi.
I was not very fond of the cleanliness of the place - I saw quite a few cobwebs, rugs needed to be vacuumed, there were patches of unsanded, unpainted plaster on the walls, comforters were stained... but it was nothing to make you grossed out.
Breakfast was large, delicious and filling every morning.
The innkeeper was a bit passive aggressive, but he stayed out of the way most of the time and gave us privacy.
Tips:
The B&B has a hot tub, so bring your swimsuit. Beware though that it takes a very long time to heat up. Also, I would get the Catskill Suite instead of the Delaware - the bathroom is scary tiny, as in even a 4 year old would feel cramped.
Overall, it's pretty good for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acmill99, Manager at Catskill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

We know that this review was written quite a while ago, but as the new innkeepers we wanted to take a moment to reply personally. We, in partnership with the owners, have implemented a lot of positive changes for the business, and we are very proud of what the Catskill Lodge is today. It is a Victorian house, built in 1893, so of course there are some quirks (no two rooms are the same size or shape, much of the furniture is antique, etc.) - but for the majority of our guests, that's part of the charm of staying in a home with so much history, rather than a modern hotel. We love the house and have put a lot of time and energy into making minor repairs and improvements, and we also follow a very thorough cleaning routine in preparation for each new guest's arrival. We didn't have any experience with the older hot tub, but our new one is amazing! Always hot and ready to go, and a wonderful way to relax after a day hiking or on the slopes. And of course our breakfasts are still hearty and delicious - now with a special focus on local, seasonal, and organic ingredients. We hope that you will give us another try in the future! - Sarah & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We spent 2 nights at the lodge. We were greeted warmly with wine waiting for us! We went to the Hortan Smith House had an amazing dinner, and woke up to having breakfast served for us! Saturday we headed up to Windham hill, which was a 3/4 minute drive from the lodge, the weather as well as the skiing was fantastic. I'll definately be back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeghanTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

I recently stayed at the Catskill Lodge with some friends for a Ski trip. The service was excellent and the staff made us feel at home. The rooms as well as the bathrooms were extremely clean. The lodge provided all sorts of entertainment from board games to DVD’s. The food was very good and the servings were plentiful. I am recommending the Catskill Lodge to all my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friction20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

A group of my friends rented all the the rooms in the Catskill Lodge for a weekend and had so much fun. There's so much to do and actually the accomodations are by far the best out of any B&B I've ever stayed out. There's a great restaurant/bar around the block which was perfect for evening entertainment. If you can get a group together to rent the entire place I would comletely recommend it though I would be perfectly happy just renting a single room for another kind of trip as well.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
Thank KLRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
299 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
148 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beds On Clouds Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.7 mi away
Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catskill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catskill Lodge

Address: 350 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5327
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range: $110 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catskill Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1893, our Victorian home offers historic charm, modern amenities, and a relaxed, communal feel. Start your morning with a freshly prepared hot breakfast. In the evening, gather round the campfire or soak in the hot tub while gazing at the star-studded sky. Catskill Lodge, a registered historic site, sits atop a hill on five lush acres of property, complete with our own wooded nature trail and plenty of friendly wildlife. The area’s best outdoor adventures are just minutes away, from skiing, snowboarding, and snowshoeing to cycling, mountain biking, golf, hiking, fishing, farm tours, and scenic drives. Our seven-bedroom inn accommodates 16 guests, while the Hudson Hollow, our three-bedroom vacation rental next door, sleeps six. We offer the coziness and personal service of a bed-and-breakfast without the stuffiness of a traditional B&B. Group rentals and weddings welcome! Let us help you plan your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Catskill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catskill Lodge b&b
Catskill Hotel Windham
Catskill Lodge Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing