We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and thoughtful BnB”
Review of Catskill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Catskill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Windham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here for a second time and really enjoyed it again! The house and rooms are cute and comfortable, but Sarah and Tony are the kind of hosts that make this place memorable. Sarah prepares a little breakfast menu and slips it under the bedroom door each evening so you know what delicious food to look forward to. Each room has a comfortable bed (we've stayed in 2 different ones) and even though a few rooms have to share bathrooms, we never had an issue. The house and rooms are warm and the windows provide a lot of light. There are also a couple porches to sit on when you have breakfast or if you want to relax in the evening with a glass of wine. Everything is clean and nice, and we're looking forward to staying here again!

Room Tip: The Windham room on the ground floor is nice and private.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stellabarracuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acmill99, Manager at Catskill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thanks so much for your kind words - that made our day! We're so glad that you decided to come back to Catskill Lodge, and that we were able to help make your stay so comfortable and relaxing. We hope to see you again soon! - Sarah & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Catskill Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 280 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

Had a great weekend at Catskills Lodge this past March. The house was charming and the inn keepers could not only cook a mean breakfast, but were friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Over fresh fruit, pancakes, and eggs, the inn keepers recommended a light hiking trail nearby which was just what we were looking for. Good food, exercise, friendly people, and comfortable accommodations! I hope to come back and stay again next year.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank SusieT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acmill99, Manager at Catskill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

We're so glad that you had such a great stay! As the new innkeepers, we are still discovering all the amazing hiking possibilities that this area offers - so we'll be able to recommend plenty of new trails to explore on your next visit! -Sarah & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I was very happy that I found this wonderful BB. I was warmly welcomed by the new innkeeper with coffee and cookies. She prepared a huge, healthy breakfast, that was too good. I usually eat a small healthy breakfast. My room was very comfortable and the common sitting area was great for reading/catching up emails and would be great for meeting others or just hanging out with friends/family you are with. The owner also visited while I was there and was helpful with giving me ideas for restaurants/pubs. If you like to ski or hike the beautiful Catskill Mountains, this is a wonderful place to come back to after any activities in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s-skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acmill99, Manager at Catskill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

We're so glad that you found us as well! And that you felt so at home at the Lodge. Even though we live off-site, it feels like an extension of our home in many ways, and we want every guest to feel welcome and comfortable from the moment they walk in the door. We hope to see you again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Catskills lodge is under new inn keepers and we loved our stay. We stayed in the suite on the third floor for my wife's birthday and what a 2 nights! We were greeted warmly with muffins, champagne and a cheese and cracker platter. Not only was the drink and treats a surprise for her birthday, but they personalized the label and set up the sun room for us to relax at. The bed was WOW! So comfortable that we never wanted to leave. The view from the sunroom was gorgeous. The breakfast was perfect. French toast, quiche, yogurt, fruit, juice, all you could ever want. The drink fridge was always stocked and every day had a new treat. The cookies were amazing.
We have stayed at 8 bed and breakfasts now and this may have been our favorite in terms of view and room. It was huge and so welcoming. The last night, we sat in the living room and watched a movie on the projector while eating popcorn supplied by the lodge. The last morning was breakfast out on the porch, just me and my wife.
This truly was a great weekend. It's our goal to go to a bed and breakfast in every state so we try not to repeat, but wow is this going to be a hard one not to go back to!!
Dave and Alesia

Room Tip: Catskills lodge is great for a couple or a family. Huge area, great view and awesome tub!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank destabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acmill99, Manager at Catskill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dave & Alesia -We're so glad that you chose Catskill Lodge for your birthday celebration, and that we were able to help make it such a special and memorable trip! We so enjoyed having you both here during our first month as the new innkeepers. Your cross-country B&B tour sounds amazing, but we do hope we'll see you back here again sooner than later! :) - Sarah & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Went skiing for the first time and stayed at Catskill Lodge for easy acccess to Windham Mountain. Cool place to relax before or after skiing, and enjoyed getting a fire going on the second night. Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morganmcgowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I planned to stay here for two nights over our 4th anniversary, but ultimately were so unsatisfied we left a day early. When we arrived at the B & B there was no one to greet us, but there were fifty signs on the door and throughout the house indicating what you can and can't do, and also how to get to the room as it was tucked in the back through the office. There was also a sign indicating that everything we needed to know was in the book in our room. Before we could get to the room we had to take our shoes off and leave them in the mud room - i understand not wanting mud all over the house, but it seemed excessive. The room had an odor that permeated from the bathroom and got worse as the night went on. My wife took a shower and one of the other guests must have flushed a toilet because the water got scalding hot. We used the fireplace as our heat source, but even on low it got the room too hot. We looked in the book that they directed us to and it said breakfast was served from 8a - 10am, but when we went out around 9:40 no one was there, everything was cleaned up, and there was another typed note indicating we can have breakfast tomorrow at 8, 830, 9 or not at all - and that was the final straw. We made a cup of coffee and found another B & B in Woodstock to stay in for the night. The coffee was undrinkable as it had the same sulfur smell and taste as the shower water did. We left a note, perhaps a little harsh, indicating how displeased we were and left. We did get a phone call from the innkeeper a bit later explaining we should have called them and could have had a different room, and also that there was a sign indicating different breakfast hours. Yes, maybe we should have called them, but everything about our stay was so cold and impersonal we felt like we were an inconvenience .Also, I guess we missed the breakfast sign in the mess of 50 other signs - and why not just change the book then? We travel a lot and have stayed in numerous B & B's and have never been somewhere where the innkeeper was no where to be found and put typed notes taped all over the place. I don't know if this is how the place normally is as there are so many positive reviews here, but we will never return - and have told friends of ours travelling to the area to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acmill99, Owner at Catskill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

As the owners of Catskill Lodge, we're horrified to learn of the terrible experience you had here. We would like to apologize profusely: We understand how important vacations are, and we're extremely sorry that your trip involved so many disappointments, especially on such an important weekend for you.

The innkeepers behind the ubiquitous signage and strict policies are no longer with Catskill Lodge. As of March 31, 2014, the B&B is managed by new innkeepers, Sarah and Tony. Their vision for Catskill Lodge, like ours, is one of rest, relaxation, ease, and enjoyment. We know we cannot change the fact that your anniversary weekend was ruined, but we do hope that someday you'll give us another shot to make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I almost took a year to write this review, unforgivable... I stayed at the Catskills Lodge last May with a friend and we had such an amazing time! Kellee and Mike were incredibly welcoming. We had great chats, both in Engliqh and in French (je t'aime fromage...).
The place is lovely and peaceful, and there are so many things to do around there if you love nature.
Will be back for sure.
Thomas

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acmill99, Manager at Catskill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Ah, merci beaucoup mon ami! Many thanks my friend! What a kind and lovely review. We always so enjoy having good-spirited, joyful people like yourself and your friend at our B&B. Thank you for remembering us! K&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
1.1 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
296 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beds On Clouds Bed and Breakfast Inn
5.6 mi away
Fairlawn Inn
Fairlawn Inn
#1 of 3 in Hunter
209 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catskill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catskill Lodge

Address: 350 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5327
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range: $84 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catskill Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1893, our Victorian home offers historic charm, modern amenities, and a relaxed, communal feel. Start your morning with a freshly prepared hot breakfast. In the evening, gather round the campfire or soak in the hot tub while gazing at the star-studded sky. Catskill Lodge, a registered historic site, sits atop a hill on five lush acres of property, complete with our own wooded nature trail and plenty of friendly wildlife. The area’s best outdoor adventures are just minutes away, from skiing, snowboarding, and snowshoeing to cycling, mountain biking, golf, hiking, fishing, farm tours, and scenic drives. Our seven-bedroom inn accommodates 16 guests, while the Hudson Hollow, our three-bedroom vacation rental next door, sleeps six. We offer the coziness and personal service of a bed-and-breakfast without the stuffiness of a traditional B&B. Group rentals and weddings welcome! Let us help you plan your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Catskill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catskill Hotel Windham
Catskill Lodge b&b
Catskill Lodge Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing