We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around”
Review of Catskill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Catskill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Windham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We went for the second time and it was so great! The room was so spacious and pretty. Everything in the room was clean and fresh. The room felt cozy and warm. Bathroom was spotless and they have these really cool heating lamps so when you get out of the shower you don't feel like you're freezing! Where can I get one?!
Don't even get me started on breakfast, so delicious! Everything they use is organic and locally sourced and prepared so well. My eggs were the perfect over easy. Coffee was hot and ready by time you get to the table.
The jacuzzi tub they have outside is incredible. It's so amazing to be outside, smelling the fresh air and seeing snow and you are in this amazing hot tub getting a massage! Such a fun experience!
Mike and Kellee are doing a fantastic job! They couldn't be nicer and more knowledgable about the area. They gave us great tips on going hiking and great places to grab lunch and snacks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 288 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

We wanted to getaway for a bit before the Christmas rush and looked all over the Northeast from the Poconos to New Hampshire. Ultimately we selected the Castkill Lodge and we were delighted with our selection. The rooms are beautiful, the location is central to restaurants, attractions, hikes, and the highway. The proprietors, Mike and Kellee are very knowledgeable about the region and also amazing people. The parks and the restaurants they recommended were excellent choices. Breakfast every morning was a delight. The food was delicious and Mike and Kellee are great conversationalists. Half the morning would be gone before we'd leave the table, but every moment was well spent. Plus they have a very well attended bird feeder!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acmill99, Owner at Catskill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

We are delighted that you chose our B&B and that you had such a good experience. We (K&M) sure enjoyed our many interesting conversations and sharing stories with you both. It was a treat to have fellow bird-lovers here with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I went here to get aweay from our kids for a few days. We rented the Catskill Suite. The bed was fantastic and the room was so huge and very clean. There is a Keurig Coffeemaker on the first floor near the wood stove. The room rates were very reasonable. Despite most of the rooms being rented the house was very quiet. Breakfast was tasty as well.We used the hot tub during our stay, it was clean, well maintained and very relaxing.

There are 2 great restaurants (Vesuvio and Horton Smith) within a 5 minute walk, and the town of Windham is a short drive in the other direction. Skiing and Snow Tubing is a very short drive away as well and Hunter Mountain is a 20 minute trip across the mountain.

When I initally booked the trip, I booked the wrong dates. They switched the dates for me with no problems or extra fees. Our reservation confirmation mentioned the no shoes in the house thing so we brought slippers, things get pretty muddy up there and I can totally understand the reasoning behind this. Our room had heat, but also a space heater so we were very comfortable. They have a guest fridge where you can keep snacks and stuff, but we brought a small cooler to hold ice for making in room drinks.

Overall we had a great and relaxing stay and would defintely reccommed this place. They have rooms that fit every budget, and Mike and Kellee are happy to help with whatever you need.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private baths, some have shared baths. If you are going to rent 2 rooms make sure th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_W_rfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acmill99, Owner at Catskill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

We are delighted that you were able to find the peace and quiet you were seeking at our B&B because that is precisely our mission: to provide a quiet, peaceful place where couples can come to unwind and relax. We are so glad you enjoyed both the B&B and the surrounding area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Woodstock room and our friends ( another couple ) stayed in the Hunter room. Once we entered the home.. We felt like we were in a cozy environment .. Felt right at home.. There are signs and directions everywhere to maintain cleanliness, order and a level of responsibility for the upkeep and flow of your experience during your stay. It was a quaint, cozy and clean house. The breakfast was wonderfully delicious and just right for our days of skiing. The ski shops and 'chalet fondue' are two min.driving distance. Kelly was so gracious... She's very sweet and welcoming. Also, take advantage of the discounted lift tickets they offer and go to the nearby ski shop ( if you're going to ski of course) for rentals which allow you avoid the crowds and have more ski time;)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adianice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

During our stay, my party and I felt like we weren't treated as customers but more as friends. They were nice and friendly when welcoming us and they brought a warming atmosphere in their area. The room are clean, inviting and most importantly it made us feel like at home and its only a short drive from a breathtaking view of the mountains. Anyone looking for a place to stay, I highly recommend the catskill lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dsiojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acmill99, Owner at Catskill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad that you had such a pleasant stay at the Hudson Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Because we were staying at the B&B during the holidays, we were definitely paying a premium for the room and I really felt that we did not get a great deal. At the price we paid for a place like this I would usually expect:
1. A much more comfortable bed, with down bedding. The bed was hard, the pillows were flat, and the blanket was pathetically thin. The blinds were also very poor at blocking out the light.
2. Decent toiletries. These were the cheapest little shampoos and soaps I have ever seen.
3. Robes and slippers. Especially would have been useful for the jacuzzi, and the slippers should be provided if guests are not allowed to wear shoes.
4. More personal/accommodating customer service? We forgot something in our room, and were told that it would cost them $20 to ship it to us in addition to the postage fees. I thought this was outrageous considering that the post office is down the street. It really made us feel as though as if the previous warmth and hospitality of the owners was not particularly sincere.
Having said that, the house is beautiful, warm, clean and inviting, and had we paid the regular rates, perhaps we would have been a bit more satisfied.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onetimereviewer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acmill99, Manager at Catskill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

We know that this review was written some time ago, but as the new innkeepers we wanted to take the time to respond personally. We're very sorry that you were not entirely comfortable or satisfied with your stay at the Lodge. We do have a different approach to the business, and have made a lot of positive changes that address some of your concerns. Guests are welcome to wear their shoes throughout the house, and when guests do leave something behind we only ask that they cover our actual costs for shipping and packaging. Like all hotels, our prices are higher at certain times of the year and on holidays, but we pride ourselves on being one of the most reasonably priced options in the area, especially considering that a full homecooked breakfast is included each morning. We have also added many additional amenities at no cost to guests recently, such as a refreshments table with snacks and drinks available at all times. Even though we try to keep our prices as low as possible, we still strive to source the best possible toiletries, linens, etc., that we possibly can, choosing locally sourced and natural/eco-friendly options whenever possible. As is common in B&Bs, much of the furniture is antique, sometimes the linens or dishes don't match, etc. - but we like to think that's part of the charm of staying in such a historic home. And guest comfort and satisfaction is always our first priority. We hope that you will give us another try sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had some trouble finding a place to stay in the Windham area Christmas week, and ended up finding Catskill Lodge & Hudson Hollow just through browsing the internet. Not knowing the area previously, I guessed that the location would work out, and was mainly looking for something that could work for my family of 5. But, it exceeded my expectations in almost every way. Hudson Hollow is a house rental, it is not fancy or even modernized; however it was extremely clean, comfortable and well stocked. The 3 bedrooms are small but cozy, at one end of the house, and at the other end is a very spacious living room with TV, futon (for extra guests) and fireplace. This is a very livable arrangement, a group can spread out and manage well on different sleep schedules. I also found it better stocked than other house rentals - paper goods, cleaning supplies, firewood, and even toiletries were provided, as well as linens including good quality towels. In addition, Kellee was helpful and professional. I hestiated over whether to give it 4 or 5 stars, but, in the end have to go with 4 because some might be surprised to pay this price for an unrenovated older home. It would have been a nice touch to include breakfast or at least coffee but it was crystal clear that we were not to ener the main B&B at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MN_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acmill99, Owner at Catskill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

We are so glad that you had a great experience at the Hudson Hollow. We take pride in providing a clean, well-stocked rental house, so thank you for acknowledging and appreciating it!

Indeed, because the Hudson Hollow is a separate rental unit from the B&B, guests are not provided access to the B&B nor its amenities (including breakfast and coffee service at the B&B) since we are only accommodate a certain number of people at the B&B. We do keep coffee, cream, and sugar stocked in the kitchen at the Hudson Hollow, as well as provide guests a list of various options for breakfast in the area, some of which are within walking distance.

We are glad that we were able to make your family comfortable and that you were able to enjoy the hand-chopped wood we provided for you to have a cozy fire each night in the fireplace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
299 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
148 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beds On Clouds Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.7 mi away
Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catskill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catskill Lodge

Address: 350 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5327
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range: $110 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catskill Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1893, our Victorian home offers historic charm, modern amenities, and a relaxed, communal feel. Start your morning with a freshly prepared hot breakfast. In the evening, gather round the campfire or soak in the hot tub while gazing at the star-studded sky. Catskill Lodge, a registered historic site, sits atop a hill on five lush acres of property, complete with our own wooded nature trail and plenty of friendly wildlife. The area’s best outdoor adventures are just minutes away, from skiing, snowboarding, and snowshoeing to cycling, mountain biking, golf, hiking, fishing, farm tours, and scenic drives. Our seven-bedroom inn accommodates 16 guests, while the Hudson Hollow, our three-bedroom vacation rental next door, sleeps six. We offer the coziness and personal service of a bed-and-breakfast without the stuffiness of a traditional B&B. Group rentals and weddings welcome! Let us help you plan your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Catskill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catskill Lodge b&b
Catskill Hotel Windham
Catskill Lodge Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing