We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great couple get away! Best hosts too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Kettle Motel Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great couple get away! Best hosts too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I were in a queen room Feb 1-3rd to go skiing at Hunter Mountain. Check-in was a breeze, I walked away smiling with one of those old school dum-dum lollypops you got as a kid at the bank, it’s the small things right?! We were pleasantly surprised with how toasty warm the room was when we opened the door. Everything was clean – and I loved that they had all-natural bathroom soaps/shampoos. That night we had a drink in the bar lodge area and Lisa/Don let us order in food from a local take-away and eat it at the bar! My hubby was impressed with the beer on tap and I loved they had my Angry Orchard Gluten Free Organic cider – great selection! The next day it was so convenient, free breakfast in the main building and just jumped in the car minutes to skiing, and Copper Kettle even hooked us up with discount lift tickets. Basically we loved it, it was so homey. We booked another weekend right away for President’s Day and look forward to snowboarding at Windham Mountain this time. Hubby has even talked about coming back in the summer already for clay pigeon shooting, fly fishing and mountain biking…something tells me I will just be at their pool! Simply loved our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    25
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
35
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at Copper Kettle Cottages this past weekend. We had the BEST time. The owners, Don & Lisa could not have been more accommodating. They have a cute bar that serves excellent craft beers and a great selection of wine. A clean room, Very reasonable rates, free continental breakfast in the morning, and discounted lift tickets - we were wondering what the catch was. There wasn't one! It's not a 4 star hotel, but it's certainly a comfortable, homey place to stay for a ski weekend as it's super close to the mountain and restaurants. I can't say enough good things about this place - Don & Lisa were amazing, and we will definitely be back soon!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We also booked the Copper Kettle last minute and really enjoyed our stay. I hate to be repetitive but I fully agree with the last review.

The room was very clean with with nice touches like a down comforter and an organic air freshner. This is updated rustic comfort at its best. The inn keepers are very nice and welcoming and make the stay even more pleasant. Most importantly, my kids did not have to share a bed as the room had two double beds and a single. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skatz927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked the Copper Kettle last minute and really enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean with with nice touches like a down comforter and an organic air freshner. This is updated rustic comfort at its best. The inn keepers are very nice and welcoming and make the stay even more pleasant. Great beer selection at the bar!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYSKIER31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Clean as a whistle. Very pleasant and efficient check-in (with sweet doggy greeting) and check-out. Spotless room. Simple but charming. Town and ski area very close. Thanks for a lovely and comfortable stay. Will come again b

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elk246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I grew up in the Catskills and know that family-owned hotels can really be hit-or-miss around here. That being said, Copper Kettle was a lovely surprise. The owners are so pleasant, hardworking, and downright nice- and they understand what travelers need and expect in their accommodations. The room was very clean and cozy. These owners have high standards and heart- they even care about clean remote controls! The bar has great selections on tap- it's pretty unusual to see Palm in this area. Breakfast was more than adequate- quite a nice selection of bagels, fresh fruit, coffee/tea, yogurt, preserves, and homemade muffins. We had a wonderful, relaxing stay. If you're looking for excellent value, clean, rustic, and scenic- this is your place! We will DEFINITELY be back and wish the owners all the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saxophonegirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just came back from our first stay at Copper Kettle and can't say enough GOOD about it. The room (#3)was immaculate and VERY comfortable. The decor was done in such a way that it gave a very cozy/homey feeling. We were there for the Columbus weekend Octoberfest and the lodge is very close to Hunter Mountain,which made it very convenient for us. The town of Windham has a lot of nice restaurants etc. The best part of the stay was our hosts Don and Lisa. They couldn't have been more accomodating. They are very knowledgeable about the area. They were great about not only recommending restaurants (when we told them what we had in mind) but also told us what to expect dollarwise. It was so refreshing to see this young couple so passionate about this endeavor. They've only owned this motel about 1 1/2 years and have already started to make improvements and have plans for the future. We booked this motel mainly because it is pet friendly but we can't wait to come back as we really loved our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
15.1 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
1.3 mi away
Catskill Lodge Bed and Breakfast
8.7 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 2 in Prattsville
3.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Kettle Motel Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Kettle Motel Cottages

Property: Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Address: 5098 Rt. 23, Windham, NY 12496 (Formerly Kopper Kettle Motel)
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Kettle Motel Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Kettle has 12 Standard guest rooms, a Cottage Suite and a 4 Bedroom house available for your lodging needs. We pride ourselves on offering visitors nothing less than exceptionally clean and comfortable accommodations, warm hospitality and reasonable prices. Winter Season: Hot Buffett Breakfast is included and provided for all cottage and standard room guests on weekends and holidays. Continental Breakfast provided on weekends Summer & Fall. Discounted lift tickets to both Windham and Hunter Mountains are available for purchase for all Copper Kettle guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Copper Kettle Motel Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages Hotel Windham
Kopper Kettle Hotel
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing