We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing going on in the summer”
Review of Windham Mountain

Windham Mountain
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This year-round resort area in the Catskills offers a full range of outdoor recreation, from skiing and snowboarding in the winter, to swimming, hiking and biking in the warmer summer months.
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“nothing going on in the summer”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

There was a long board and luge competition there the weekend we were there. OK but not all that exciting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkewley, Guest Relations Manager at Windham Mountain, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Windham Mountain Resort. The "I Love NYS Downhill Street Luge" races were going on the weekend you visited but there are a lot of additional activities that you can take part in when you visit us in the summer.
For example the Windham Country Club has a beautiful 18 hole championship golf course that is open to the public seven days a week with a great pub and deck where you can enjoy spectacular sunsets as evening arrives. Other events we've had so far were the annual 4th of July parade, BBQ followed by an incredible fireworks display. Two weeks ago we held the POC Eastern States Cup Mountain Bike race and last weekend was the Tour of the Catskills which is a three day road bike competition with riders from coming from all over. This week beginning on Wednesday and rnning through Sunday is the UCI World Cup Mt. Bike Race. It returns to WMR for the 4th year featuring the best riders in the world arriving from many countries to compete at WMR. September 6th is our annual Oktoberfest and in October we host the Ahimsa Yoga and Music Festival the 4th-6th. A new event has been added October 26th; the 02X Endurance Race on the Mountain itself.
So far I've only mentioned what we have going on at the resort but don't forget the natural beauty of the Great Northern Catskill Mountains with great hiking, Mt & road biking, fishing, swimming, hunting and just plain old kicking back.
Drop by our web site windhammountain.com for more info on whats new and whats coming up. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me at the area (518) 734-4300.

Sincerely,
Jefferson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    97
    23
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Good Escape”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I usually go here to escape the crowds of Hunter Mountain.

The terrain is ok but not as varied and difficult as Hunter. They really only have 3 really advanced trails.

The terrain park is better than Hunter and sometimes I just go there if I'm bored because again, the trails here are not difficult at all unless you go to those 3 double blacks.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love Windham Mountain!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We used to ski at only Hunter Mountain, but since buying a home in Windham we have chosen to ski here instead. I think Windham Mountain by far offers better facilities and also offers a nice range of trails for all levels. It is definitely more quiet and refined than Hunter, which is a good thing! Can't wait for next ski season!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank avz156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkstown, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ski Windham”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

What a great family vacation spot. Windham is beautiful, safe, and there is a great variety of trails for all levels. The town has some super restaurants and shops. Will definitely return. Rented off the mountain and took a shuttle daily. Great option as you can check your skis on the mt. and travel light. Good travel agent in Windham: Terry MacDonald at Shaw Realty. She found us the perfect property to rent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueClarkstown_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well organized operation, efficient”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Skied here two weekends in a row in Feb of 2014. They had great snow, and the operation is very well organized. The ski rental is very stream lined. We arrived early around 8:30 and left early afternoon. The bathrooms are clean, and if you arrive early you maybe able to find a locker to put your stuff away. Lockers work with quarters and they have a change machine in the lobby. We stayed at The George Ellen Bed and Breakfast 20 min away on Round Top.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Outdoors_Couple_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windham Mountain also viewed

Windham, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 

Been to Windham Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing