We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and terrible breakfast”
Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Stayed for one night in August. It wasn’t the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in, but it was the most overpriced for what it was - $155 plus tax. Basically this place is a motel and nothing more. The room itself was on the second floor with a Jacuzzi tub with a shower above – the tub was pretty grubby so I didn’t use it. The room wasn’t filthy, but it wasn’t spotlessly clean either, and the towels were worn and frayed. It was really a basic motel room with some wooden beams fitted to the ceiling, and a narrow balcony overlooking the parking lot. Probably the best things about it were the shower, which was really good, and the comfortable bed. The worst thing about the whole experience was breakfast. I’d read about the ‘home baked pastries’, but the only thing on offer, in a tiny room where we had nowhere to sit and had to return to our rooms to eat breakfast, were pallid, pasty, pitiful croissants. They looked like the kind that come in a can to be baked at home and tasted disgusting. The other breakfast options were pre-packaged cereal and some grapes –it was very poor. All in all, shocking food, mediocre room and high, high price. Won’t be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewYorkTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 299 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

ok..just finished a weekend at the Hotel Vienna..let me think about the negatives...ok it's been a few hours and I could only think of one thing..the fresh hot breadpudding that was waiting for me after a day of skiing needed a drop more sugar (only kidding)..this place is great value, great staff and ownership..I mean even the shuttle driver is a gem...great hot-tub, breakfast more than adequate for the ski oriented, and continuous hot chocolate, cider, cookies, etc in front of the fireplace made for a great weekend 21/2 hours from staten island.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrinkstatenisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

After reading a lot of good reviews for this hotel decided to give it a try and I am glad I did. This hotel is very cozy, cute, clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed for 3nights and hit the slopes for 2 days which we enjoyed very much. The rooms were very spacious and have free wifi. The continental breakfast is just like any other coffee, OJ, croissants, cereal. They have a shuttle that goes to Windham mountain, Andy the driver was very helpful the whole time we were there. Definitely will be going back, Windham mountain is also a great skiing location, there are ski rental shops before you get to the mountain it is best to rent your ski gear from there since it is much cheaper than at the mountain.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsepulveda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We are a young couple in our twenties and we thought this was a very home-y feeling hotel. Hotel decor and some ammenities were outdated but the bed was huge and pretty comfortable. Also, everything was extremely clean. The continental breakfast consisted of warm strawberry cheese danishs which seems to be freshly made. along with other options such as cereal, croissant, fruit, tea, Coffee, hot cocoa, etc. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast room and living room both have comfy fireplaces. The mointainview room that we paid extra for did not look like it does on the website. All in all a great place to stay at windhm mountain, especially for families. We enjoyed our stay and would come back when we go to ski at windham mt again.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanrynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We spend 4 days in Windham to go skiing in January and decided to stay in this hotel after reading the reviews, and I have to say we weren't disappointed. This is a perfect, relaxed, "feels like home" hotel. Rooms are lovely clean and spaceous. Rick and the rest of the staff are unbelieveably friendly and helpful - they even gave us freshly baked cookies when we were leaving to nibble on during the bus trip back to New York! Andy the bus driver in particular couldn't have done more for us. If you're looking for a hotel with personality, a relaxed atmosphere and hospitable staff then choose Hotel Vienna. Just two things that may not suit everyone - the breakfast is a basic, serve yourself continental style which suited us as we wanted to eat quickly and get up to the slopes, but if you're expecting a cooked breakfast you'll be disappointed. Secondy, the hotel is a good 30 minutes walk from the centre of Windham - however, there are taxis and if Andy is around he may give you a lift, or if you want there is a lovely restaurant closer (say 10 mins walk) and also a pizzeria, mini-market and pharmacy. I would really recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Loved the breakfast and warm cookies in the afternoon. Good selection of DVDs to watch along with cable channels... Great customer service and location to mountain... Highly recommend

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank MpFs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Rick was great and so helpful during our stay. Our room was clean and spacious, the breakfast room was so nice to be able to have tea/coffee whenever you wanted it and to be able to sit by the fire was so romantic. We also used the pool and jacuzzi and that was a blast at night when we were the only ones in there. We would come back next week if we could. :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keywest06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
14.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
148 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
137 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
0.7 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Address: 107 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Price Range: $120 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vienna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Styled Chalet Hotel, located within the Catskill Mountain State Park. 1 mile from Windham Mtn, 1/4 mile from the Windham Country Club and 8 miles from Hunter Mtn Ski Area and NY ZipLine adventure. Each room has 32" LCD TV w/DVD, Ipod docking radio, refrigerator, in room phone, private bath, private balcony, A/C, blow dryer. Continental Breakfast served daily, and the pool and Jacuzzi are open year round 10am to 10pm. Wifi available through the entire hotel, computer for guest use, living room with fireplace and outdoor fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Windham
Hotel Vienna Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing