We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Vienna was a beautiful anniversary getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rock Hill, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hotel Vienna was a beautiful anniversary getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent 3 delightful days here in the Catskills celebrating our 47th wedding anniversary. The continental breakfasts were excellent and the owners of the Hotel Vienna went out of there way to accommodate our needs and provide directions to some very interesting restaurants. We had a mountain view and a balcony, even though we were on the first floor. We brought our swim suits but didn't use them because we just rested and relaxed to our hearts content. We booked this through TravelZoo so we got a break on the cost. The wi-fi connection was free and was for the most part quite good. I will definitely consider returning to the Hotel Vienna in the future.

Room Tip: Handicapped persons should request a first floor room on the mountain-view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    77
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
71
134
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spent 3delightful days at the Vienna hotel celebrating our 39th wedding anniversary. The room was WEST POINT CLEAN. THE staff cheerful , helpful , knowledgable . The location was just what we wanted, allowing exploration of the surrounding area. We had several enjoyable meals at area restaurants at reasonable prices. We definitely intend to return. When reading some of the negative reviews, I wonder if they really stayed in the VIENNA because my wife and I who have stayed in many hotels and motels in the NORTHEAST found it to be amongst the best places we have ever stayed.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jamusr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMPHIS, TENN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Staff was all very accommdating to make our stay most enjoyable. We were very pleased with the accomendations and service. We would definitely come back and recommend to others!
We celebrated our 52nd wedding anniversity in a liitle bit of heaven!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACKSONBURG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel is clean and comfortable. Indoor pool is great for all ages. Grounds are well maintained and provide a relaxing atmosphere. Location is close to a number of diverse restaurants. Staff is excellent and helpfull. Living room area on the lower level is very nice, stocked with games large flat screen television and dvd player. Breakfast selection is limited but tasty. Avoid room 231, it is listed as an "apartment", not shown on the website, located on the lower level. Utility lines in the ceiling and floor noises from the next level, loud people who stay in the living room past the 1000 PM closure time are unnerving for light sleepers. Overall Hotel Vienna is very nice and we will stay there again, just not in Room 231.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 231.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I really wanted to give 5 stars for this wonderfully maintained and clean property. I got a travelzoo voucher for 2 nights in a "MOUNTAIN VIEW" room. The "view" was one of the most important reason that I bought the deal to begin with. Upon arrival, to our surprise, we found out that the room had a view of the parking lot! On inquiring at the front desk, we were 'rudely' told that it was mentioned while making the reservation! She spoke as if we were some bums from the street asking for free accommodation!
People go to Catskills to look at the mountains and enjoy nature, if we had to look at parked cars we could easily do that in the city!

Seems like they pulled off the old lawyer trick when I made the reservation. They should have said "we DO NOT have a mountain view room at this time" instead of "you have a king size, Jacuzzi room booked" Of course we thought the mountain view was obviously included!

Our trip could definitely have been way better for sure! At least if they had handled the case more maturely and politely!

Room Tip: Make sure to double check on the room type while making the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bhushan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrviennawindham, Owner at Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your room. There was a high demand of rooms for those dates because it was a Holiday period. Due to the high volume of requests, we did offer the rooms without the mountain view to accommodate the travelers dates, however, we were very specific telling each guest while taking the reservations that the rooms with the Mountain View were unavailable for those dates. When you arrived a room with a Mountain View was still not available therefore we were unable to fufill your request.
Again, we are very sorry that you were disappointed and hope you may come visit us again.
Rick and Amy Rasmussen Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have been going to this hotel for Years!!! We love it here, the rooms are great so much room and very clean. We stay in the upper level rooms and love the whirlpool tub. Rick and staff are so helpful and very friendly! We sometimes have had friends come up with us and they always enjoy it just as much as us. We will be back this July (2013) and are looking so forward to because we just got engaged and we can celebrate!! Just a great, great place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Vienna for one evening. Everyone was extremely pleasant, helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. There is a 'living room' set-up on the lower floor of the building with comfy chairs, couches and a TV. The smell of fresh croissants fill the air in the morinng as they start preparing for breakfast. When checking out, I had hoped we could have stayed another night, but our plans did not allow. The grounds are nicely manicured and the smell of the blooming liliacs made it all the more memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
19.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
0.6 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
14.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
0.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 9 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Property: Hotel Vienna
Address: 107 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vienna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Styled Chalet located one mile from Windham Mtn, 1/4 mile from the Windham Country Club and 8 miles from Hunter Mtn Ski Area and NY ZipLine adventure. Each room has 32" LCD TV w/DVD, Ipod docking radio, refrigerator, in room phone, private bath, private balcony, A/C, blow dryer. Continental Breakfast served daily, and the pool and Jacuzzi are open year round 10am to 10pm. Wifi available through the entire hotel, computer for guest use, living room with fireplace and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Windham
Hotel Vienna Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing