We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home (plus more)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ontario, California
1 review
“Home Away From Home (plus more)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

Our stay at this hotel was great! Came up with a girlfriend and our four year old daughters for a ski weekend. I first choose it as it seems to be the only hotel close to Windham with an indoor pool. And this worked out great! Nice warm pool with a hot tub right next to it, so we could soak and still watch the kids swim. A great way to end the day after skiing.

The staff was wonderful. I feel like I made a real friend with Patti at the front desk. I had such a good time I went back with my husband the following weekend. The rates were even lowered since it was close to the end of the ski season. Nice rooms and a very homey environment.

Just watch you speed as you head back to the highway. I got a speeding ticket just one mile before the highway in Catskill. I'm going back to fight the ticket and guess where I'll be staying. Yes, my new favorite home away from home. :-)

  • Liked — Staff, pool, location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mullach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    78
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
74
138
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

We booked a 3 day ski getaway and decided to give Vienna a shot. We are so happy in our decision to stay here.
Timing was great- Perfect time to hit the slopes with no crowds and hotel was quiet.

Back to the hotel- Service was exemplary. The staff (especially Patty- ASK FOR PATTY WHEN YOU STAY HERE) was wonderful, willing to answer any and all questions. They directed us to great places to eat while offering us snacks (warm cookies after a ski run was awesome) and drinks throughout our stay.

The room was quite spacious, clean and well kept. Between hotel service, location to the mountain (rocks throw- 2 minute drive) and great package pricing, you can't go wrong at the Vienna.

Until we save enough to buy a home up here (a long time from now), the Hotel Vienna will be where we stay in Windham.

PS- Pillows were firm (bring your own).
PSS- Don't use Mapquest or your Nav system. Folow the directions given by the hotel- TRUST US!

- Sam & Erika H.

  • Liked — Service, Location to Mountain
  • Disliked — Pillows (too firm)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

The Hotel Vienna was a last minute reservation. I called on the evening of the 22nd to check in on the 23rd. I spoke with Pattie for about 20 minutes and could not wait to meet her the next day.

We felt right at home. Our two boys, ages 14 and 11 yrs were so impressed with how nice and homey the hotel is. The rooms are large and very clean. After spending the day at Windham Ski, it was great to check into a nice hotel, relax and watch a movie on the hotel room DVD player! We actually watched two movies before falling off too sleep. Forgot to mention they have a heated indoor pool.

The Rasmussen family made a good choice in putting Patti at the front desk. Her help and knowledge of the area, got us discounts at Charlie's Ski rental and a good recommendation to Mikes Diner.

Our visit next year to Windham will definilty include staying at the Hotel Vienna.

Lominy Family

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank LominyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

I stumbled upon this place with internet search and looking for affordable CLOSE places to Windham mountain. Not sure what I expected, but the heated pool and jacuzzi sold me in. I got there, and the room was a lot cleaner and bigger than I expected, and the pool was spacious, and the complimentary breakfast and the friendly staff was an added bonus. Would definitely come back here anytime and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank demarest777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

Stay was excellent. Hotel Vienna was clean, friendly and had proper amenities esp for a ski weekend. They had brunch each morning for the guests, and afternoon cider and cookies nice to have when you come back from a cold day of skiing, it was great. The staff was more than helpful, anything we needed they were right on top of it. Last but not least, I left my diamond eaarings in the room and they found them and returned them, honest folks!
Thanks again Patti and Hotel Vienna it was great.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank carolinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

i would love to say how much my boyfriend and i enjoyed our valentines experience and Hotel Vienna... I never felt so at home. I found a side link to there hotel so i clicked on it and i came up with this wonderful wine getaway package which included a king bed with a jacuzzi and a balcony over looking the mountains, a bottle of wine and chocolate truffles in our room waiting for us.. we then went to our own private wine tasting where JIm took very good care of us as well as a fabulous dinner at vesuvio which also included 2 more free bottles of wine.. when we came back to the hotel i finally got to meet a wonderful woman Patty who was amazing and so helpful with my trip planning since my boyfriend had no idea that i was bringing him to this wonderful getaway... we enjoyed the heated indoor pool and hottub that evening and it was to die for and so relaxing after a long day of drinking wine!! I was so dissappointed when i woke up and realized it was time to check out of this wonderful time we were having. so we decided to take advantage of the wonderful danishes i heard so much about and let me tell you how great the were!!! once we checked out we got this lovely gift basket with homemade syrup, honey, 2 crystal wine glasses and yes another free bottle of wine!! The best part is that its so inexpensive as well and everything is included where they make all the reservations for you at check-in....I must say if im ever in the catskills again i will be staying at hotel vienna everytime... unfortunately i didnt get to meet Amy or Rick but i hear from everyone that stayed there that they are amazing people so hopefully on my next stay there i will get the pleasure of meeting the 2 people behind this wonderful private owned hotel... Thank you again Hotel Vienna!! John & Jennifer from Schenectady, NY

  • Liked — Patty
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny822r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, N.J.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

Recommended to Hotel Vienna when no availability at Windham Mountain properties. Didn't know what to expect. Immaculately clean property with a friendly smile at the front desk at all times. Very helpful with reservations. Rooms were spacious and well appointed though a larger TV set(19" currently) is certainly needed. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were a nice late day apres-ski activity. The breakfast room and fireplace create a nice ambiance and the food and snacks were plentiful. A ski storage room was heated and convenient. We liked it so much we've already booked for next season and will skip the hub-bub of the condo rentals.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsrus2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.6 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
14.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 10 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
6.4 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#3 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Property: Hotel Vienna
Address: 107 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vienna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Styled Chalet located one mile from Windham Mtn, 1/4 mile from the Windham Country Club and 8 miles from Hunter Mtn Ski Area and NY ZipLine adventure. Each room has 32" LCD TV w/DVD, Ipod docking radio, refrigerator, in room phone, private bath, private balcony, A/C, blow dryer. Continental Breakfast served daily, and the pool and Jacuzzi are open year round 10am to 10pm. Wifi available through the entire hotel, computer for guest use, living room with fireplace and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Windham
Hotel Vienna Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing