We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel was very nice for me and my family with a great view. We were so lucky we even had some snow, something like 12+ inches. Rick was always there to help us around and on the snow day he literally bailed everyone out from the hotel parking. The inside pool was very good and my daughter was the one that tried it out. As a suggestion maybe it would be OK to put showers in the restrooms by the pool. The rooms were great, clean no smells of any kind. The staff is awesome. I do recommend.

Room Tip: Always ask for the rooms facing the mountain, they have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rongi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    78
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
74
138
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is nicely situated, clean and tidy, if a bit dated, but it's a Catskill ski hotel so who cares. We rented a room with two queen beds. Very good size. Didn’t use the TV though it looked fairly new.

The hotel puts out a simple breakfast with coffee and cereals. They also offer a discount on lift tickets and a coupon for 10% off ski rental at the shop down on the corner.

The only issue I had with the place was the tap water. The water smelled strongly of sulfur. I’ve read about sulfur in the water in the area and they say it’s harmless. Anyway it’s gross and it smells pretty bad. Bring bottled water.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Exploricon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed a night just before Christmas so it was definetly a slow time for the hotel. The staff is friendly and let me use their dryer after a wet morning of snowboarding (they normally don't do this but I was one of only a few staying there at the time).

There are small platforms at the end of the bed about half the bed's height that you can sit on. Not sure what they're called but helpful for putting on snow equipment.

They ask that you do your inital checkin by 10pm (I made it by 4 minutes) but they won't lock you out if you arrive later.

Room Tip: The balcony would be a good idea in warm weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Recently had opportunity to have extended stay at Hotel Vienna. Wef found the rooms to be very comfortable with all amenities. The breakfast in the morning was very good especially the croissants and danishes and the breakfast room was cozy with a fireplace!. The pool was welcomed at the end of the day. We found Rick and his staff to be very friendly and attentive to all our needs. They get an A plus in our book.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martinholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I found this hotel warm and inviting. The owners were very personable and friendly. The breakfast room was a warm room where they had fresh hot pastries that were delicious along with hot and cold cereal, coffee, tea, juice, etc. The rooms were a little dated but the bed was quite comfortable, jacuzzi tub and free wi-fi. At night , you could pull up a chair in front of the gas fireplace in the breakfast room. There was an indoor pool and hot tub in a seperate building that had windows on three sides. Over all, I thought the hotel a great bargain and intend to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYWayneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

While we didn't have the pleasure of meeting Amy, our positive experience with Rick started before we even booked the room! Fantastic experience from start to finish! Clean rooms, excellent service, and a fantastic location. A top notch operation!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayval2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I used the very convenient eighty dollar mid-week-stay coupon found on the Tripadvisor site and enjoyed a spacious second story room with a pretty view of the distant hills. The well-kept room and bathroom were very clean, as were the furniture and king bed. A sign in the bathroom notes that the hotel's water source is an artesian well and may have a sulfur odor - I did notice a slight smell when showering but it wasn't a concern. Only the Jacuzzi looked tired and in need of a face lift.

The room included a new flat screen TV with extensive cable coverage plus a DVD player for the many movie titles available at no cost from the front desk (whose staff was always friendly and helpful). Sure, the fabric styles and lighting fixtures are dated, but I wasn't expecting the latest in fashion. The hotel was extremely quiet and I had a great night's sleep before an early rise to hike the Catskill high peaks.

I appreciate a hotel like the Vienna where the staff works to keep the rooms and grounds in order. Not everything here is brand new, but I enjoyed a clean, friendly and quiet stay and will return if I'm back in the Cats.

Room Tip: Second story rooms facing the mountains have a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.6 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
0.7 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#3 of 6 in Hunter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
6.4 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#5 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Property: Hotel Vienna
Address: 107 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vienna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Styled Chalet located one mile from Windham Mtn, 1/4 mile from the Windham Country Club and 8 miles from Hunter Mtn Ski Area and NY ZipLine adventure. Each room has 32" LCD TV w/DVD, Ipod docking radio, refrigerator, in room phone, private bath, private balcony, A/C, blow dryer. Continental Breakfast served daily, and the pool and Jacuzzi are open year round 10am to 10pm. Wifi available through the entire hotel, computer for guest use, living room with fireplace and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Windham
Hotel Vienna Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing