We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, clean and quiet stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Buffalo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A friendly, clean and quiet stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I used the very convenient eighty dollar mid-week-stay coupon found on the Tripadvisor site and enjoyed a spacious second story room with a pretty view of the distant hills. The well-kept room and bathroom were very clean, as were the furniture and king bed. A sign in the bathroom notes that the hotel's water source is an artesian well and may have a sulfur odor - I did notice a slight smell when showering but it wasn't a concern. Only the Jacuzzi looked tired and in need of a face lift.

The room included a new flat screen TV with extensive cable coverage plus a DVD player for the many movie titles available at no cost from the front desk (whose staff was always friendly and helpful). Sure, the fabric styles and lighting fixtures are dated, but I wasn't expecting the latest in fashion. The hotel was extremely quiet and I had a great night's sleep before an early rise to hike the Catskill high peaks.

I appreciate a hotel like the Vienna where the staff works to keep the rooms and grounds in order. Not everything here is brand new, but I enjoyed a clean, friendly and quiet stay and will return if I'm back in the Cats.

Room Tip: Second story rooms facing the mountains have a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    74
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
68
126
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

First off it is more a motel than a hotel. The place is neither charming nor rustic, it is just an old place in need of a major upgrade. The room was repulsive, musty and smelly. Bed linen was so outdated and had a terrible musty smell. Old, worn carpetting. Uncomfortable bed and pillows. Old TV with few channels. Bathroom was renovated with a jacuzzi-like tub but I dared not soak in the tub cos I was just so disgusted with the general atmosphere of the hotel room. We had food delivered from an outside restaurant. We were definitely not interested in the continental breakfast nor did we use the indoor pool. We would have left if we hadn't had such a long work week and driven such a long way to get there. The hallway reminded me of some, old drab western motel (like in the movies).

We get that you (hotel vienna) are a small town hotel but for the price, do some upgrading.

On the other hand, the staff seemed friendly. The hotel did have some nice scenery. But no nice views if your room faced the parking lot like ours did. We came here after reading the favorable reviews, which after our stay I can't fathom why anyone would write them. We don't plan on coming back and would not recommend this place to anyone we know.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Uche2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel Vienna was a marvelous place and an exceptional value with the Living Social special. It was a nice way to meet sole proprietors who take pride in their establishment and do everything possible to make your stay with them memorable.

Breakfasts consisted of a continental breakfast with fresh baked croissants, as well as a delectable strawberry/cream cheese filled pastry, fresh fruit, oatmeal, cereals, and yogurt. They also had a variety of coffee, juice as well as teas and cider/hot chocolate packets. And in the afternoon, if you were lucky enough to be at the hotel during late afternoons, Rock made an amazing bread pudding that was simply scrumptious!

The rooms were spacious, with a private balcony and chairs, and maintained in excellent condition. Views were breathtaking, especially during last week’s peak foliage season. Jacuzzi tub/shower with hot water to spare and along with spa favorites and a welcome wine basket gave an extra flair to the accommodations.

A piece of heaven in the Catskills. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Great places to eat within a mile of the hotel but make sure you save room for the lavish breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLHalliday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had another great family weekend at Hotel Vienna!! It's like a home away from home!! Love the people that we've met and Rick, Amy and their staff are just the nicest people!! Do yourself a favor and pay them a visit - you will not regret it!!! We will be back in January!!!! ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyFan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanticoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Hotel Vienna is one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed at, the host was very helpful, great place to stay if traveling through the Catskills. My wife and I traveled to the Catskills to go to Catskill Mountain Thunder Motorcycle rally.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Vienna for the weekend right after Labor Day and this was the best weekend getaway in every respect. The hotel is situated in a very small town where everything you encounter has this small town feel to it. The hotel itself is clean, quiet, and has everything you need and nothing you don't. We had a mountain view King size bed room, which was very spacious, it had a balcony overlooking beautiful trees, and we even some a bird on our balcony. The room and everything in it was clean and not outdated like some other hotels have. When we walked into the hotel to check in, there was a very pleasant smell in it and some soft music playing in the background, which made us feel right away like we were in a very serene and homey place. The dining area is very clean and organized just like everything else there, it has a fridge (there is a small fridge in every room as well), and you can warm us something in the microwave, have tea/coffee throughout the day as well as orange juice and milk. For breakfast, they serve freshly made croissants and danishes with cream cheese and jam, bananas, cereal and yogurt. If you are looking for a big breakfast, then this may not be enough for you in which case they have a breakfast place nearby, but for us this was sufficient. Maybe a little more variety of fresh fruit for breakfast would be a nice addition. The indoor pool and Jacuzzi is located in another building steps from the main one and there are towels there and two bathrooms/change rooms. The water is warm and there were hardly any people there during the day. There are also some chairs outside so you can sit and relax outside if you like. The staff could not be nicer or more helpful. I am so happy I picked this place based on the wonderful reviews in Tripadvisor and did not disappoint. We will definitely go back next year for another getaway from our hectic NYC lives.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irochka111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Hotel Vienna is small cozy, clean and feels like home. Staff is exceptional. We usually go to the fairs held at Hunter Mountain and this quiet place is only minutes away. Golf is very close. Of course, my favorite is the indoor pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: Go online. You can pick a specific room. Odd numbers have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
19.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
14.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 5 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 10 in Windham
5.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Property: Hotel Vienna
Address: 107 State Rte 296, Windham, NY 12496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vienna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Styled Chalet located one mile from Windham Mtn, 1/4 mile from the Windham Country Club and 8 miles from Hunter Mtn Ski Area and NY ZipLine adventure. Each room has 32" LCD TV w/DVD, Ipod docking radio, refrigerator, in room phone, private bath, private balcony, A/C, blow dryer. Continental Breakfast served daily, and the pool and Jacuzzi are open year round 10am to 10pm. Wifi available through the entire hotel, computer for guest use, living room with fireplace and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Windham
Hotel Vienna Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing