We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Golf Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christman's Windham House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Christman's Windham House to your Saves list
Christman's Windham House
5742 Route 23, Windham, NY 12496   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Windham B&B and Inns
East Meadow, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Golf Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Three years ago I was fortunate to be invited to join a group of friends who have been planning and enjoying golf outing together for many years. Last year they changed their upstate resort to Christmans Windham House and everyone was blown away by the food, the amenities and the friendliness of the staff. Bob and Ruth Christman treat you as one of the family. The mountain course is well maintained and the panoramic views are worth the price by themselves. We played a round and a half on Friday, two rounds on Saturday and some of us who still had some energy left played a round on Sunday morning before we left. I can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
11
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellmore, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just held our weekend golf outing at Christmans. The mountain course is challenging but not overwhelming to the average golfer. The rooms are quaint and clean. The food is well prepared and plentiful. The pool was refreshing after our rounds of golf. There were outdoor activities available such as horseshoes and shuffleboard. On Friday night there was a band playing in their bar/lounge. The bar/lounge had darts, pool, shuffleboard, ping pong and plenty of space if you just preferred to relax at a table or at the bar and listen to the music. There is also an outdoor deck where you can enjoy the views. The real attraction of Christmas is the owners and staff. The owners are friendly and accommodating and the service and staff are outstanding. I can’t imagine you getting a better value for your dollar than Christmans

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlP0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Christman's are really nice people and very accommodating. The rooms were nice and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the mountain course in great shape and very challenging. The employees from the golf pro to restaurant staff are very friendly and really make you feel at home. This was our second outing at Christman's and we all plan to be back next year. It is a great value and I would recommend to anyone looking to get away for a nice golf trip or any groups looking for a great outing and a good time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomR711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great golf! Beautiful scenery! Great food! Rooms were neat and clean. Had a great band on Friday night at the tavern. The rates are very reasonable for all the golf, food and cozy rooms. We will definitely be back again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monty329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My first ever trip to this local. the golf course was in fine shape even after bad rain for many days.The views alone would have made the golf outing but the service we got from ALL STAFF just put our 3 day get away over the top. For the money they charge they cant be beat!!
p.s Food wise a 10 ( little muffins in am should be outlawed) cant just have one! The dinners were plate licking good!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa,NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just came back from a golf weekend with 26 of my longtime friends at Christman's Windham house.This was our second year in a row there. From start to finish everything was excellent. Quick check in, very nice large rooms, well organized staff, beautiful and challenging golf course , great food and friendly owners. Entire place is very accomodating and service is quick with friendly waitresses and could not have made our trip any better. Owners Ruth and Brian are easily accessible and answer any questions as well as going out of their way to keep everyone happy. Eirik and his staff in the golf pro shop were extremely well organized and made our rounds of golf more enjoyable.. I would definitely recommend Christman's to anyone looking for a great place to stay or play a round of golf.
Bobby R.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyRMassapequa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked a last minute weekend at Christmans for a ski weekend at Windham. It worked out great. We got in very late, near 11pm, and no one was at the office, but they had left a registration card for me to fill out and sign with the room key next to it. Very quaint, but also proficient. They had already placed our requested roll away bed and extra linens in the room. he room was very basic but comfortable, blow dryer, fridge and tv were all servicable. No in room coffee, but no bigee - they leave that stuff out in the Inn (a separate building). Breakfast is included - for free?? and it was pretty good - not a cheap spread at all. Hearty country breakfast is availabe for a eparate charge and it was very good. No reason to stop anywhere else before hitting the slopes - just 1 mile down the road at Windham. The property has lots of out buildings and one is the old (but still used) sugar shack where they boil sap into syrup. They have a flat screen tv, foosball and air hockey along with couches and a wood stove they kept stoked all night. A nice place to hang out and a great alternative to sitting in your room on the foot of the bed like every other hotel in the world. At $120/night ($144 with the two kids added) it was a bargain and the kind of place that we would return to.

Room Tip: The Inn building is very quaint - but I prefer comfort. We stayed in the Oakhurst building up the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueSheeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
2.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 10 in Windham
5.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beds On Clouds
Beds On Clouds
#2 of 10 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
3.3 mi away
Catskill Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christman's Windham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christman's Windham House

Property: Christman's Windham House
Address: 5742 Route 23, Windham, NY 12496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windham NY mountain resort, hotel, getaway, restaurant, bar, golf, skiing, equestrian, jacuzzi, AC, summer Pool, wireless, cell, pvt bath, newly renovated rooms, suites, efficiencies, packages, families, groups. One mile from Windham ski mountain. Great value, immaculately clean rooms, fine dining, 300 acre resort grounds, 27 golf holes, championship 18 hole course. Largest golf practice and learning facility in NYS. Family owned and managed for 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Christman's Windham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christman`s Windham House Hotel Windham
Christman's Windham House NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing