We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding family destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christman's Windham House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Christman's Windham House
Ranked #5 of 9 Windham B&B and Inns
Glen Ridge, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding family destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is my second time in a month to visit Christman's Windham House and have to say we'll be coming back again. We are avid skiers and found the lodging and restaurant to be of high quality and close to the mountain. They make it very easy to travel with children and could not be more gracious to our children. We look forward to going back in the coming weeks and months.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank FrankGlenRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Me, my wife and son stayed here over MLK weekend. We were pleased with the friendly staff, the owner is on site and even tends bar at night for guests. The inn is close to Windham ski area,they serve a free continental breakfast and a very reasonably priced hot breakfast. The main building where the restaurant and check in are is old, (1803) and looks a little worn, but we stayed in that building and the room was clean, spacious, beds comfortable and the bathroom had been obviously renovated with new tile and fixtures. Their website is not clear on the fact the restaurant is closed in winter for dinner, but there are plenty of great places nearby. Overall a good experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_RLansdale_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

After reading all the great reviews here, I had a moment of disorientation when I entered the inn. This cannot be the place these people stayed. I was tempted to walk outside, then back in, just in case there was some sort of hallucination involved. Nope, apparently people adore shabby rooms with leaky, rusted faucets, plexiglass screwed over the door window ( to keep out traffic noise from the road a few feet away or to stem the fresh subzero breeze playfully ticking our toes? At least it helped with the musty smell!). I could go on ( and on...and on), but at the end of the day, it all got much better when we adjusted our attitude. Expect far less, and you will be much happier. Perhaps it's better in the summer? We were here for skiing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snooglenook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alattheinn, Manager at Christman's Windham House, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
After numerous communications with this guest about rooms in the Inn, he insisted on reserving in this Bldg despite the fact that the bedding was not adequate for his party. We attempted to dissuade him even after his arrival when he complained. He was shown and he refused standard rooms in another bldg.
The Inn is but one option for lodging. It is for people who desire to experience other than chain hotel-like rooms. The Inn, built when Thomas Jefferson was president, evokes more of a home-like or Bed and Breakfast atmosphere. All rooms have modern private baths, yet each room is different. So that the original antique eyebrow windows in the porch door could be protected but still be seen they were covered with plexiglass. To avoid subzero breezes, the guest just needs to turn up the thermostat.
We are sorry this guest's expectations were not met. We are sorry that he struck out mean spiritedly on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, there is no filter on Trip Advisor for mean spiritedness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amboy, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at Christman's Windham House during the holiday weekend. It was a last minute reservation and I have to say it was probably our own fault that we didn’t get a better room. Everything near the ski area was already reserved. This place was the closest to the mountain very conveniently located 1.5 miles from the village. All the stuff was very nice and I really didn’t mind the fact that this was an old, in some way outdated establishment. Those places have a unique charm about them. My complaint is that the room we stayed in was very musty. It smelled of mildew so horribly that we were waking up with a headache. I can still smell mildew in my clothing. Please don’t rent rooms to the customers that are virtually not livable. First think if you would want to sleep in that room. If not for that fact we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arahnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is the third year that I have attended a quilt retreat at Christman's Windham House. I am looking forward to next year's already and I just got home! The food is always excellent. The wait staff is pleasant and quiet. Ruth and Brian Christman, the owners, are ready to help with any issue although issues are a rare event. You won't find them in a corporate office far away from the Inn. This is a family owned and run business and a "fixture" in the Windham area. Ruth might be found serving coffee to help her wait staff and Brian may be found changing light bulbs. Even after last year's Tropical Storm Irene devastated the mountaintop area of Greene County the Christman's were busy working hard to get back to business as usual and at the same time helping their neighbors. Many students in the area have learned real customer service skills working at Christman's. If you want granite, glitz and ultramodern you may need to go elsewhere. If you want wonderful people, a relaxing stay, beautiful scenery, fabulous food and from what friends have told me- a challenging golf course--- then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Been doing golf weekends for years and always hit up Christman's. Challenging mountain couse will keep you coming back. Don't bother with the valley course. Staff is always pleasant and accomodating. My family has a cabin nearby which is the reason we don't stay but I know people who have enjoyed the hotel side of Christmans. We have had some great meals there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bogart45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sinai, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here one night with our three grandchildren, age 8, 7, 2, in a two bedroom/2 bath unit. The facilities were very well kept, the room was very clean and perfect for our stay. Breakfast was amazing and service and personnel very accommodating and friendly. Grounds were landscaped and pool area inviting. Shuffleboard, swings for kids and 18 hole golf course was a plus!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachtrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
2.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
17.0 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
1.7 mi away
Beds On Clouds
Beds On Clouds
#2 of 9 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
2.6 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 9 in Windham
5.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christman's Windham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christman's Windham House

Property: Christman's Windham House
Address: 5742 State Route 23, Windham, NY 12496-5603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windham NY mountain resort, hotel, getaway, restaurant, bar, golf, skiing, equestrian, jacuzzi, AC, summer Pool, wireless, cell, pvt bath, newly renovated rooms, suites, efficiencies, packages, families, groups. One mile from Windham ski mountain. Great value, immaculately clean rooms, fine dining, 300 acre resort grounds, 27 golf holes, championship 18 hole course. Largest golf practice and learning facility in NYS. Family owned and managed for 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Christman's Windham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christman`s Windham House Hotel Windham
Christman's Windham House NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing