We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view on a beautiful day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captains Inn Point Lookout
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view on a beautiful day”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have been going up to the Catskill region for over 30 years. With every trip we have always made the drive up to point lookout. We just had dinner there in May for our anniversary. The best view, the best food and the most hospitable owner you could ever meet. I would definitely recommend this stop to anyone who wants an enchanted meal with a breathtaking view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron L, Owner at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
So glad we could service you to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    25
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
46
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Islip, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I did stop here with Mom & Dad in the early '60's. The view was awesome, the gift shop was open, but not the inn. After a couple of owners...Check in today.... You are welcomed by Ron & Laurie...Your room is very clean and comfortable. Now, look out the window to see the Famous Five State View. Just relax and unwind. Have dinner downstairs. Oh yes...You are not staying in just any inn! The Food is fantastic, the carefully prepared menu sure to have something for everyone. The food is prepared just for you. Take your time...have dessert. Enjoy the friendly atmosphere at the bar when you have a nitecap. Breakfast...fresh coffee, cereal hot or cold or a fresh baked egg, veggie... (what is it? dunno, but so good!). Help yourself, relax, take your time. Oh yes! Enjoy the view over breakfast or go back to your room and take in the view again! Every room is different. Yes, No, not brand new! That is the difference here! You are "at home".
Some may want something different....
------Go to a chain hotel overlooking the NYS Thruway. The staff is paid to greet you--they may smile if they are having a good day. Your food
is taken from a freezer and warmed for you.---Go ahead! Do not look for me...I will be in a lovely inn with good friends, looking at the Five State View!

Room Tip: Any Valley View Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraIslip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron L, Owner at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
It has always been rewarding to serve the public. Thanks again for your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

A recent stay at the inn. Rooms were very clean. Older furnishings could be offset with newer bedspreads due to some staining although all linen is clean. Food and hospitality were both top notch. View was spectacular. Seating outdoors was especially nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbcvulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had a great time staying a week in late June with Ronnie and Laurie at the Point Lookout Inn. The rooms are very clean and the food at the restaurant was good. Raiding the fridge and sitting out on the deck enjoying the sunrise and the beautiful view was the most relaxing for me. Great night life, great hospitality like we do it in Texas. I highly recomend traveling through the Catskills and staying at the Point Lookout Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron L, Owner at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I have always said that the greatest reward from my work, is to meet and know SO MANY Wonderful People : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our family (2 adults/2 teens) planned on staying one night at Point Lookout but we enjoyed our stay so much we booked the second night just to do nothing but enjoy the Inn. The main floor has a fantastic restaurant on site open for lunch & dinner which has a wall of windows that look out over the mountains & valley. There is also a friendly, classic bar separated off the back where the staff hands you the TV clicker if you're looking for news or sports or an adventure show. The floor below has a do-it-yourself kitchen for breakfast and a big, open gameroom with a pool table, air hockey, game boards, tables & a large screen TV with loads of movies & magazines & comfy couches. We enjoyed wonderful family time in this room & it was really convenient to prepare our own breakfasts at each of our family member's pace in the clean, country-style kitchen. It was a home away from home. The Inn's rooms are on the 3rd floor above the restaurant. The rooms, while somewhat outdated, were very quiet, clean & comfortable. The bathrooms were immaculate & the sheets smelled so fresh. We had a mountain view room with large windows that overlooked the mountains/valley making the room open & bright. We loved going upstairs for an afternoon nap or heading downstairs with a refreshment over a game of pool. The Inn was made most comfortable by the friendly, hands-on owners, Ron & Laurie, and all of their staff. Every one of them was so welcoming & accomodating. Ron even took our teenage son on an hour-long adventure on the miles of trails surrounding the Inn. The whole package of the Inn, including its proprietors, staff, on-site restaurant, bar, games & rooms made it an all-in-one package for convenience, unwinding and relaxation. We highly recommend the Inn to anyone considering a stay in the Windham area. Singles won't feel alone, couples will enjoy the ability to unwind at their own pace & families will enjoy the convenience of sleeping, eating & playing all in one place.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms feel more open and have larger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Spent three nights during the Windham Mountain Bike World Cup race. From my first call to make a reservation to the farewell at the end, Ronnie and Laurie were warm, friendly, helpful, and caring every step of the way. The rooms are comfortable and clean, not fancy, but with incredible views of the mountains and valleys. The "raid the refrigerator" breakfast worked well for us and the stay was an good value. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron L, Owner at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank You, Thank You, Thank You! It is people like YOU that make all the hard work worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My family and I stayed while visiting family for a communion, the rooms are cozy and comfortable, the staff is exceptional, friendly, caring and helpful. the restaurant overlooks the spectacular view, the food was well prepared, and absolutely delicious.The service we recieved while we were there was nothing short of feeling like family,(even had to inconvience the owner in the weee hours of the morning, when I got locked out cause i forgot the room key, he graciously came to rescue us) thanks, Ron&Laurie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glennandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron L, Owner at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thanks again for your stay with us. Its' always a pleasure : ) Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
4.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
290 reviews
4.7 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
498 reviews
4.6 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 3 in Greenville
30 reviews
7.1 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
5.5 mi away
Beds On Clouds
Beds On Clouds
#2 of 8 in Windham
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Inn Point Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Inn Point Lookout

Property: Captains Inn Point Lookout
Address: 7604 State Route 23, Windham, NY 12439-5153 (Formerly Point Lookout Mountain Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Captains Inn Point Lookout 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain's Inn Point Lookout is historically located 2000 feet high in the Catskill Mountains. It has an unprecedented Five State, 180 mile view into Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, & New York. It is in close proximity to Windham Mountain, Hunter Mountain, and offers a huge variety of year round activities,Fishing, Hiking, Mountain Biking, ZIP LINING, Boating Kayaking, snow-shoeing, Snow skiing, snow boarding, Leaf peeping, sight-seeing, scenic drives, Golfing, hunting, discovering, The Great Northern Catskills. The Restaurant has received accolades for its performance and vows to continue to be better. A wonderful place to come for a getaway, a delicious meal, or a quick bite to eat in the lounge. Family friendly with a great children menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Captains Inn Point Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Mountain Hotel Windham
Captains Inn Point Lookout Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing